We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EAT HERE!”

Tony's Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #26 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tony's Pizza Napoletana is a state of the art full service restaurant that offers several styles of pizzas which include Neapolitan, Classic American and Italian, Sicilian, Pizza Romana, Gluten Free and New York, Detroit and St. Louis Style and displays seven different types of pizza ovens. A delightful array of antipasti, pastas, insalata, and dolci are available at Tony's including a full bar that includes Italian and California wines, aperitifs, digestives and hand crafted artisan cocktails. At Tony's we pride ourselves in using only the finest ingredients which include fresh herbs and honey from our roof-top garden. We import authentic Neapolitan and Italian products each week and support several locally grown organic farmers and artisan cheese makers. All of our purveyors are specifically picked by Tony Gemignani bringing you the highest quality food or drink right to your table.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EAT HERE!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I think all of the other reviews say it all, the best pizza. Eat here. And order the meatballs too…. amazing meal & great atmosphere in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    430
    124
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went early and sat at the bar. Best authentic pizza. The Neapolitan is award winning, and that's what we went for. Highly recommend, and I'd go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clausvalca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza the way it was meant to be!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place in classic North Beach near Washington Square! I read a number of reviews and decided to try a taste of a couple of "pies". The wood fired Mastunicola with lardo was a tasty, non-pizza sauce offering with olive oil and was extremely enjoyable. Boxed up half of the pizza and moved to the famous Margherita pizza. There are only 73 made a day and it won the World Pizza Championship Award in Naples, Italy... Delicious! Lunch was a good time to go. Little wait and the bar counter team was very friendly and accommodating. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
195 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great thincrust pizza!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Faced with a 1.5 hour wait for a table we went to their takeout storefront. Grabbed some slices and a table on the sidewalk for a nice meal. The meat lovers was delicious. The walk up the hill from Pier 39 wasn't bad, had 70s parents with us and they did fine. Park across the street would have worked if we hadn't gotten a table. Delicious pizza!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Tony's on a Saturday evening, holiday weekend. Place was very busy. We were told an hour wait, so a small tour around little Italy was fine to kill the time. Our table was actually ready in 20 minutes, excellent! We ordered the Americano pizza and it did not disapoint! One of the best pizzas we have ever eaten. The choices can be overwhelming, but take your time, I doubt you could go wrong.
TIP: They have a take out window if you really don't want to wait.

Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tony's Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing