We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel; perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #55 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel; perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and I must say it was wonderful. Its in a great location. Its a few blocks away from the chaotic touristy section of Fisherman's warf so its not noisy at all. Its clean, the staff are super friendly, and its right across the street from the SF cable cars and around the block from the trolleys that head down the warf straight into downtown. Its also near two starbucks, a Barnes and Noble, and a Rite Aid. Its also a really short walk into the Italian section of town up Columbus. I really have nothing bad to say about the hotel except for their wacky chandelier in the lobby. The decor is really nice and I liked the big vintage posters and photos they had in the hallways. Its not a place to stay if you'd like a view though. Most of the rooms faced inner courtyards. I didn't have a problem with this since I spend most of my vacation outside of the hotel room. I'd defiintely recommend this hotel to people traveling with friends, families with children, seniors on holiday and those with disabilities. The hotel has extensive ramps and very large elevators. The hotel can also book you a $15 shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    1,132
    370
    71
    42
See reviews for
815
891
89
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We just came back from a week's stay here. It was just what we wanted, an inexpensive, clean, comfortable room in a good area. Close enough (2 blocks) to Fisherman's Wharf to be convenient to everything in the city, but far enough to not be noisy. Friendly, helpful staff. The included hot breakfast every morning was a real plus.I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMQuincy_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

The rooms for this hotel were in very good condition and well maintained and appointed. Although busy, the complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day that contained something for everyone. The reception staff were very helpful and were able to organise a half day stay below the advertised rate. This was extremely convenient given that our family had a 10pm flight out of San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We booked a mini-suite overlooking the wharf. The room was large and clean. In the distance, I could see Alcaltraz. One of the windows opened and allowed the sounds of the area to enter the room. I loved that feature. I heard the street cars, sea gulls, and traffic to enter the room. At night, it was very quiet.

The location for the street cars and buses could not be beat! Near the hotel was Denny's, Walgreens, Barnes and Noble, Safeway and all kinds of tourist shops. I stopped in a 711 store to buy a lottery ticket and won a $100!

The hotel staff was very knowledgeable about what bus to take and/or how to best get to an area.

The free breakfast consisted of eggs (scrambled or omelet style), sausage (links or patties), bread (bagels, english muffins, white, wheat), cereal, bananas, milk, yogurt, juices, coffee, and sweet rolls. The breakfast area does get crowded especially around the four toasters. Hey, it is a free breakfast! I didn't mind the wait.

The only downside is the tv has a few channels. When we settled in for the evening, it was difficult to find anything to watch. That maybe a personal taste and may not be helpful to you. The Demand movies were $13.99 each.

Bring a pen, I guess hotels have recently stopped putting pens in the rooms.

Free internet access in our room. That is a definite plus! It was really free!

In the lobby, near the business area, there is a way to get your boarding pass. I didn't use it because I am not sure how to.

Definite would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flojorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We were planning a trip to Tahoe and decided to take a side trip to San Francisco, since we'd never been. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my mom and 22 year old son for $125 a night on a AA rate. It was safe (my 73 year old mom walked back to the room from the Wharf at night with no fear). It is a block from the cable car switch, 2 blocks from the Wharf, 3 blocks from Lombard Street. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was not gourmet and it is crowded, but it was hot and fresh and free. Parking is expensive as it is everywhere in the city. We flew in and did not rent a car until we were leaving for Tahoe. There is no need to with San Francisco's excellent public transportation system. We went everywhere on an 18 dollar three day transportaton pass. It was a wonderful stay- economical. The beds were very comfortable. They have a fitness center, 2 computers with Internet in the lobby and wired high speed in the room. Why spend more money for luxury, I mean how much time do you spend in your room on vacation?

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights last Dec...concierge couldn't be more helpful or nice. Convenient
to everything, walk to Ghiaradelli Square, Fisherman's wharf, took cable cars,did the boat
trour around alcatraz, Room was very, very clean, nice, plenty of towels, breakfast is
included and was exceptional, better than Hampton Inns...Would recommend this hotel
to anyone and everyone and looking forward to coming back......

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

From check in to check out couldn't find anything to excite me here. Have stayed in San Francisco many times, first and last time here. We got stuck in the Beach Street section, second class at best. Our room looked out onto people's feet walking past, very noisy and quite gloomy. Completely lost power for about 3 hours on the Saturday night, no explanation, no apology, just suck it up. Would recommend staying anywhere else but here. The only bright side - the concierge was extremely helpful, the front desk staff and on-call Manager could do with some lessons in how to treat guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFONP550, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to enter a review on Tripadvisor. However, I do believe you stayed at The Holiday Inn @ Fisherman's Wharf not The Holiday Inn Express @ Fisherman's Wharf. The Holiday Inn Express is located on North Point Street and only has one building that is not connected to a Denny's. Having two Holiday Inns in Fisherman's Wharf causes understandable confusion. Anything you could do to rectify the error would be very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing