We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Francisco
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$65.70
More Info
from US$31.00
More Info
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
417
287
102
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
287
102
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread bowl boudin chowder great bread bakery tour bakers making sourdough pizza crab seafood wharf loaves turtles shapes factory bears sf gifts
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Quick fast service for our family of 6... got our bread bowls within 5 min. Must stop if you’re at the SF wharf.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank agripinaj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This Boudin location is not the best during the busy times. I recommend going to the main location in San Francisco. The wharf location is counter order and find your own seat which can be quite difficult. Enjoy a relaxing sit down experience at the larger location.
Now for the food....delicious!!! Of course I had to try the clam chowder in the bread bowl. Yummy. Others in my party had 1/2 sandwich/soup combo. Chicken salad sandwich was delicious as well. Food is great. Location can be crazy busy.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Terri-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Yes sure! It’s full of tourists and it charges a lot for some very nice bread in the shape of an animal. But it is so worth going and any trip to Fisherman’s Wharf without going to Boudin’s is like visiting a sporting venue and not seeing the sport! It’s over 100 years old, the employees are so proud of the place and the bread is the best! Don’t be fooled it’s just for tourists. The locals know as well.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank AnselmColom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Very touristy setting but worth a stop to find out what the famous sourdough is about. The large building houses cafes and the bakery which you can watch the sourdough products being made by the in house bakers and buy to take away along with various souvenirs including the chowder in cans. I used the 'quick cafe bar' (opposite the main cafe counter) and service was very quick - you pay and order at one end and collect your order at the other end. I tried the vegetarian soup (rustic tomato) in a sourdough breadbowl. Service was very quick and I ate outside as it was very busy inside but was a nice day to sit out and the tables were clean. The sourdough verdict - the bread was a bit too tangy for me with its sharp vinegary taste but I guess its an acquired taste although butter would have been a good additon for the bread but none was available which seems odd, but the rustic tomato soup was lovely.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SnowBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Their sourdough doesn’t disappoint. In fact i actually inquired if they ship internationally (they don’t, shipping takes too long). The chowder was good, but i feel it’s overrated. I enjoyed the chili in the sourdough bowl more. And the grilled cheese was a bit lackluster.

Great shopping—canned clam chowder, sourdough crisps.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank chewyandwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews