We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super affordable French cuisine. A great lunch!”
Review of Restaurant Ducroix - CLOSED

Restaurant Ducroix
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Super affordable French cuisine. A great lunch!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This place is really wonderful. Loved the tapenade that came out with the warm baguette. The fries were awesome and the "burger" with your choice of melty brie, havarti or goat was yummy (although a little over done for medium rare, because it is thin.) My fiance got the escargot (very well priced) and the decadent onion soup. We would definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had a wonderful meal and evening at Restaurant Ducroix. Felt like many an evening in good french bistros without all the fancy ambiance of American versions. We had a great meal--excellent fish, very nice wine, perfectly cooked vegetables and wonderful service.
The restaurant is tucked away on the edges of Chinatown, in an area that does not offer a lot of good food at reasonable prices. That said, it is NOT a hole in the wall, rather a wonderful find that I hate to write about publicly but it's such a nice place, it deserves it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montclair189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Food is delicious!! Staff is so friendly and attentive- although restaurant is a hole in the wall and tables are on top of each other....it's just part of the experience though. Excellent French food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohannafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Little Piece of France in SF”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Nothing fancy in the setting here; it's reminiscent of small family restaurants in France. Excellent French fare at a good price! Everything is cooked to order, so it can take a while, but the tiny kitchen turns out great cuisine. Everything from soup to dessert is delicious. Crowded at lunch with Financial District types; dinner (Thu-Fri-Sat only) has a more eclectic crowd. Be sure to book ahead--it gets crowded very quickly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hole-in-the-wall”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Went there tonight and had a very nice meal. The ambiance leaves a little to be desired (it would help a lot if they lowered or turned off the lights), but the food was excellent and the service had the right amount of attentiveness.

I had the root vegetable soup, which seemed a little bit like a winter dish, but was very tasty (seemed to have turnips, parsnips, potato, and carrot), and the roast pork. The pork was one of the daily specials, and I kind of flummoxed the waitress when I asked her what came with it. Seems like she would either have known or they would have had it written on the board. (In the event, it came with gratin scalloped potatoes, turnips, and green beans). Regardless, it was very good.

My wife had the endive salad with pears and brie, which she liked a lot. (I'll note out that both of our plates were wiped clean at the end of the starter course.) She followed that up with the steak frites, which she enjoyed, but my observation was that the cut of meat seemed to have a lot of fat and gristle and was a little sweet -- not unpleasantly so, but surprisingly.

Dessert was chocolate mousse, which was a small enough portion and light enough to be just right to split. Disappointingly, they didn't have a black tea (I settled for orangey-black and my wife had Earl Grey), but that's a minor concern.

Overall, a winner. I'd happily go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ducroix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing