We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nice room with plenty of bathroom counter space, a large desk and an easy chair. It got quieter when the kids next door vacated, they weren’t very courteous.

The free breakfast was bad. OK, mediocre at best. The eggs were quite uneatable, as was the sausage. Probably the worst free breakfast I have had in 10 years.

The Wi-Fi was intermittent and required the user to sign on each and every time. It terminated my wife’s connection about every 10 minutes on her Window’s machine. Poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raudetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco raudetra and thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you did not enjoy your breakfast while you stayed with us, we will try our best to work on our breakfast. quality and selection. Thank you for letting us about our wifi problem and we will work on it as well.

Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were on a road trip on different hotel every night. This was our first time at the Holiday Inn Express properties and we now have new favs! You cannot go wrong. If its an Express hotel, you will be certain of: extra neat, clean rooms and beds, modern decos, updated furniture, included breakfast (with good food and protein, not only breads and sweets). Safe areas too. This one is just two walking blocks away from fisherman's wharf (the happening area). Very safe to walk even at night. They offer booking the airport shuttle for you, safe as well, Lorries. This one has awesome colors too for decos and they had signs that they will be remodeling! And I thought it was perfect and impeccable. So this one is a no brainer, have fun, VERY MUCH recommended!!

Room Tip: Our room had a cable car line that you could hear yet did not bother my sleep. You may want to menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxy2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco foxy2747 and we are glad that our brand become your favorite brand out of all hotels. We thank you for your loyalty with the IHG and you are correct, we are located exactly at Fisherman Wharf so a lot of the sightseeing places are within walking distance. We will be undergoing renovation from Dec 2013 till March 2014 and we would like to invite you back to see our changes and upgrade.

Thank you again and have a nice day
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

From check in to departure the staff were very helpful. Check in was quick and friendly. The room, clean and convenient but did lack the usual microwave and fridge found in HI Express. That was the only disappointment. Good breakfast and the hotel was very convenient for Pier 39. Being able to print out boarding passes free and free wifi in the rooms was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Norma G and thank you for the great feedback and review on your stay here with us. We are glad that all of our staff are friendly and took good care of you while you were staying here with us. We do have fridges available in our suites or we can bring one to your room with a cost. Thank you for staying with us and using our amenity. Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I called to book a 2-night stay with a certificate we purchased at a charity event in Orlando, FL. I had checked online prior to calling to see if rooms were available...and had found availability on several different sites. When I spoke to the manager to book the room, he was so rude and short to me telling me they are "completely booked on all possible dates and he didn't even have to honor the certificate if he didn't want to". I am completely appalled by the way he spoke to me. His tone, rudeness and unwillingness to try to help was completely unacceptable- especially from a manager. I can only imagine how the rest of the staff's customer service skills are if the manager acts this way towards potential guests. We were looking forward to staying there and now going to have to waste our purchase.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Niki3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Niki 3446, we apologize for the customer service you received while you were trying to use your certificate for your stay. On some days we do have blackout dates depends on the occupancy of the hotel. But we will definitely try our best to work with you to use your certificate and stay with us. Please reach to us at 415-409-4600 and speak to any of our Manager On Duty or Jennifer or if there is a way we can reach you directly, please inform us so we can service you. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Like all other reviewers, we enjoyed the location -that was the best part. They did supply a fridge when requested. But after that, this hotel did not live up to my expectations. I was informed that the hotel was under renovation, which was one of the reasons for booking - updated rooms and amenities were just what I was looking for. The room was furnished like any other. But looking a little deeper, the chairs had worn out springs and squeaked with every movement while sitting. The beds were “double” and not queen – which does not accommodate 2 average size adults. The mattresses were terrible, with caving in the center. My two children even had complaints about not sleeping well, and were “sore from the bed” – which made for a cranky day! I did discuss the bed concerns with the front desk, but they did not have a solution. The only rooms with larger beds were the suites, with a king and a fold out couch, but none available for the days of our stay. We ended our vacation early because of the poor hotel accommodations and lack of sleep. The hotel is under renovation, and looks great from the lobby, nice colors, carpet and paint, but no new beds or furniture. So if you have a bad back or don’t want to sleep with someone “nice and cozy close” in a small, not so gently used bed, reconsider this hotel. There are 5 others within 2 blocks of this one.

Room Tip: Until the renovation is complete and new beds and furniture, I would recommend another hotel, the Hy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco TeamSacremento and we apologize for the inconvenience while you were staying here with us. We could provide a mattress pad from our housekeeping department to make the mattress thicker and a little bit more comfortable for our guests, we will make sure that our front desk is aware of this available to our guests. We also will be getting new furniture in our guest rooms as well. Hope this will make you reconsider our hotel next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel in San Francisco. Perfect location for trams, attractions, pubs, restaurants, shops. Only 2 dollars to get the tram from Fishermans Wharf to Downtown and beyond. Buffet breakfast offers good selection and always very busy. Room clean and comfortable with lovely large bed. Would stay here again without hesitation. Wi Fi free and easy to use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco shem56 and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for coming back again to stay with us for the 2nd time. We just upgrade to have the wifi in our guest rooms as well. We are glad that you like our amenity. We are looking forward to seeing you for the 3rd time when you come to San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Have stayed at Fisherman's Wharf many times but overlooked this value-priced hotel within walking distance of most all attractions, right next to the rail system. Rooms are large and clean with windows that actually open to get fresh air! Free breakfast isn't gourmet but is satisfactory. Only two elevators and many families stay for vacation so expect a bit of a wait.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello Steven J,

Thank you so much for the kind words as well as staying with us. I could not have said it better myself we do work hard to provide a value for our guest as well as provide the service and facility's you deserve when traveling. I do hope to see you again and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,274 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £136 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing