We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel & only steps to cable car” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel & only steps to cable car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

This is the second time to stay at The Orchard and the same great, friendly people still work there! From the minute we got out of the rental car the concierge/doorman greeted us and took our luggage to our room so we could return the rental car on time. We received a phone call when the room was ready. Room was on the 8th floor facing Bush Street, quiet, clean, comfortable bed and plenty of pillows, TV reception was okay, but we did not watch TV and listened to music on the DVD player. A relaxing CD is provided to listen to when falling asleep. Mini bar with coffee maker, except coffee maker is set up for one person with a regular and a decaf coffee packet provided (Starbucks are not hard to find!). Nice large desk for laptop, etc. and 2 comfy chairs. Enjoyed having a large bathroom with fluffy towels, wonderful amenities and bathrobes. You can have your bed covers turned down each night if you wish. Never tried the hotel restaurant so I can't comment, although it never looked busy.
Hotel is at a great location, 6th & Powell and the cable car runs up/down Powell, so hotel is just steps to catch a cable car to Union Station or the opposite direction to Fisherman's Wharf. China town is a short walk. San Francisco is a food lover's paradise! Uncle Vito's Italian Restaurant is across the street and everything is good from the pizza, salad to pasta dishes. Sears Fine Food is 2 blocks down on Powell and don't pass up their famous silver dollar pancakes! Also enjoyed eating at E.O. Trading Co. and The Swell is a small place walking distance from the hotel with succulent dishes. Need I say more about In & Out Hamburgers, which is a must at Fisherman's Wharf! Visit the Ferry Building by the water front and taste and see -- go to the Ferry Plaza Seafood Restaurant and have a cup of clam chowder and try the dungeness crab tower with flavors of grapefruit, avocado and grapefruit vinegrette topped with flaky crab meat - oh yes, it is delicious! We walked to the Ferry Building which is a good hike, but took a cab back to The Orchard at $6.50 for quick transportation. The trip to San Francisco was fabulous, 30 minutes from airport and will stay again on the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colorado-okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    852
    154
    36
    19
See reviews for
293
1,257
169
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel is a gem. Amazing service, lovely rooms, great location, free wireless. I found this on a hotel search for San Francisco and decided to give it a try. I met many other business travelers in the lobby and elevator--we all remarked how wonderful the hotel is. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patfriedlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Rooms were ready when promised, but not early. The hotel conveniently stored our luggage and delivered the luggage within 10 minutes of our return. Requested 2 rooms close together and received adjoining rooms - WOW! Regularly greeted by the front desk when departing and returning. The concierge / doorman gave us excellent information when we asked.

Both the king and the 2 twins were very clean, cleaned daily and had an afternoon turndown service. The was a desk and chair, well stocked refrigerator (didn't buy anything) with room to store our food, an oversized bathroom with nice accompaniments, an older TV with an adequate set of channels and a working alarm clock.

The location of the hotel was perfect for our travels. We had a seven day muni/cable car pass (City Pass for San Francisco) and the Powell street cable car stopped 100 feet from the hotel entrance. Union Square (shopping, eating, etc.) was 2 blocks away, Chinatown's southern entrance was 4 blocks and the Powell & Market bus & subway station 6 blocks.

I definitely would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to families as well as business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and I were in SF for my conference and arrived Monday before noon. We truly appreciated their accommodating our request for early check in and late check out. Stayed in Rm 1009 - not "high end" but excellent for the most part except need for repair of hand towel rack. Our coffee pot and safe were not working and both were replaced/repaired within 5-10 minutes of my reporting the problem. The location is central to everything we needed as far as my conference, general sight seeing, cable cars, tour buses, and restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful. We requested a "quiet room" and were given one on the 10th floor in the rear of the building; and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I recently spent 4 nights at the Orchard hotel. I have been traveling to San Fran for almost a decade and have always stayed at the Maderin Oriental. But after the last several years I had noticed a drastic decline in the level of service at the Manderin, so I decided to try the Orchard. What a great change... I wish I had done it sooner.
The reception and service were excellent. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable (I had a larger room with king bed.... there are apparently two sizes of 'regular' rooms, and I would suggest the larger). And the location could not be beat, with easy access to nob hill, union square, chinatown, and many others. Even the immediate surrounding of the hotel was perfect, with great restaurants and bars within feet of the place. The hotel bar was nice, low key, and rarely crowded at all.... with friendly bartenders eager to engage. The overall value of the room was unbeatable for San Fran.

There was one rather minor, but annoying, 'con'..... the food. Particularly breakfast. They provide a continental breakfast buffet which was seriously lacking. Stale sliced bread, bland bagels, some limited fruit, and maybe some muffins and scones. It's what you'd expect from one of those horrible Best Western 'free' breakfast, not a nice boutique hotel in San Fran. And while my breakfast was included as part of a promotional deal, I overheard another table complaining that they were charged $14 per person for this "buffet". The hotel was even going to charge me for a coffee only (instead they just made my included breakfast). It's those type of meaningless annoying charges things that really turn me off (just raise your room rates by $3/night and give me the coffee for free... it's a huge appearance plus). So breakfast was a disappointment... and I'm not even a big breakfast eater!

That being said, I will still return with pleasure to the Orchard Hotel. I look forward to returning in fact. It is a truly exceptional hotel in a great location. I hope they fix the breakfast, which would require little effort. But even if they don't its an easy to walk to one of many nearby restaurants and coffee places open in the morning, so that one failure will not keep me from returning. It's a great hotel with all pluses and just that one 'con'.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Well located, right at Bush & Powell cable car, but the room was quiet with a lovely comfy big bed. The first night the rumble of the cable car was a bit distracting, but after that it was just fun. NO street noise! The staff and concierge were very very friendly and helpful. I got a super cheap price, by shopping around first on Kayak.com. I called and asked the hotel whether they could meet that price, which they did gladly. I later called and arranged to come a night earlier. Friday nights should have been more expensive, but they still offered the bargain rate. Great room service/restaurant, but also a nice little diner, Roxanne's, right next door and a number of other places close by. An easy walk to BART, Union Square, Chinatown, and a little farther but still easily walkable to North Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed in the King suite, it was like having an apartment right on Union Square! The furnishings were all very nice, the bed was very comfortable and it was quiet! The only down side was that the restaurant was not good, but that was easily remedied since we were in San Francisco and you can't trip and fall without landing in a gourmet restaurant. I highly recommend staying at The Orchard, the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theimaginarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing