We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I'd Like to Rate it Higher” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I'd Like to Rate it Higher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Orchard is a very nice hotel and I'd genuinely like to rate it higher. I just can't given the limitations it currently has compared to the other hotels I've stayed at.
The Good:
Location - great location near Union Square, but not too close so the noise doesn't overpower you.
Reservations - The reservations folks were top notch
Most Staff - the doorman when I arrived was incredible, and the desk staff generally were helpful
Bathroom - the bathrooms were large and well maintained
Shower - the showers had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. I needed this after climbing up and down the hills. San Francisco hills are no joke.
Room was Quiet - did not hear our neighbors or much noise from the street
Room appointment. I found the furnishings to be nice and the comfort level of the room to be pleasant.

The Bad:
Internet, while free, was wonky. Often had trouble signing on, and when on it was terribly slow. Skype was out of the question. I could barely check my email on some days. I ended up using the hotspot on my phone.
No microwave and with no food in this place a microwave would have saved the day.
Toilet seat slid all over the place.
The "restaurant" did not have food - the only thing they had were a couple questionable happy hour offerings if you bought some drinks and the drinks were not cheap. Thankfully the bartender showed us the prices of the drinks and encouraged us to go down the road. The was a bit frustrating since we really wanted to just sit down, eat, and go back to the room after being out all day, but at least we didn't have the experience I just read some other travelers had.
My "guest robe" was dirty. I typically don't use them and don't know why I thought to try one on this time, but when I found it to be unclean. It appears to have just been re-wrapped instead of laundered.
Other reviewers found the rooms spacious. I do not see this. The size did not bother me, but I would not call the rooms spacious.
Lack of common area, lounge space.

Overall, the stay was nice, but without food service, room service (even a microwave), internet that is not reliable, and a couple staff members that did not do their part the stay did not live up to expectations for a top 10 hotel. Frankly, I am surprised by the rating given the number of hotels that do not have these deficits.

Room Tip: Higher is better to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write us detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel. While we are happy to hear of your favorable comments about the hotel location, helpful and friendly hotel Front Staffs, quiet and well-appointed guest room. However, your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in other areas during your stay. We are so sorry about the internet connection. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences which may have caused you. To better serve our guests, we have already augmented the bandwidth again and boost the downloading to a much higher and faster speed per second. We truly believed that this will be vast improvement of our services. Please rest assured, we have also taken your other comments very seriously to heart and will rectify all the issue with concerned department and personnel for the attentions and improvements. We value guests’ feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectation. Your detailed review has given us value information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. We sincerely hope that this will be detour your choice to return to stay with us again. Next time when you are in town, please contact me directly in making your room reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    838
    152
    36
    19
See reviews for
287
1,249
167
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We liked our room. It was as quiet as could be expected, I guess. You could still hear the street noise even on the top floor. We heard nobody inside the hotel though which was very nice. The beds were comfortable, but small. Not sure how these were called "over-sized". The room was kept clean, but it was definitely worn and not what I expected from a "Top 10" hotel. The shower was hot and the water pressure good - very important after a day climbing up and down the city's hills. The toilet seat slid all over though. I liked the larger pump bottles of shampoo and conditioner vs those little sample ones that never have enough in them.
The Internet was slow and intermittent. This was a real pain.
The restaurant does not have a menu for food. I don't get this. Top 10 restaurant with no food? You can have reheated "happy hour" snacks if you buy over-priced drinks though.
The front desk staff and bellman when we arrived were great. Too bad they could not have stayed all weekend. The ones who were there on the weekend looked and acted like they would have rather been anyplace else. The bellman didn't even bother to leave his reading or whatever he was doing to help open the door as we were struggling though with our bags from shopping. The man at the desk never looked up even once. These 2 people almost made me move the rating to a 2. This lack of courtesy is just too much and nowhere near a 3 star hotel standard let alone anything above it. It is a shame since the weekday folks were so over-the-top nice and helpful. In fact, it is because of them that I could not give a lower rating. They were just too nice.
There was hair in the guest robe. Gross.
Location could not be much better.
Sadly, the poor outweigh the good this time and I just can't see choosing this hotel over the other choices when we come back through.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We appreciate very much your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. While we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the convenient location; and liked our quiet and well appointed guest room. However, your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in other areas during your stay. We are so sorry to hear that the WIFI did not meet with your needs during your stay. To better serve our guests, we have already worked out with the internet provider to increase our bandwidth and the downloading speed to 5 megabytes per second. We truly believed this will be a vast improvement of our services to the guest. Thank you for the feedback regarding the staffs worked on the weekend. In no way this represent the level of service we aim to provide for our guest. We strive to maintain and provide our guest the best and consistent service possible. We want to assure you that your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for the immediate attentions and improvements. We regret to read you may not choose to come back. We sincerely hope that you could consider giving us an opportunity to regain your faith to the Orchard Hotel. Please contact me directly next time while you are in town in making your room reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards,
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Orchard Hotel in San Francisco is a great little hotel. It is quite, clean and the rooms are very accommodating especially the large bathroom and guest robes that they provide. It is near Union Square (where you can find many shops and department stores), China Town and not to far from Little Italy and the famous Fishermen's Warf.

Plenty of restaurants in the area especially Roxanne's on the corner of Powell and Bush. And it is close enough to get to from SFA by the Metro, however, it is a little walk up hill but you can take in all the sights on the way up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We appreciate the comments of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed our comfy rooms, considering our rooms are one of the most important elements of the hotel. Glad that you felt the room has lived up to your expectations. Can’t help but agree with you on our location. The shopping, the restaurants, the sightseeing… The only decision you really have to made is which direction to go out our front doors? Thank you again for the review. We look forward to having the opportunity to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Really enjoyed the quality furnishings in the room - blond burled wood, understated, well laid out. Large bathroom also well designed, very clean. Hotel itself is what you expect from a boutique - pleasant interiors, limited restaurant service but very courteous, personal and engaging staff. the doorman wrote out directions that got me around some dead ends to get to my car rental. Location is very good - if you don't mind walking a couple of steep blocks up from Union Square. Only complaint was the very slow WiFi but they told me that it was about to have a major overhaul. all in all pretty good value for the price.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from being right next to the elevator - it can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. Really appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are happy to hear that you have liked our well furnished guest room; and enjoyed our unique character of the boutique. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staffs. We can’t help but repeat ourselves, they are outstanding, not only are they great at doing the necessary daily business, but it’s the extra attention that they all seem to constantly put forth. Sorry about the WIFI connection. Yes, we have already augmented the bandwidth again and boost the downloading speed to 5 megabytes per second. We truly believed that this will be vast improvement of our services to guests. Glad to know that you have found our location good and convenient, and most importantly your conclusion of a very good value worth stay with us. WE value your patronage and look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.

Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here in Dec 2013 - the week leading to Christmas. Hotel's location is just steps away from Chinatown[CT] (if you turn right) and a mere 2 mins walk to Union Square. Rooms are spacious and the people at front desk, the doorman, the night manager - all very friendly and helpful. Everything in the room works, the bathroom is huge and clean. Imagine this: you're in CT (there's another sister hotel called 'Orchard Garden right in CT), you had a meal which doesn't agree with your tummy; you can make it back to hotel in good time from the Chinatown entrance - usually adorn by a pair of lions -one of each side of the entrance/exit to CT. The trolley runs parallel to Bush Str, there's a stop right at the corner from the hotel if you turn left but hey, just walk. The walk up is not too steep either; you can, along the way, stop by Sears Fine Foods and grab dinner. Neiman Marcus, Saks Fifth Avenue, Cheesecake Factory, Macy's are all in Union Square - you'll even get to take pictures of this huge icon of a heart where Tony Bennett left it in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleSimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you the great review. We have to agree, the location really doesn't get any better. Downtown can be so much fun, you mentioned Chinatown, Union Square, fine food restaurants, shopping and cable car….. They are all within minutes of walk from the hotel door. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. We appreciate your compliments of our staff. Guest service is one of our very best qualities. We work as a team here for only one goal, your positive experience. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchard Hotel, and to visit again the heart that Tony Bennett left here in San Francisco!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

we had 3 nights at the Orchard Hotel in January 2014. We arrived prior to check in due to a morning flight from Mexico City but were provided a room right away - much appreciated. The decor in the lobby, floors and rooms was older style - which is a good thing - character over some of the soulless glass and concrete modern hotels. Front counter and door staff were very helpful.
Lovely, large, quiet room on the 7th floor with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was also roomy and the hot water and pressure was fantastic (though this may have been more appreciated following 2 weeks in Cuba).
The hotel is easy walking distance to Union Square (down hill!) and China Town. If you've walked to China Town to shop, you may as well keep heading into Little Italy for lunch/dinner!
One weird thing that we noticed in the hotel restaurant was a plaque on the wall warning that food and beverages served in the hotel may have cancer causing chemicals. Not sure if that is a major issue or more a reflection of the over-litigious nature of the US? We didn't eat there but did have a very nice cocktail and local beer one afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It sounds like we have made a great first impression to accommodate your request for an early check in. As you mentioned, our staffs here are friendly and are willing to go above and beyond to meet with your needs. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our unique character of the boutique hotel and liked our tastefully appointed guest room. We have to agree with you about the hotel location. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of doors. Regarding your concern about the warning plaque in the restaurant, it states the California’s Proposition 65 warning. By law here in California requires that businesses with 10 or more employees to PROVIDE warnings prior to exposing individuals to chemicals known to the state to cause cancer. We do answer to a lot of guests about this matter. Please feel free to contact me for any further question. Again, we appreciate your patronage and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had stayed at the Orchard about 9 years ago and was happy to see that it was still as nice as it was during my first stay. Even though my room was on the street side, it was very quiet. The rooms are clean and modern and the beds are the most comfortable I've experienced in a hotel. I loved the nice big shower stall (rather than a tub-shower). There are several nice restaurant choices within walking distance. I did try the in-house restaurant for breakfast one morning and it was quite good but there are less expensive choices nearby. The staff is very and helpful. Unlike at larger hotels, you get the impression that they actually care whether you are enjoying your stay.

Green Features: I appreciated the hotel's sincere efforts to be environmentally responsible. Besides the expected signs regarding reuse of towels and linens, there are dispenser bottles in the showers instead of little individual bottles and a recycle bin near the desk.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
It is such great honor of us to have you come back to stay with us again after 9 years. We are excited to learn that we have not disappointed you after all these years; and your overall experience of the hotel is still as nice as it was during your first stay. At the Orchard Hotel, we strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and products. We are so happy that we have met with your expectations and our goal. We loved repeat guests. Some guests are like members of our extended family they come back so often. We would love for you to come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing