We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, the rest is very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Village Hostel
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best part about this hostel is the location. It's close to Union Square and to every kind of public transportation. If you walk the wrong way, you do get into an area that's a bit sketchier, so be aware of your surroundings.

We rented a private room with private bath. The room was small, but it was clean and had everything we wanted. There is free wifi, but it doesn't always work well. The building itself is quite old. The kitchen was too small for the number of people staying at the hostel that weekend (it had only 3 tables), but breakfast was free. In general, the staff was helpfull but the first person we talked to could barely understand us and wasn't able to help.

This hostel is a good inexpensive option if you want a great location and aren't looking for much more from your accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MlleBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing! The room is very clean and nice. The breakfast (7-10am) includes all u can made waffles, milk, cereals and juice! Every night there is a special event (e.g. Free-pizza, club crawl,..). Sometimes the wifi does not work well. To sum up, good value of money!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Marica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Don't be put off by reviews that slate the location- it is actually right across the street from the Hilton and really close to Union Square. We had a private room which was pretty basic, but clean. There was some noise from the street, but considering the price and location I would recommend this hostel for anyone that's on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkestblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We shared a private room with bath. The room was small and the street a bit noisy. The included breakfast was very basic but waffle makings were provided. The shared kitchen area was a bit dark and depressing. The location can't be beat, the staff friendly and helpful, and the hostel atmosphere encourages camaraderie amongst the guests. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: The street side rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Location was SUPERB. We could walk over to the Powell tram stop where you could see the tram turn around and there is lots of shopping and a below-ground visitor centre nearby. It took like 10 minutes for us to walk over. Room was clean but sparse - two single beds, a small writing table and a chair, and a TV hanging over a chest of drawers. Bathroom, including the shower area, was tiny and there were not many spots where you could hang or place your toiletries and clothes - you have to hang your stuff right next to the toilet bowl. But I was still quite happy with Orange Village cos of the fabulous location. The kitchen has a lot of cutlery and breakfast was a simple daily offering of cereal, waffles and hot coffee, but you can check out BK near the Powell tram stop. The laundromart is on the same floor as the kitchen so we popped in our dirty clothes and went to have breakfast. Kitchen is small so there aren't many seats. There is a small lounge on the same floor which I did not check out. You have to sign for the use of hairdryers. There were I think 3 PCs in the lobby. I felt safe as you need to buzz a staff member to let you in. They also offer special airport limo rates, I cannot remember which limo service provider, but the rates are good. There have been comments about the noise but I did not have trouble falling asleep, even though my room was really very near the lift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This Hostel is located a few streets away from the BART and MUNI station. For the price I paid, I believe that it is fair to give this place 5 stars. The rooms had hardwood floors, power outlets and the shower had running hot water. BRING EARPLUGS! This hostel is located in the busiest and loudest areas of the city. One night, I woke up around 3AM to the sound of taxi drivers getting into a fight, and fist fight. The second night there was a bad accident that woke everyone (Without earplugs) up.

The elevators are old school but I loved it. Breakfast was great, I loved their waffles. Overall everything was clean and best of all i did NOT experience a foul odor smell. Wifi was fast at all times.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Orange Village with the knowledge that it was quite quiet so I was not surprised when there was not much going on. The rooms were comfortable and they accommodated us nicely with a pull out bed for an extra person. The front desk staff are a bit unfriendly and unhelpful and the breakfast and things wasn't too exciting but it was quiet and convenient. The location, on the other hand, was really good - so close to Union Square and all sorts of public transport!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milenadambelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
457 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
446 reviews
Adelaide Hostel
#10 of 54 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Village Hostel

Address: 411 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: £30 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orange Village Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Orange Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Village Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing