We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do.”
Review of Segway SF Bay

Segway SF Bay
Ranked #97 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway tours / rentals in SF CA
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must do.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family did this and went up wall of the coast in glorious sunshine. It was great fun and very easy to get used to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun ”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Have done several Segway tours but we loved the freedom of just hiring the Segway & going our own way- Charlie was great, the rates reasonable & the views from Cliff House & Golden Gate Park amazing. We found out you can also rent these for a few days and keep in your hotel room to charge- we only wish we knew this before the day we left- would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys zipping around at their own pace.

Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant for seasoned Segway fans”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Rental rather than tour? Here it is! We've done 6 Segway tours and one rental around the world, once you know what's what tours seem slow and it's more fun to rent. This was so easy and friendly, you can cover all of the amazing Golden Gate Park, above all, do go to Ocean Beach and up past the Cliff House. We'd never seen a view like it! Most tourists stay around Fishermans Wharf and only know SF from the bay. But Wow, next time I'm staying at Ocean Beach! A tip: we had a 2h tour, would've enjoyed the extra 1/2h but were anxious about running low on battery. We were subsequently told that when you're down to one bar you still have heaps of juice remaining, so check that out to pace yourself.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paristralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Springs, CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun...and easy”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Four of us rented segways from Segway SF Bay on a sunny, pleasant Friday afternoon. We picked this company because we all knew how to ride and didn't want to do a tour, didn't want to be confined to following a group around, and this place allows you to rent the segway and go off on your own. It was GREAT! Charlie checked us in, showed us how to operate the segways, let us pick out a helmet and gloves, gave us a brief rundown on how/where to ride and what to avoid and we were on our way. We buzzed around Golden Gate Park, had a quick lunch at the hotdog stand near the DeYoung and then made our way to Ocean Beach and up to the Cliff House for a pop. Buzzed back from the beach to Charlie's place in a matter of minutes just outside the park on Lincoln.Our two hours went by so quickly we called to extend a bit - so much fun - one of the best days ever in SF. Charlie was very accomodating, easy going - even offered to feed the parking meter for us when we went beyond the original two hours we put on it. The best part: we were on our own, free to go where we pleased. We will def do this again soon!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a fun way to see the park....”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to use this Segway company because you decided what to see and how quickly or slowly you wanted to do it. It is a do it yourself tour, no pressure of being with a group and having to be on someone else's clock! We chose 2 hours which was a good time frame, had a lesson and were on our way. If we wanted to extend our time all we had to do was call them and let them know, how easy was that? We headed toward the beach, at first I was hesitant to get up to speed but once you gave the hang of it, using the Segway is a breeze. The group that left before us had young teens and the took to it quickly, I would recommend this for persons of all ages! The sight in the park were beautiful. If your hungry head to the boat house. The food is fairly priced and very yummy! These segways were very reasonably priced..... We has so much fun exploring that we are thinking of stopping back for a second day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suenyyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway SF Bay also viewed

 

Been to Segway SF Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing