We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel, both were excellent experiences. The people are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and accessible. The location is good for everything we wanted to do in San Fran. Great food nearby too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and products. We work as a team here with only one goal, your satisfaction. We are pleased that your review, in some points, makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do, which will keep you coming back. Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    861
    154
    37
    19
See reviews for
295
1,272
169
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We used this as our first SF base for three days. Very close to Union Sq shops. The hotel is simple, friendly, clean. The hotel is on the corner of Powell, with its SF tram running along, so you may want to avoid that side if you want to sleep after they start up in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned in your review, simply cannot be beat. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our door. We are indeed very happy that our overall service and offerings have met and possibly exceed your expectations. On your next visit staying with us, please indicate your preference of the room location. We will do our best to accommodate your request. Once again, thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Orchard for 5 days and were very pleased. They gave us a nice room, actually a suite, for 3 people. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Room was clean. Hotel restaurant was pricey for breakfast but it was good. Nice location, close to Union Square.

Green Features: They won an award from Trip Advisor for being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are very happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. As you mentioned, our location is just super where we are positioned downtown with convenient access to all kinds of activities. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and your overall experience was satisfactory. Also, one of our goal is to provide our guest a cleaner, environmentally friendly and healthier atmosphere. We are very pleased that our efforts have been recognized by the social media. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed at the Orchard a number of times in recent years. For consistency, value, cleanliness and quality staff this property is hard to beat. If you are drawn to small hotels, this is the place to go. As I said in a review I posted several years ago, someone's keeping a close eye on this hotel. The GM and his staff are very responsive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtravelGuy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the loyalty of staying with us. We loved repeated guests. The more you visit, the better we get to know you and what you like. We have guests who frequently return to us time and time again. They soon become part of our family, which when you are traveling, you long for the feeling of “HOME”. It is our # 1 goal to provide every guest a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. We value and respond to guest’s feedback very seriously. We truly believed that all these reviews have given us value information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we appreciate and value your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel was as good as the reviews all say. Very central, clean, well fitted out, quiet, friendly staff. Definitely worth staying here. Little more needs saying and now I am writing stuff to make up tripadvisor's stupid 200 character requirement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mico470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your time and effort to write and meet TripAdvisor requirement to have your words posted. It is always nice to hear we are meeting and possibly exceeding our guests’ expectations. Can’t thank you enough for the high recommendation and glad to hear that you have concluded your stay indeed value worth. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I really loved the Orchard Hotel. It was central to everything, and we were able to walk or take a trolley all over town on our vacation. It was large enough to have a decent restaurant and good amenities, but small enough to give a more boutique experience. Great, helpful staff. Would definitely return in the future. I know it's marketed as environmentally friendly, but I didn't feel like that took anything away from the experience or the hotel in general if you're picturing stark efficiency.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. The Cable car is just round the corner from the doors, and plenty nice and decent restaurants are only minutes of walks from hotel. Thank you for the kind words about the staffs. We really appreciate your recognition of our efforts being the green boutique hotel. Our goal is to provide an environmentally friendly and healthier atmosphere. We are happy to hear that you will definitely come back. We Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how clean and how convenient this hotel was located. As it is not one of the big chain properties, we found our check in to be prompt. The use of our names was used quite often. The staff could not do enough to make our trip pleasant. Our doorman even got us on a half-day city tour after the one I had booked was cancelled as we were the only ones booked with that particular tour operator. The cable car is just steps away from the hotel. Nob is is a short climb away. Chinatown is just a few short blocks away. Breakfast at the hotel, despite being pricey (since we come from an area where prices are still relatively inexpensive) was very good. The food was prepared well and the service was prompt. Our room was clean and the bathroom was large and adequate. My only complaint, if one can call it a complaint, is that I felt the mattress was too soft. We had an early checkout - 4:30a.m. and after notifying the desk the evening before, our bill was ready after we stepped off the elevator. This is good to know as the charges are all published after midnight, so one can not take care of their bill until checkout. They were kind enough to even print out our boarding passes for us! I would strongly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone who plans on visiting SF.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face either Bush as even though we were on the 7th floor, you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for the kind review regarding our hotel and staff. We have received so many compliments specifically pointing out the service that our employees give to our guest. Our staffs are just outstanding! Not only are they great at doing the daily business, but are always willing to go an extra step to help our guest as much as they possibly could manage. We are pleased that you have liked the hotel location; and also felt the room is very clean and have lived to your expectations. Glad to hear that that you have tried and enjoyed the food and services at the Daffodils restaurant. We appreciate very much of your high recommendations and sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing