We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, ok pizza”

Tony's Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #25 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tony's Pizza Napoletana is a state of the art full service restaurant that offers several styles of pizzas which include Neapolitan, Classic American and Italian, Sicilian, Pizza Romana, Gluten Free and New York, Detroit and St. Louis Style and displays seven different types of pizza ovens. A delightful array of antipasti, pastas, insalata, and dolci are available at Tony's including a full bar that includes Italian and California wines, aperitifs, digestives and hand crafted artisan cocktails. At Tony's we pride ourselves in using only the finest ingredients which include fresh herbs and honey from our roof-top garden. We import authentic Neapolitan and Italian products each week and support several locally grown organic farmers and artisan cheese makers. All of our purveyors are specifically picked by Tony Gemignani bringing you the highest quality food or drink right to your table.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Horrible service, ok pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really???!!!!! The best pizza in San Francisco???? I feel bad for those customers who think that. Pizza is average, service is horrible. We had the margerita, it was good nothing out of ordinary. One pie is good for 2 people because is small and average cost is 22 per pie. We ordered the white pie with clam and garlic, not good at all. Didn't ask for desert. Wasn't worth the trip for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    419
    121
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Some of the best Pizza i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Thought we could get in without a wait by getting there at 5:15....no such luck...an hour wait. Not a bad place to wait as we went to Washington Square and people watched. They texted you when your table was ready. They have 7 different types of ovens...wood, electric, coal, laser...we tried the wood fired oven...ordered the margherita and it was stunning...good for 2 people. This is a very european style...thin, crust has a good chew...ingredients were fresh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aujmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

When I die, wherever I go I hope they have a Tony's Pizza there. My" Foodie" son suggested Tony's, since he is a fan of Naples and Margarita Pizza. There were five of us and at 4PM we had an Hour and 15 minute wait for a table. They have different ovens for different types of pizza. We ordered three pizzas : a coal fired New York pizza with sausage, pepperoni, ricotta, etc. (Out of this world), a Margarita Pizza almost as good as Naples originals and a gluten free artichoke and cheese pizza. This was my best ever pizza experience. The location is in the heart of North Beach next to Washington Square, so the worthwhile wait will go by fast with lots to see. I now know that I can live forever since I can come to Tony's if I want a slice of heaven.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WETSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The food and service at Tony's was fantastico! They serve world class italian pizza! Th Margheita pizza was delicious! The cheesecake dessert was just as good!

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
248 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

They don't take reservations, but it was well worth the wait for the excellent service and food! The great thing about this place is that they text you when your table is ready so you can wander around while your waiting. We had a problem though because we were told it would be a 2 hour wait, and it ended up being only 30 minutes. We had gone back to our hotel so we didn't make it back in time, but the staff was VERY accommodating and got us seated within a half an hour.
The server we had was amazing with a terrific recommendations on what to order. We followed her suggestions to the letter and had a fantastic meal with our friends! We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKjazzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tony's Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing