We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #49 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2006

We arrived at the hotel with our 2 teenage sons after a long flight from the Uk only to find our room was not ready. What could have been a dreadful start to our holiday was saved by the prompt attention of the reception staff who not ony found us another room without delay but upgraded us to a suite! We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at the hotel & cannot fault it for comfort, location & staff. Anyone looking to stay on San Francisco on a budget should look at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank janpetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    1,171
    384
    72
    45
See reviews for
862
925
90
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2006

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a 2-week trip to California. Room was quite large with a nice bathroom and clean. Breakfast was good and had a reasonably wide choice - though was busy and had paper plates etc.

Location was close to Fisherman's Wharf the Mason cable car stop (much less busy tthan the other main route to downtown) and the tram F route. So easy to get most places pretty quickly and plenty to do within a 10 minute walk.

Only downside was our view - which was of a bland and undecorated interior courtyard within the hotel.

But overall very good value for the location. We paid around £40 per night on a package with UK Air Miles.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2006

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in fisherman's wharf, but what I didn't know is that there is no view of the wharf here at all!
I was expecting my 3 year old to be able to watch the goings-on at the wharf but couldn't do that!
It was very close to the wharf though, without much noise at all.
Because it is a Holiday Inn, it is reliable comfortable, clean, and what you would expect a good hotel would be here in the states. Try looking for this standard in Europe and you would expect to pay much more! This hotel tries hard to keep up with all the conveniences and it succeeds. This is a GOOD hotel!
The only thing I might add is it is a bit pricey. It could be because of the location. I would still recommend it if you don't need a good view. Otherwise be prepared to pay a lot more.
Another thing, there is no refrigerator in the room, which was surprising to me!
Not good if you need it to store formula, etc. for a baby! But overall we had a good stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank malousadiua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool , england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2006

stayed here for 4 nights March 19th - March 23rd on our way to Hawaii. Clean and large room with kitchenette. Excellent breakfast buffet. Freindly staff. Location ideal only minutes walk to fishermans wharf, cable cars and streetcar terminus. Lots of buses about too but never used them stuck to cable and streetcars. Would stay again if returned to San Francisco.

Helpful?
3 Thank navstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

This hotel was comfortable and moderately priced for the area. Stayed here for four days. The Fisherman's Wharf area is a seedy tourist trap. The local restaurants are like factories, shunting tourists in and out on the production line as fast as possible. I found the service in these places universally horrible. However, if you head north on the sea front towards the Golden Gate bridge you can have a pleasant two mile walk and end up at the Exploratorium in the Palace of Fine Arts -- well worth a visit.

Back to the hotel -- the biggest negative was 32 dollars (plus tax) daily for parking. Otherwise, rooms were comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ps200306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 March 2006

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Our rooms were exactly as ordered and met our needs. The location is great for walking to tourist areas. Parking fee of $32 was a bit steep but competitive for the area. Highly recommend this facility to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2006

Don't stay here if you're looking for a romantic getaway.

This hotel is weird. The reception area is decorated in funky red and blue with modern furnishings and lighting. The bedrooms, however, are decorated in various shades of green and beige with matt finishes that make the room drab. Most rooms (except for family suites) face a "courtyard" which is small enough that you can see straight across into the opposite room.

But, if you're there just to sleep, the beds are super comfortable and bathroom is well appointed with a nice long bath and plenty of towels.

Breakfast is generous but hardly healthy and the eating area can get busy and noisey at peak times. Trays are provided so there is nothing stopping you taking breakfast back to your room.

The staff were friendly enough and the area is safe for walking around at night. I would probably shop around before I stayed here again. The room was too average for the price.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing