We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated the holiday inn express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #50 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hated the holiday inn express”
Reviewed 17 July 2007

This hotel is shabby carpets are thread bear and linen shabby. The staff were etremely rude and they do not move on the homeless people in the foyer

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was very dirty and staff hostile
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kleithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    1,171
    384
    71
    45
See reviews for
859
924
90
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Great location, quiet and only minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf.
Excellent room, we shared with our 2 children and found the room to be a great size for a standard 2 x double room. Bathroom good size, modern, great shower, spotlessly clean.
Continental breakfast very good and plenty on offer.
Staff very helpful.
I would definately stay at this hotel again. Excellent value.

  • Liked — Everything, cannot fault it.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mickeym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our vacation to San Francisco. We would definately reccommend this place to friends and family. They accommodated us at every turn and we could not have been happier. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Thank You Holiday Inn Express at the Wharf you made our vacation a pleasure!

  • Liked — Staff and the neat and clean rooms. Housekeeping staff always smiling and friendly
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWanderingVFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nawlinz
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed at this hotel recommended by a coworker. The room is typical Holiday Inn, clean and safe. It is closeby to fisherman's wharf and to any public transportation you desire.

The breakfast is cold. The milk was expired and sour but the staff pulled it out soon as I complained..only thing warm you can get is toast. I was somewhat disappointed that they didn't even have a microwave for the rolls and muffins. The coffee is good.

There are breakfast places close by and a great bar across the street. You are close enough to go have coffee and fresh bread for coffee from the wharf. I did not see the homeless that previous post spoke of, at least not near the hotel. Once it started getting dark we did see it at the area parks.

Beware you will pay $35 a day for parking. But is is underground and you have in and out privledges. I decided to take the hit just so my car was safe and had covered parking.

All and all, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — location, proximity to fisherman's wharf and public transportation
  • Disliked — no view at all
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeeKajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We stayed in The Holiday Inn Express during our honeymoon in San Francisco. The rooms were clean and pleasant (and we could just see the Golden Gate Bridge!), housekeeping was superb - well above average, staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was excellent - great for the Wharf, bike tours of the bridge, and well located for tram and bus stops. Lots of restaurants round the Wharf area and lots to do - would be great for families. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. Beds very large and comfortable, good choice of channels in rooms and free broadband which was a great bonus. Excellent.

  • Liked — Location, staff, comfy bed
  • Disliked — lack of wardrobe space
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

Prior to a cruise to Alaska, we had a quick over night stay at the H.I. Express at Fisherman's Wharf. We were travelling with 7 others, but they had opted to stay at another chain hotel nearby...their reservations were messed up, their check in was late and their hotel more expensive than ours. Us? We checked right in, had the good luck to receive one of their 3 rooms with a "wharf" view, and had a generous late check-out the next day. Be forewarned, the rooms are on the small side (think New York hotel rooms) but the staff was extremely helpful, the rooms very clean and it was located in a great place ~ about 3 blocks from Fishermans Wharf (close enough to walk, far enough to be quiet) and a short cab ride to the cruise ship terminal. We were very pleased with all the H.I. Express at Fisherman's Wharf had to offer. Thanks to others that posted reviews on this site...cuz that's what helped me decide where to stay!! (sorry no photos...too excited about the cruise to remember to take them!! )

  • Liked — staff were very very accommodating...that, and the value for your money
  • Disliked — rooms were a little small for all our luggage...but were were going on a 2 week cruise, so we had Lots of luggage!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank skinnedknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Just got back from a Memorial Day Weekend getaway in San Francisco and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Fisherman's Wharf. The location is supberb for all there is to do at Fisherman's Wharf and easy access to transportation for other areas in San Francisco. The hotel offers your standard Holiday Express amenties and does a great job in doing so. One addition that would be nice would be an indoor pool not that I would have had any time with so much to do in San Francisco. Facility has a clean modern look to it. The rooms are nice size for a large city. The only drawback was the beds seemed to sit a little low for my preference. The staff here were just awesome. Everyone that I encountered was friendly and went out of their way to assist.

  • Liked — Close to Everything!
  • Disliked — Low Beds
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing