We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #50 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just spent a few days staying at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel looks fairly new and the rooms were spacious and very clean. Our room was on the same level as the lobby down the back of the hotel and our only complaint was in the early hours of the morning, guests came back to their rooms/checking into their rooms and were talking and laughing very loudly and it echoes off all the tiling. Obviously no fault of the hotel - just bad manners of other guests. Breakfast was big and the food was very fresh but go early as the breakfast area gets very busy and tables are at a premium. Hotel is in a fantastic location - just 2 easy flat blocks back from Fisherman's Wharf and one flat block away from the cable car turnaround that takes you up to Union Square. Next door to the hotel is a Blazing Saddles pushbike rental store so it's nice and convenient to rent a bike to ride over the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito. Also an easy walk down to Ghiradelli Square and anywhere along the waterfront. Would definitely recommend the hotel and it would be our only choice for our next stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the same level as the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsettingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear jetsettingaussies,
We would like to thank you for being a guest with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your visit to San Francisco. Our breakfast area will be getting an upgrade started by the end of this year. We hope to expand our space and make the breakfast experience for our guest more enjoyable. We are looking forward to seeing on your next visit to San Francisco.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    1,171
    384
    72
    45
See reviews for
861
924
90
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winton..NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we walked blocks dragging suitcase to a Holiday Inn, no not the right one, were sent to another still not the right one, then to the Holiday Inn Express, arrived somewhat weary and hassled as reception service at previous two Inns had been less than courteous, we were greeted by this cherry lady "Brandy" whose sense of humour and outstanding ability to meet our requests for extra size room made our day. very handy to tourist and local attractions.

Room Tip: it can be hard to tell until you have spent night in room- most hotels, apartments, cater if you esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nspat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear nspat25,
We would like to thank you for being a guest with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We apologize for the confusion of our location , its very easy to mistake one from another since we are so close to each other. We are glad to hear that you got a chance to meet Brandy and experience her exceptional service, we will share this with her. We hope to see you soon.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close enough to walk to Fishermans Wharf but far enough away to not be noisy. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast although hectic was plenty of choice and topped up regularly. Brandee was very welcoming on reception what a lovely bubbly helpful person. I had a problem with the ironing board not staying up which I reported to reception and it was replaced immediately. Our only comment would be that the lifts were extremely slow and one was out of order part of the time we were there but it didn't spoil our stay. We highly recommend a trip on the hop on hop off bus which can be booked at the shop on the corner Dion and Willy were excellent guides and so much fun. The hop on hop off allows you to see more than if you were just walking. It is a must to take a ride on the trolley car although not cheap you just have to do it especially if you can either sit outside or hang on the side it was great fun. Walking the hills are not for the faint hearted we did walk back from Union Square to the hotel and we all wished we had visited the gym and the chip shop less. Fishermans Wharf is a must especially to see the seals it was great fun watching their antics. I know its cheesy but Bubba Gumps Shrimp Co is well worth a visit the food is really good and the service is excellent be prepared to queue. Another must is Alcatraz what an interesting experience and nothing like the Hollywood versions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Sidina C,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. It seems you had an awesome trip to San Francisco, and we are happy to know we were part of it.. Thank you for sharing all the insightful tips for all future guest and hope to see you in the near future.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This is a good example of the Holiday Inn Express, clean and (I think) recently-built. The rooms do everything you need and the breakfast is plentiful if not gourmet. The location is the clincher, as you have the wharf close by, but also great links to the F line streetcar (use for the waterfront attractions and for connecting to BART stations) as well as a cable car turnround nearby too. Not cheap, but I don't think any hotel with this location would be.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Dave K,
We would like to thank you for being a guest with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. You are correct we are one of the newest hotel in the Fishermans Wharf and soon will be going throught a renovation to expand our breakfast area. We hope to see you in the near future.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had disappointing, then good experiences!
Had looked on here and from comments and photos, decided we wanted a 4th floor room with sea/wharf views. Booked 9 mths in advance via hotel's own website, and in the place to put room requests, added what we wanted. We paid at that time, to get cheaper rate.
On arrival, no notice had been taken of our request - so why ask on the booking form!!!! I must say the enthusiastic little dark receptionist was very good and understanding and did offer us an upgrade, but on lower floor.
Initial impression of room was not good - frayed carpet as we entered the room, and badly flaking paint on the bathroom ceiling, also wardrobe door that wouldn't slide, View of gift shops! As this was the most expensive place we stayed on a 2 month holiday, we were not impressed!
Anyway, the same receptionist was very good, and always ready to help out in her own lively manner, making us smile.
We did have a good comfortable night in what was a quiet room, even though outside facing (wharf side). The down to breakfast, lots of choice, shame bacon never seemed to be available when we where eating though! Big area to find a place to sit. Staff constantly topping up and cleaning tables, etc.
After being out, noticed how clean our room and bathroom was when we returned - indeed the whole hotel.
A convenient place to stay. Staff always ready to offer advice about how to get around, and to hold luggage on last day - and be there to get it out as soon as needed!

Room Tip: Apparently you have to phone in with a particular room request a few days prior to arriving - room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIwiKouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco KlwiKouple and we apologize for not able to honor your request due to occupancy of the hotel and with limited rooms facing outside, but we are glad that it works our perfect for you in the end with the upgrade our front desk staff offer. We will forward the maintenance issue to our Enginnering department and we will work on those feedback you have. We also have upgraded to have wifi in all guest rooms as well. Hope we are able to get you a 4th floor, facing out and even a suites room for you next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express during a recent vacation to San Francisco. I had read on TripAdvisor it was one of the better hotels on the Wharf if you can get a deal, but to remember a few things. All those recommendations were right. If you follow them, the HIE is a great place to stay. We got there early for check-in and as I had read, were told we could have a room in the Annex. I said no to that and was told they only had rooms on the 1st floor. I continued to say we wanted to be in the main building and was finally told there was an opening on the 2nd floor. Our window faced the inside hallway, but we were rarely in the room, so that was ok. On a walk down to Pier 39, we saw the Annex and I was very glad I had persisted and followed the recommendations of my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers. The Annex is about a block away from the main building. Which means you have to walk that distance to and from parking, the front desk and all other amenities. If this is ok with you, go for it, but I was glad we were in the main building. We saw lots of people struggling with their luggage down the sidewalk, so I was glad we didn't have to do that.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. While they do need updating, the rooms were clean and neat. There were a few marks on our walls and some missing wallpaper in the bathroom, but those were all cosmetic. The beds, sinks, bathtubs and carpet were clean which were my main concerns.

We ate 2 meals in the restaurant and while overpriced (like most of the meals we ate) they were good. The BBQ sliders are great and the key lime pie was pretty tasty too. The breakfast buffet offers lots of options (eggs, bacon, hasbrowns, waffles, fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, and pastries), but is terribly overpriced. For 2 people plus a tip it was over $50. Extremely expensive even by SF standards. There is a Starbucks a block away at the Argonaut Hotel. Go there for $10 breakfast instead.

Parking is $40 a day. There is a small lot at street level, but the majority is under the hotel. Some spaces are tight, so if you have a large SUV, get back early to get the spots between the columns.

In all, we would stay here again. It's a block off the main street and within walking distance of almost everything on the Wharf. It's also about 2 blocks from the Hyde Street cable car turnaround. This line will take you into downtown and Market Street for all the good shopping. While it's not a five star, it will do on a budget no more than you'll be in your room. They seem to always have a deal on the travel sites, so don't pay full price for a room until you've exhausted all those options. Book early, all the deals go away the closer you get to your arrival date.

Room Tip: You can hear everything that happens in the hallways and outside, so try to get on an upper floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear AshelyH

Thank you for the wonderful detailed feedback, but I'm sorry to say that it seems you stayed at our sister hotel the Holiday Inn Fishermen's Wharf. On their behalf we would like to thank for staying at the Holiday Inn Fishermen's Wharf.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was in a super location just a short walk from fisherman's wharf. The staff were super helpful and very friendly. The hotel was very clean and the room was cleaned very well every day. The breakfasts were great, plenty to choose from - fruit, yoghurt, toast, bagels, pancakes, muffins, pastries, cereal, bacon, eggs and so on...
Lots to see and do nearby and easy to get into the city centre from this location too.
Rooms are basic but I would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear SusieLW1987,

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay and took full advantage of our location. We will be delighted to share all the great comments with our staff. We hope to see you on yor next visit to San Francisco.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing