We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #55 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The HI Express was GREAT. The staff was nice and helpful. I stayed in a Family Suite and the two beds were a little small and the sofa bed was not comfortable at all but I got a good price for the location. I was more concerned with the staff and cleanliness of the hotel then the amount of sleep. The parking fee was $45+tax, but that is everywhere in SF
I went next door to the holiday inn hotel and they were rude and the unfriendly... then they told me that I was at the wrong hotel. THANK GOD because they looked unhappy. When I got to the correct hotel, the Holiday Inn Express I was so happy because I was greeted with such joyfulness.
Recommend the HI EXPRESS, not the regular holiday inn next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Mommy D and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. With our rooms with two beds, they are double size beds so it might be a little bit small for certain family. We will make sure our staff is aware of the wonderful feedback while you were staying with us. We will keep up the good work. We have also upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well.

Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    1,129
    369
    71
    42
See reviews for
815
890
89
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

A rather complicated trip that tested just how much a hotel can help. Originally booked into the Holiday Inn on Columbus Ave a block away. However on arrival there they transferred us to what they called the annex which is the hotel reviewed. I had started a tour nearly 3 weeks previous at Columbus Ave. At the end of the tour I would return to the Holiday Inn on Columbus Ave for one last tour night and stay on with a new 3 night booking when my wife and daughter would join me.
So a new hotel to review. The room itself is comfortable with the usual A/C and free WiFi. Clean and tidy with a view of an inner courtyard. Dreadful coffee maker. Seems Holiday Inn isn't the place for in room coffee so not a criticism of this hotel just the chain in general. And as the location of the room was shielded from the street it was perfectly quiet at night. Computer station on each floor for web browsing and printing online flight boarding passes.
Now for the good bit. When I arrived at the reception I explained that my friend was only staying one night and that I would be here another 3 nights with family who would join me the next day. Could I retain the room and not have to check out and then back in? The upshot was I stayed in the same room but after my friend left the room was cleaned with clean bed linen for both beds, new towels and toiletries. Also the keycards were recoded. It made life so much easier. The lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful. She even called the shuttle bus company we had booked to advise them of the change of pick up venue.
So if you have a choice between the Holiday Inns in Fishermans Wharf lean towards this one.

Room Tip: The main streets are very noisy at night. Ask for a courtyard facing room for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackrat751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco. From the review, i believed you stayed Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Wharf Building instead of the Holiday Inn Express. The Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf have 2 buildings and i believe you stayed at the Wharf Building. We always strive our best to make it easier for our guest if they have back to back reservation so they do not need to move. We will also pass your feedback to the agent at the desk and we thank you on behalf of her.

Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel just before we flew into usa. Glad we did. The room was nice and bed, comfy. The internet was fast, no problems there. We stayed here mainly for alcatraz etc didnt eat breakfast here so cant comment on that. Loved how we could walk to the piers. Would recommend and would stay again. Thankyou.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lots-of-lollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Lots-of-lollies,

We would like to thank you for being a guest with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Its delightful to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and locations. We are walking distance to some of the main attractions in the city of San Francisco. We hope to see you in the near future.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wife, daughter and self stayed there for a couple of nights before haeding off to Lake Tahoe.
Hotel well located close to Fishermans Wharf and Pier 33 for the Alcatraz trip.
Breakfast was a bit of a scramble if you got there at a busy timne but adequate food for the price paid.

Room Tip: Don't get a hire car whilst in San Fran - hanging off the side of the trams is much more excitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pju4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco pju4321 and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you also for the feedback in regards to our breakfast situation and we will be working on to get it more organized for our guests . We have also upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. We look forward to seeing you next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Recently returned from San Francisco having stayed for a week at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Fisherman's Wharf.
Great hotel and location, rooms were excellent with all staff being very helpful.
Breakfast was buffet style and was very well presented. Nice range of foods which set us up for the day.
Would definitely stay there again.
Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewavesurfer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello Mal_007UK,

Thank you so much for your recent post and for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your self. We work very hard at trying to provide a great hotel that guests love and I am glad we were able to do a bit of that for you. We hope to see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

And a friendly staff... We were in San Francisco to explore the city not spend time in the hotel. We needed a clean, comfortable room, a decent breakfast included with our room and a location close to sites and public transportation. We found all of that at an affordable rate. Pier 39, Ghiradelli Chocolates, Alcatraz Cruises, Trader Joes were within walking distance. We even walked to a clean city beach at the San Francisco Maritime National Park. We picked up a charming 1950s trolley around the block from our Hotel to take us up and down the Embarcadero. Breakfast was decent with cereal, yogurt, eggs and bagels and more replenished constantly. Our room was very clean and updated. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely return to the Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Sophie N,

I thank you so much for your recent review and for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true we are in the middle of it all here at Fisherman's Wharf. I am also happy you found our breakfast as well as staff friendly and convenient. I am so glad that we will be seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location right on Fisherman's wharf and walking distance to the f tram and shops and also the cable car turn table.
Welcoming staff and was quite and clean however no fridge.
Breakfast was below average (free) ate off paper plates and tricking finding a table due to the feeding frenzy. So we gave up on that and went to a local cafe and had a real American breakfast.
There is a bike hire shop right beside the hotel foyer that offered great rates and service to hire for the Golden Gate Bridge trip.
All in all a home away from home and a great base as always nice to escape from the City.We felt very safe in this area also.
Would go back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wroes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Wroes2013 and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope you enjoyed the Americas cup this year at the wharf. We will forward your feedback regarding our breakfast situation to our General Manager and our Director of Food and beverage so we can improve our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you next time again also when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,994 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing