We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem”
Review of Darren's Cafe

Darren's Cafe
Ranked #81 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stumbled upon this little gem by accident like other tourists have. This was our second visit to San Francisco & only wish we knew of this place last time. We had our breakfast/brunch here each day as it gave us such full tum tums we didn't need to worry about lunch. The prices were what we considered to be cheap as chips when you consider what you get for your money which is an absolute plate full of yummy food. The service was excellent and after our third visit we were greeted as regulars, as if we'd been coming for years, they knew which of us had coffee & how we liked it etc etc. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    148
    28
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We actually stumbled on this place whilst looking for another establishment listed in our guide book. We couldn't find it so decided to give this place a try. Really glad we did, the blueberry stack and the omelettes for breakfast were excellent. We enjoyed it so much we went again for breakfast the next day. The friendly staff remembered us and welcomed us back and they remembered how we liked our food. Great service. If we ever find ourselves in San Francisco again we'll be heading straight for this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 582Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely find!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were out looking for some breakfast and found Darren's. I was hesitant, but I have the trip advisor app on my phone, and it had good reviews so we went in. I am so glad we did! I had a three cheese omelet that was delicious. It was nice you could see what was going on in the kitchen, and the food came fast! It was all reasonably priced. If you want a good breakfast, good food, and good service- This is the place to go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peytonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

One of the few places we went to twice on our recent trip to SF. First time I had pancakes with fruit, hubbie had 3-egg omelette both were great (shame no cream available for the pancake though!) We were seated right in front of the open kitchen and I was fascinated watching the cook - he was like a magician, so quick with so many orders all at once. Second visit I had the eggs, bacon & hash browns also very good - prices are low and service was friendly, great location for Fishermans Wharf too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great service, great food.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very reasonable price for fisherman's wharf. Great food and service, something for everyone from eggs benedict to Vietnamese noodle dishes, lots of locals eating when we arrived.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darren's Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Darren's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing