We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place for a casual meal.”
Review of Gott's Roadside

Gott's Roadside
Ranked #69 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gott's Roadside is a different kind of burger joint. We serve juicy cheeseburgers with thick chocolate shakes, but our versions of these American classics are made-to-order from top-notch, locally sourced ingredients. Our menu goes beyond the beef to include a renowned Ahi tuna burger, fresh salads and tacos. Try finding those at your average drive-in. Our commitment to local sourcing also extends to the glass: our list of California wines and beers means you can order a cheeseburger with a high-end Napa Valley cabernet, or sip a San Francisco-brewed Anchor Steam alongside your spicy, sweet potato fries.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice place for a casual meal.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in San Francisco.It was a very nice place to eat a casual meal and the food was very good. It was a comfortable place to sit and the customer service is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    189
    45
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value! Great Taste!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ate here following my trip out to Alcatraz. Did have to line up for about 20-30 minutes but it was worth it. It was hearty, generous meal for a good price. Enjoying the local pale ale and a seat in the sun made for a lovely lunch. Was alone but it was not awkward at all. You line up and order your food then collect it. A good choice for the hungry on a budget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizalang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So Little for So Much!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Needless to say, Gott's appears to be a 'tradition' in the Bay Area with locations in San Fran, Napa, and St. Helena. The burgers are delectable, the decor is charming Americana-esque/diner and the lines (specifically in Napa and St. Helena) are typically out the door. Given the premise of getting a delicious burger and a brew, I thought a meal a Gott's in San Fran would be near bliss. In a way I was both right, and wrong. The burgers are perfection, the melange of toppings is effectively mouth-watering, the seating is relaxed. Atmosphere abounds in a simple, almost effortless way. But the amount of food you get for your money is a let down. These are not hearty meals wrapped in a bun, but rather a Mcdonald's hamburger-sized snack. For almost $10, expect to be left salivating and extremely hungry! You could make four burgers, with the same toppings and dressings for the same price, eat al fresco, and miss nothing. So for the chef's and tasting experts that craft the food, kudos, but for the corporate minds that set the prices, perhaps a re-eval is in the works. At $4.75, Gott's would be a deal for the food you get; at $8-$12 dollars a burger, there are far better ways to spend your money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great location, Good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We ate here one evening after our day trip to Napa (the ferry we took brought us back here) we found Gott's pretty good and not crowded at all. A cheeseburger, fries and drink ran about $15 so it's a little pricey.

You order at counter and then pick up the burger at window, This is not a full service restaurant. Refills on drinks are free.

Good food for the price. Family friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVClairenmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“This is a tasty burger”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Well respectful staff and they food tasted so good. I had a cheeseburger with fries and complementary water. It was not pricey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gott's Roadside also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Gott's Roadside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing