We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit & Miss”
Review of Hotel North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel North Beach
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The good part of the Hotel is the location, close to all attractions & China Town just around the corner which was like another world. Unfortunately the room was tiny, no room to move, the bed was very uncomfortable & I came away with 2 nasty bites :(
Be aware you have to request clean towels & a bed change...windows & blinds could do with a re vamp.
The staff at the Hotel were a bit frosty to start, but seemed to improve as the week went on.
On a good note the Happy Donut café 2 doors away was great for breakfast & sweet treats, the staff were always friendly.
It was what you would expect for the price

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    67
    109
    56
    65
See reviews for
15
118
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Pleased with the quality of this hotel considering the low price. My room was clean and had its own sink, mini-fridge, microwave, and TV. I would have preferred to see a duvet with a removable cover on the bed instead of a bedspread, but the bedspread appeared clean. The nights I stayed there were quiet and I slept well. Staff was friendly. Shared bathrooms were reasonably clean. The location is great for tourists with Chinatown right there, Telegraph Hill close, and just a short bus ride or walk to the F line on Market Street. Use some of the money you saved on accommodations to eat at at nearby Cotogna (get the fixed price menu) or House of Nanking or get some Blue Bottle Coffee at The Station.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We could not have stayed anywhere else so central for the same price and although basic it was everything you needed, a clean room and clean shared bathrooms, you get what you pay for and if you want luxury you probably won't enjoy it

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Shared bathrooms and Restrooms(toilets) Are you used to that? Than you are totally up for this hotel. The staff is really friendly and helping whenever they can. There is a computer + internet you can use and our room was just really clean + sink / Tv. I liked the location just in the centre of China Town and Little Italy. 10 a 15 min walk to Fishermens wharf and 10 a 15 min walk to the city centre. Around the corner when you walk up the Colombus (to Fishermens wharf) you find a really cosy counter with a lot of chinese costumers and open almost 24/7(?) with cheap coffee and water and bread/donuts etc. We always had the bagel + veggies and creamcheese for just 2,35 dollar. Just not really a supermarket that is really nearby. Only the wallgreens and maybe a 7/11 but still 10 min walk. Safeway is a good store to get your groceries and just visit the off the grid food truck Friday(get there early!) Its quite cheap and just I wouldnt go there if you are a traveler on your own but just with children or with friends/couples totally worth it!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor because the second and third floor are a bit bigger so maybe you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iristhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Internet is promised but not delivered, it's as bad in the lobby as on the 3rd floor. Bathrooms are all common and not very clean. Most of the staff is rude and will not even log complaints. Beds are uncomfortable and rooms are tiny (a double room is same size as a single, only larger bed). No cleaning unless you ask for it.

I stayed during a 6 week study exchange. That meant I had to become a resident (stays longer than 30 days) When you become a resident, you loose lots of privieges. For example, you can no longer pay by card, only cash or money transfer. You also have to pay for cleaning. To clarify: you pay the same amount as the short term guests, but you don't get the same service. The worst part is that they don't tell you in advance, only the first time you try to pay by card or order cleaning. I feel cheated about my stay, as I picked a hotel over a flat just because it was easy and I would not have to worry about things like cleaning and bills.
If you try to complain you get the answer that "Rules are rules, even if you didn't know about them. Talk to the manager". The manager is a very nice lady, but she is rarely here.

In short, I am very disappointed. I know that you get what you pay for, but I will not tolerate false advertisement and rude staff!

(The worst part is that I've got one week left of my stay that I've already prepaid and I wonder when they will start charging me for using the bathrooms)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kubisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights (on the first floor, if i remember correctly) and made a note to ourselves never to stay here again. Given it is one of the cheapest to stay in the heart of San Francisco (China town is just there!) at this time of the year. But other than that it was a huge disappointment. The staff at the front desk was VERY unfriendly and there was a lot of noise in the corridor at night, which made is difficult to fall asleep. The room we stayed in was veery hot, and because the window was very low and anyone could get in through it, we could not keep it open. The shared bathroom and toilets were not clean and smelled really bad. Our overall experience was quite a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viharaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed here June 30th-July 3rd and I've been fighting bedbugs in my apartment since then. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. When I stayed at Hotel North Beach, I kept getting bug bites on my face (three in a row) then on my arms. I told myself it was mosquitoes, and the desk person even told me she thought it was mosquitoes. Little did I know...I carried the BEDBUGS back with me and I've now spent over $600 trying to get rid of these stupid pests, meanwhile having to go to work covered in red bumps on my arms, hands, chest, back, and FACE. DO NOT STAY HERE - it's not worth the savings!!!!!!!!

And they don't have a website or a way to contact them to complain and at the very least get my money back for the worst stay of my life.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#163 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Layne Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#186 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel North Beach

Property: Hotel North Beach
Address: 935 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5156 (Formerly St. Paul Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel North Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing