We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot, Tucked Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmy Alley Murals

Balmy Alley Murals
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Flavors and Murals of the Mission District of San Francisco
Ranked #111 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Tucked Away”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Got taken here as part of a larger all-day tour and really liked it. We would've never stumbled across this on our own and were blown away by all the talent and artistry in all of the murals.

* Vibrant art
* Unique cultural tales
* Insight into the neighborhood, its residents and its stories

We randomly met a woman driving down the street who had lived in one of the houses when she was a child. It was touching to hear her childhood memories of the place, the alley and the neighborhood.

I would recommend giving this alley the walk-through for sure!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Street Gallery = Unique Cultural Gem!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This attraction should be much higher on the list of SF attractions (It is free! It is beautiful!). Perhaps the problem is that, as of early April 2014, there seem to be two listings for what is properly called Balmy Alley.
This is one of 2 beautiful, mural covered alleys that we enjoyed in the Mission District (the other was Clarion Alley, south of 17th and Valencia). We stopped into the Precita Eyes shop just around the corner from Balmy Alley at 2981 24th St (also listed in trip advisor) where we purchased an inexpensive pamphlet that provides history along with the names of the murals and the artists. Precita Eyes also offers tours; unfortunately this did not work for our schedule. Next time for sure.
It seems like every building surface in Balmy Alley is covered with bright murals - many depicting political and religious messages. We had some interesting discussions about the meaning of the murals as we wandered along the alley. Something about the street art aspect of these paintings really sparked the attention of our teens. We were very lucky to see muralists at work - in one case restoring a mural that was originally painted in 1984 ("Culture Contains the Seeds of Resistance...").
After numerous visits to San Francisco and the well known tourist attractions, I am very happy to have made it to the Mission - a lively and vividly colourful neighbourhood. Our base for a day in the Mission was a few blocks from both alleys near the corner of Valencia and 24th. There was a first class bakery for coffee and snacks, a great casual Mexican restaurant for lunch and a consignment store that my teen daughter and wife loved. This area and Balmy Alley in particular are must sees!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank NorthVanDMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive street art”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It was kind of hard to find. TripAdvisor address for it iss wrong actually brings you to the art center. GPS didn't have recognize Balmy because, in fact, it's not a real street but an alley. Use Google map to find Balmy street.
There are other murals in the area (the Mission), don't miss it too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lillyespinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like murals.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

But I wouldn't make a special trip. The mission district was okay. Perhaps the best murals in SF, but I did not check out that many.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherHartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
336 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Murals”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We walked down Balmy Alley and viewed many large, beautiful, and very colorful murals. I understand there is a message represented in each mural. We were lucky enough to find an artist creating a mural, we talked to him and watched as he created his masterpiece. It's definitely worth a stop if your in the area. You can't beat the price, it's FREE.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balmy Alley Murals also viewed

 

Been to Balmy Alley Murals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing