We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations, Wonderful!”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Overall, this hotel is just special, I loved it. This is the kind of personal service and atmosphere that does not exist in large scale chain hotels. The rooms and common areas were immaculate and the décor was classic. This is one of the best values in the area and after staying there I am surprised that it does not cost more.
Location- Excellent, just two blocks from the China Gate and China town, two block from Union Square and the cable car at you door. Restaurants and cafes abound. Cable car is at your doorstep. I felt very safe.
Rooms - Lovely, quiet, immaculate. Loved the décor, somewhat deco, but modern and fresh. Bed was comfy. The only this I did not like was the coffee maker that was in the room that I could not seem to fill without getting water all over. This was extremely minor and not worth removing even one star. Drapery and linens seemed new and just seemed inviting. Bathroom was very large. I thought the room was a very generous size especially considering this is San Francisco.
Kudos to housekeeping, our room was always very clean. Loved the turn down service!
Staff - Outstanding and very friendly. Always provided their names and said hello, welcome back and patient with questions.
Highly recommended and would stay again. Thank you Orchard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. Your review was music to our ears, thanks for posting! Aside from our convenient location, guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs. Our goal is your positive experience. We appreciate very much of your feedback about our room and the amenities. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously to heart and addressed to the concerned department and personnel for improvements. We value guest’s feedback. It allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed their expectations. Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We returned to the Orchard Hotel after a few years absence and we weren't disappointed.

Rooms are well-appointed, bed comfortable, bathrooms clean/spacious.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

We had dinner a block away at a quaint French restaurant, Bouche. Very nice. Union Square is two blocks away. Christmas is a great time to visit Union Square, and the weather was fabulous.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, parked car, and didn't use the car again until after late-checkout on Saturday early afternoon.

Had a great breakfast the next morning at the hotel restaurant, Daffodil, though we were the only guests. I guess you could say we had a private dining experience.

Only drawback, as noted in other reviews, is that the garbage trucks are rolling early in the morning. Good news is that the room windows are thick and drown out most of the noise. And...it could be worse...we could be residents living on Bush Street and hear the noises regularly. Our room was on the fifth floor and faced Bush Street.

Overall, we had a great nice stay in San Francisco at the Orchard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GQtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for the review. We loved returned guest and are thrilled to hear we did not disappoint you after all these years. We are also happy that you have liked our well-appointed room; and found our staff very friendly and helpful. Glad to know that you have enjoyed the breakfast at our restaurant. Our location as you mentioned is indeed fantastic with easy access to all kind of activities and sightseeing. Under such circumstance, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. As always, we value your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco and at the Orchard Hotel.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Every year my family takes a mini-vacation (2 days) in San Francisco during Xmas time. We book a hotel near Union Square so we can walk around and enjoy the decorations, carolers, restaurants and shopping. This was our first year at the Orchard and it was fabulous, In previous years we have stayed at major chain hotels in the area. We all agreed that the Orchard was far superior. The rooms were larger and more beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was huge and the many pillows and down comforter were amazing. The staff was available and attentive. It was refreshing to stay in a smaller, peaceful venue where the elevator was immediately available and neither the lobby nor elevator were crowded and noisy. The location was terrific, close to everything we wanted to see and do. I booked the room using Priceline and I was initially disappointed not to "win" a room in one of the major chains. Boy was I wrong. We lucked out with the Orchard Hotel. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. All the ones I peaked in (during cleaning time) looked gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchard Hotel during your recent mini-vacation here in San Francisco. We are happy to hear we did not disappoint; and is equally excited to hear that you have enjoyed our unique character of the boutique hotel. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned is simply cannot be beat; with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. They really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel great experiences followed one another. Staff at the door and reception were super friendly and efficient. It was so nice to be wished a pleasant day as we left each morning and then to be welcomed back on our return. The room was spacious and well equipped and spotless. The bed one of the most comfortable we have experienced. The location a few blocks from Union Square and adjacent to the cable car and bus routes is super convenient.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was quiet although we did get occasional traffic noise. Recommend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan_and_Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

What a fantastic review regarding our hotel and staff, which is music to our ears. Perfection is definitely what we strive for. Aside from the convenient location and our well-appointed guest rooms, exceptional customer services are also our promise to our guest. We are extremely lucky to have a team of employees that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From your notes, we are thrilled to hear that we have met, even exceeded your expectation. We appreciate very much your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Not sure why the ratings are so high on this hotel, I stayed there last week and was disappointed with the place. First of all, not enough elevators, Super cold hallways and lobby - Room felt old, dark and beds were small. Lobby restaurant was closed for a private event and vibe was depressing. Positives, tv worked great and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard hotel during your receipt trip to San Francisco. While we are happy to hear that you have found our staff friendly. Here we work together with one “GOAL”; our guest satisfaction from service to amenities and product. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations this time. We want to assure that we have taken your feedback very seriously. They have given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that, we are grateful. In order to regain your faith to the Orchard Hotel, please contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I also stayed here for a week while attending a conference. Found it a very quiet place even though the hotel is located very central and just minutes by feet to a variety of great restaurants. Also prime location for strolls in the city centre and to the nearby coast. For SF, the hotel offers large rooms with all amenities that are needed for a pleasant extended stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful at any time. Certainly will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakluswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Yet, to hear that you will come back to stay with us again makes us even more grateful. We couldn’t agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. Our location suites all business and leisure travelers no matter what nature of your visit are here in the city. We are happy to hear that you have also liked our well-appointed guest room; and found our staff friendly and helpful to assist you at all time. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. Based on an outstanding experience four years ago, we rebooked for a magical long weekend. The location was still great and the rooms were comfortable but the sense we had is that cost controls are in place despite the fact that this is still a relatively pricey place.

The halls and elevator shaft were frigid with no evidence of heating outside the rooms. The breakfast room/bar was understaffed with one poor staff who struggled to meet customer needs. We got some serious stomach upset from the appetizers that were on offer so that made us wonder how many times they had been reheated. The hotel actually rented out the whole bar and restaurant on the Saturday night to a private party -the heck with the guests apparently.

This hotel has apparently invested in spa facilities but could use work on the main floor. A properly staffed bar and a front desk staffed by people who were more responsive would be a start. Heating in the rest of the hotel in December would help too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We appreciate very much your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We love to have repeat guests. It’s always our # 1 goal to provide our guest with consistent and exceptional services so that they will keep coming back to experience the same level of services they always enjoy. We are indeed very disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your recent stay. We value guest comments, positive and negative; they could drive us to enhance our offerings to stay competitive; to improve in meeting our guest’s expectations. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously in heart and will begin immediately in rectifying all the issue with concerned departments and personnel for their attentions. On your next trip to San Francisco, I invite you to contact me directly in making your reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £132 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing