We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central, cute and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“central, cute and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very helpful, friendly staff. Our second floor room faced the street but was remarkably quiet considering the cable car line runs right by the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: excellent green record - towel and bedsheets are only changed on request, dispensers for shower gel and shampoo to eliminate waste, recycling program.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Yet, to hear that you will return to stay with us again makes us even more grateful. Aside from our convenient location, we are glad that you have liked and enjoyed our well-appointed guest room, and found our staff helpful and friendly. We appreciate very much of your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,630
    861
    154
    37
    19
See reviews for
295
1,269
169
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very helpful personel who were always happy to go out of their way to make sure their guests were looked after and happy. Great location. Short walk to Union square and cable car stop just round the corner from hotel. Rooms we found were quiet and comfortable. Room size was spacious for SF standards.

Room Tip: Higher floors for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you kindly for the great review. You certainly said it best with our location. You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown. Appreciate your kind words about the staff. We must admit, we are lucky enough to have a team of employees’ that sincerely care about our guests and their experience. Glad to hear that you have liked and enjoyed our comfortable room. We value your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again next time when you are in town.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Orchard Hotel for six nights last week and it was a splendid experience from start to finish. This is our fourth time staying there and we have no intention of going elsewhere for our next visit. The staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful, the rooms are really comfortable and 'calm', the breakfasts are good (altho we often go elsewhere because there are so many other fun spots near by), the cable car is just at the corner and Union Square is five minutes walk away. It's a perfect locale. But the most important thing to us is that the hotel is 'green'. No harsh chemical smells anywhere. Allelujia. Many thanks for a happy, healthy stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thanks for the great review! We loved repeated guests. Our favorite thing to read amongst the reviews is the line saying that “WE WILL BE BACK”. We have guests who frequently return to us time and time again. The more you visit, the better we get to know you and what you like. They soon become part of our family, which when you travel, you long for the feeing of home away from home. We are delighted you have enjoyed every stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated to walk and visit places and very near to the main shopping area (Union Square). We walked to the Ferry Building every morning for breakfast which was a nice 15-20 minute walk downhill! Staff were nice and helpful. The doorman was very helpful with giving directions and ideas. Suite was spacious and clean. Bathroom was massive! You could hear the cable car rumbling during the day but this stopped at night so wasn't so much of an issue considering we were out sightseeing all day. Would recommend this hotel however I am sure you can get it cheaper than we did as we booked it at the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Han-and-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. As we all know, nothing is cheap here in San Francisco in particularly the hotels could be more expensive compared to other places. Our goal is to make sure we provide our guest excellent value. We are pleased that we have met and possibly exceed your expectations. Thanks ever so much of your high recommendations. Sincerely hope that we will see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Orchard Hotel. It is perfectly situated only a short walk from Union Square and an enjoyable but longer walk to the waterfront. The staff at this hotel are amazing--readily available to answer any and all questions and more than eager to do anything requested. The hotel itself is a bit dated but the room and bathroom were both more than adequate. The bed was comfortable but we did have a lot of noise from the trolley. All in all a great place to call home when you're visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get yourself a room as far as possible from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. As you have mentioned, our location is just PERFECT with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. We are most proud of them here, it seems as though they go above and beyond the call of duty on a daily basis. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Highly appreciate your comment of us a great place to call home when you’re visiting San Francisco. Sincerely hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a 1-bedroom suite for 4 nights in September. It was perfectly located, being 2 blocks from Union Square and 2 blocks from Chinatown. The room was reasonably spacious, with a huge bathroom - it spoiled us for the rest of our trip, all other hotel bathrooms were tiny in comparison! We had a room on the 7th floor and there was no street noise to speak of, save the occasional siren and horn. Windows can be opened if you're after some fresh air. The 1-bedroom suites are located next to the lifts, so there is some noise from that but I never found it intrusive. Perhaps we were too jet lagged to be kept awake by it, but it sounded a little like loud surf and it didn't bother me. The bed was very comfortable - we all squeezed into the king bed rather than using the sofa bed, which would have made the living area very cramped. There is a bar fridge in the room which was useful for storing milk and fruit which we bought from the convenience store down the road.

Most of the staff were very friendly, in particular David the concierge, who was also very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Valet car parking is available for $45 a day - it could take around 20 minutes for the car to come so plan ahead! The Stockton-Powell garage is just down the road and slightly cheaper, but it seemed full the first night we needed to park the car, so we didn't use that option.

We would be happy to stay here again, but perhaps at a slightly cheaper time of year! September was an expensive month for hotels in San Francisco. The Orchard was pricey, but no more so than other hotels in this city.

Room Tip: 1-bedroom suites are spacious, but if you're very sensitive to noise, beware the location next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest Suite and found it right fix to your family. Aside from our convenient location, our staff is what makes this hotel so special. We will share your feedback with the entire team. As we all know, hotels in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities especially during the peak times for meeting and convention. However, price could become less expensive in the slow months. We also suggest the guest to check the citywide calendar before planning the trip. Glad to hear that you have a great time and will come back to stay with us again. Look forward to seeing soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Orchard hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone planning to stay in San Francisco. We arrived at the hotel very late in the evening tired and very hungry.
The hotel staff checked us in right away and suggested a wonderful little restaurant, Bouche, which is one block away from the hotels entrance. We shared several memorable late night appetizers and two bottles of great french wine. Needless to say we loved having friendly staff that knows the area and makes great suggestions. Our room was clean, spacious and well stocked with a mini bar and a small refrigerator. The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable slept like a baby during my three night stay. The location of the hotel on Union Square was a great choice for us since it was close to China town, great restaurants,shops and the trolleys. Every day when ever I encountered any of the staff at this hotel I was greeted with good morning, good evening is their anything I can do for you? This is rare since in most big cities it is difficult to find such friendliness and warmth. I loved this place can not say enough about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a room facing Bush street.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved that the hotel is environmentally- friendly practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for the gracious review on our hotel, specially our staff. We must admit, we are extremely lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experience. They are really doing their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We work together as a team here with one goal in mind. OUR GUEST! We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We can’t agree more with you of our positioned downtown location. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of the hotel doors. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we have met and possibly exceeded your expectations. Come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,058 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing