We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“character hotel centrally located in San Francisco”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we had 3 nights at the Orchard Hotel in January 2014. We arrived prior to check in due to a morning flight from Mexico City but were provided a room right away - much appreciated. The decor in the lobby, floors and rooms was older style - which is a good thing - character over some of the soulless glass and concrete modern hotels. Front counter and door staff were very helpful.
Lovely, large, quiet room on the 7th floor with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was also roomy and the hot water and pressure was fantastic (though this may have been more appreciated following 2 weeks in Cuba).
The hotel is easy walking distance to Union Square (down hill!) and China Town. If you've walked to China Town to shop, you may as well keep heading into Little Italy for lunch/dinner!
One weird thing that we noticed in the hotel restaurant was a plaque on the wall warning that food and beverages served in the hotel may have cancer causing chemicals. Not sure if that is a major issue or more a reflection of the over-litigious nature of the US? We didn't eat there but did have a very nice cocktail and local beer one afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It sounds like we have made a great first impression to accommodate your request for an early check in. As you mentioned, our staffs here are friendly and are willing to go above and beyond to meet with your needs. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our unique character of the boutique hotel and liked our tastefully appointed guest room. We have to agree with you about the hotel location. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of doors. Regarding your concern about the warning plaque in the restaurant, it states the California’s Proposition 65 warning. By law here in California requires that businesses with 10 or more employees to PROVIDE warnings prior to exposing individuals to chemicals known to the state to cause cancer. We do answer to a lot of guests about this matter. Please feel free to contact me for any further question. Again, we appreciate your patronage and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had stayed at the Orchard about 9 years ago and was happy to see that it was still as nice as it was during my first stay. Even though my room was on the street side, it was very quiet. The rooms are clean and modern and the beds are the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel. I loved the nice big shower stall (rather than a tub-shower). There are several nice restaurant choices within walking distance. I did try the in-house restaurant for breakfast one morning and it was quite good but there are less expensive choices nearby. The staff is very and helpful. Unlike at larger hotels, you get the impression that they actually care whether you are enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

It is such great honor of us to have you come back to stay with us again after 9 years. We are excited to learn that we have not disappointed you after all these years; and your overall experience of the hotel is still as nice as it was during your first stay. At the Orchard Hotel, we strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and products. We are so happy that we have met with your expectations and our goal. We loved repeat guests. Some guests are like members of our extended family they come back so often. We would love for you to come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had the pleasure of spending two nights in this hotel. Well positioned near Union Square. Staff are super friendly, hotel is very comfortable and right next to the cable tram. Tip: if the queues are long for the cable tram at the end of the line go to the next stop along the route and the tram will always have space for passengers to join en route.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent two nights visit to San Francisco. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our location and found it convenient access to shopping and transportation. Appreciate your compliments regarding the staff. Guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs; our goal is your positive experience. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the orchard on a rainy weekend, and the service was great from the moment we pulled up. We purchased the parking package (highly recommended) and our car was ready and pulled up front within 2 minutes of check out. The rooms were large with very nice bathrooms and a great shower. The location is great, close to union square, but a few blocks away where it's not quite so busy. We would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thisguyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for bring RAIN to San Francisco. We need it here….! Appreciate very much taking your time to write the review. Finding space to park your vehicle is always a challenge in the city. We are so happy to hear that you have taken the advantage to purchase our promotional parking package; which have helped to unload your stress driving around to find the spot and also saved you more time to explore the city. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will come back again in future. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

With massive flight cancellations, I could find few rooms at or near the pre booked rates < $300.00 for comparable hotels or better, but as my iPhone battery was running out, I had to commit and on TripAdvisors guidance, I selected The Orchard.

Great bedding, TV but internet worked poorly.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again...the noise from the cable car was similar to sleeping on an aircraft ca...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdogflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We appreciate very much your time sharing with us the experience of your stay. We are terribly sorry to learn that the uncontrollable noise factor outside of the hotel has disturbed your stay with us. As our guests are enjoying the benefit of the hotel’s convenient location, with easy access to all means of actives and sightseeing, under such circumstance, noise issues are sometime regrettable understandable. However, we do have rooms located on the quiet side of the building. We could definitely change your room allocation should you have brought it to our attention during your stay. In regards to the internet, we have already augmented the bandwidth again and boost the downloading speed to 5 megabytes per second. We truly believed that this will be vast improvement of our services to guests. To regain your faith to the Orchard Hotel, I invite you to contact me directly in making the room reservation next time while you are in town. I will personally see to it that you will be pleased with your room accommodation and that your stay will be enjoyable. Once again, we value your patronage and feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Everything in the hotel is nice. The rooms are clean and good. The beds are comfortable. The room facing the bush street can get fairly noisy. The on site restaurant is not bad.

There is very little information about the hotel's amenities. I didn't know they had a gym or room service, which was quiet annoying as that would have been helpful. The staff is friendly and helpful.

I would recommend it to everyone. However, don't expect to be dazzled. It is a boutique hotel that has 5 star rooms.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ava a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have liked our well-appointed room, despite the fact of the uncontrollable noise factor outside of the hotel might have disturbed your stay. We are glad that you have tried and like our Daffodil restaurant ;and you also found our staff friendly and helpful. All of our available services and amenities for our guest can be found in the in-room service directory. Our Front Desk staffs are always willing to help a guest with any information. We are terribly sorry that we have felt short not able to assist you with information that you might need during your stay. We thank you for your recommendation. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. We were lucky to stay there when the prices were lower than they are currently. Everything is first class. I would stay there over and over, but have recently found some less expensive hotels that are "adequate"...not of this hotel's caliber...but satisfactory. San Francisco is very expensive and don't like to blow all the budget on the hotel where we only sleep. There's so much to do outside. If you want to treat yourself royally, consider this magnificent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We appreciate very much of your loyalty to stay with us. As we all know, hotels in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. We are so sorry to hear that our pricing might become your concern to choose to stay with us in future. We definitely want you to come back over and over again; to continue to experience the first class service we offer to guests. I invite you to contact me directly in making your room reservation. We will do our best to accommodate you with the best possible rate that available. Once again, we value your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,290 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,765 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £163 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing