We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfortable room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great location and comfortable room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is excellent and eco friendly. Non smoking in the whole of the hotel and the rooms are spotless and everthing is new and in great working order. We'd just come from Cuba so this was very important! The location in near the corner of Bush and Powell Streets was excellent for easy access to everything central.

Green Features: Environmental friendly practices are a priority at this hotel.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgchenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate very much your recognition of our effort being eco-friendly and to provide our guest a smoke free environment. We are glad you felt our room lived up to your expectation; and you found it clean and comfortable. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our location with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. That fix the primarily need for most of the guest whom choose to stay in the city. Thanks again of the review and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Collinc Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    852
    154
    36
    19
See reviews for
293
1,257
169
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited San Francisco for the first time in November and stayed at the Orchard. From the minute we walked into our room we knew this would be a great stay.

We organised our hotel transfer through the website using a company called Larry’s. Easy transfer from the airport to the hotel

Checking in & checking out was very quick and efficient. We asked for a quiet room away from the elevator and this was no trouble at all

We stayed in the Deluxe King Room and this room was fantastic! Much bigger than I expected and the bathroom was huge. The room was spacious and really nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and soft with big fluffy pillows and blankets. The room was quiet and located on one of the higher floors. The heat / air con worked well and was quiet. There was more than enough storage in the room for clothes and all our bags. The provided toiletries in the bathroom were very nice.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel one morning we were there and we had pancakes, which were very nice.
Right next door to the hotel is a fantastic little café restaurant and we ate there a few times. There are a lot of eating choices all around the hotel.

We loved the location of the Orchard. Restaurants/cafe's all around, Chinatown a quick walk away as well as Union Square. If you don’t want to walk you always have the option of the cable car or a cab. The Powell-Hyde cable car stops just on the corner near the hotel. Fisherman’s wharf is a short cable car or cab ride away. There are a few little food marts just down from the hotel that sells drinks etc. The location is fabulous.

All the staff here were fantastic to us. The staffs on reception were always happy to point things out on where to go and how to get there.

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to San Francisco who wants to be near the sights but wants a quiet place to end the night in.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Deluxe King Room is large and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blimeytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious and detailed review. We are so happy to hear your first trip to San Francisco was a success. This is such as great city. We are also thrilled to hear our hotel as a part of that positive experience. We believe we really have a lot to offer our guests when they stay with us. Our tastefully appointed guest room and the amenities alone are unique and well worth the value. Our guests are also enjoying the benefit of the hotel’s convenient location. In additional to all these, it is our staff that makes the Orchard Hotel so special. They are sincerely caring about our guests and their experience. From the Front Desk, Housekeeping, Restaurant Severs and Maintenance… we all worked together with only one goal. Your satisfaction….! We are beyond pleased to hear we have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. Can’t wait to see you again next time when you are in town.
Happy New Year…

Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for a night before traveling onwards to Palo Alto. Managed to score a great deal at the last minute. Service level exceeded all expectations which was welcome as I had just come off a lengthy flight from Singapore. Location is fantastic, within easy reach of Union Square and its surrounds. Highly recommended if a boutique hotel stay is what you are after.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dchfoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are certainly honored that you have chosen to stay with us for one night before your onward trip to Palo Alto. We are thrilled to hear that you have a great experience of our unique character of the boutique hotel. While we are also happy to know that our overall services have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. We appreciate so much of your high recommendation. We sincerely hope to have you staying with us again next time when you are in town.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Overall, this hotel is just special, I loved it. This is the kind of personal service and atmosphere that does not exist in large scale chain hotels. The rooms and common areas were immaculate and the décor was classic. This is one of the best values in the area and after staying there I am surprised that it does not cost more.
Location- Excellent, just two blocks from the China Gate and China town, two block from Union Square and the cable car at you door. Restaurants and cafes abound. Cable car is at your doorstep. I felt very safe.
Rooms - Lovely, quiet, immaculate. Loved the décor, somewhat deco, but modern and fresh. Bed was comfy. The only this I did not like was the coffee maker that was in the room that I could not seem to fill without getting water all over. This was extremely minor and not worth removing even one star. Drapery and linens seemed new and just seemed inviting. Bathroom was very large. I thought the room was a very generous size especially considering this is San Francisco.
Kudos to housekeeping, our room was always very clean. Loved the turn down service!
Staff - Outstanding and very friendly. Always provided their names and said hello, welcome back and patient with questions.
Highly recommended and would stay again. Thank you Orchard.

Green Features: This hotel is serious in regards to being environmentally friendly and I appreciate it.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. Your review was music to our ears, thanks for posting! Aside from our convenient location, guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs. Our goal is your positive experience. We appreciate very much of your feedback about our room and the amenities. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously to heart and addressed to the concerned department and personnel for improvements. We value guest’s feedback. It allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed their expectations. Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We returned to the Orchard Hotel after a few years absence and we weren't disappointed.

Rooms are well-appointed, bed comfortable, bathrooms clean/spacious.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

We had dinner a block away at a quaint French restaurant, Bouche. Very nice. Union Square is two blocks away. Christmas is a great time to visit Union Square, and the weather was fabulous.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, parked car, and didn't use the car again until after late-checkout on Saturday early afternoon.

Had a great breakfast the next morning at the hotel restaurant, Daffodil, though we were the only guests. I guess you could say we had a private dining experience.

Only drawback, as noted in other reviews, is that the garbage trucks are rolling early in the morning. Good news is that the room windows are thick and drown out most of the noise. And...it could be worse...we could be residents living on Bush Street and hear the noises regularly. Our room was on the fifth floor and faced Bush Street.

Overall, we had a great nice stay in San Francisco at the Orchard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GQtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for the review. We loved returned guest and are thrilled to hear we did not disappoint you after all these years. We are also happy that you have liked our well-appointed room; and found our staff very friendly and helpful. Glad to know that you have enjoyed the breakfast at our restaurant. Our location as you mentioned is indeed fantastic with easy access to all kind of activities and sightseeing. Under such circumstance, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. As always, we value your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco and at the Orchard Hotel.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Every year my family takes a mini-vacation (2 days) in San Francisco during Xmas time. We book a hotel near Union Square so we can walk around and enjoy the decorations, carolers, restaurants and shopping. This was our first year at the Orchard and it was fabulous, In previous years we have stayed at major chain hotels in the area. We all agreed that the Orchard was far superior. The rooms were larger and more beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was huge and the many pillows and down comforter were amazing. The staff was available and attentive. It was refreshing to stay in a smaller, peaceful venue where the elevator was immediately available and neither the lobby nor elevator were crowded and noisy. The location was terrific, close to everything we wanted to see and do. I booked the room using Priceline and I was initially disappointed not to "win" a room in one of the major chains. Boy was I wrong. We lucked out with the Orchard Hotel. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. All the ones I peaked in (during cleaning time) looked gr...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Orchard had literature around that showed they take environmentally friendly practices seriously. For example, they plant a tree in a rain forest for every review (good or bad) that someone writes.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kacyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchard Hotel during your recent mini-vacation here in San Francisco. We are happy to hear we did not disappoint; and is equally excited to hear that you have enjoyed our unique character of the boutique hotel. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned is simply cannot be beat; with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. They really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel great experiences followed one another. Staff at the door and reception were super friendly and efficient. It was so nice to be wished a pleasant day as we left each morning and then to be welcomed back on our return. The room was spacious and well equipped and spotless. The bed one of the most comfortable we have experienced. The location a few blocks from Union Square and adjacent to the cable car and bus routes is super convenient.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was quiet although we did get occasional traffic noise. Recommend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_and_Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
What a fantastic review regarding our hotel and staff, which is music to our ears. Perfection is definitely what we strive for. Aside from the convenient location and our well-appointed guest rooms, exceptional customer services are also our promise to our guest. We are extremely lucky to have a team of employees that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From your notes, we are thrilled to hear that we have met, even exceeded your expectation. We appreciate very much your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing