We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reasonable Hotel in SF”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Reasonable Hotel in SF”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Orchard Hotel turned out to be a wonderful small hotel on Bush . Very conveniently located. Just a couple of blocks from Union Square, close enough to Chinatown and just two blocks up the steep to the Fairmont and Mark.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the room was spacious, clean and lovely. No complaints except they do not have movies on TV but do have DVDs you can borrow. We did not eat there but the dining room looks very nice. If you go when there is no convention the double room is only $279 a night. I found the hotel on expedia and was very pleased. I usually stay at the Palace or Campton Place which are more high end and really nice but the Orchard stood up well in comparison as far as property and staff go. Maybe not in services but I didn't miss anything. I highly recommend it for a fun stay in SF.

Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. Green hints strategically located. No smoking anywhere.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel location with convenient access to all kinds of activities and sightseeing. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs. Customer service is one of our very best qualities. We consistently focus on meeting our guest’s expectation. We are pleased that you have liked our well-appointed guest room considering they are one of the most important elements we offer to our guest. As you mentioned, hotels in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. We are thrilled to know that you have found your stay indeed value worth; and you would even rate our property and staff in line with those deluxe hotels which you have stayed before. Thanks ever so much of your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    880
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
306
1,292
172
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay in a great location and great value. It is nicely appointed with good size rooms and quality finishings. Being a "boutique", don't expect all the amenities, particularly comprehensive room service (except for room service breakfast which is comprehensive). In a pinch, ask the front desk for nearby restaurants which will deliver. The staff is friendly and helpful. Decent wifi is included. We would definitely return. Tip: make sure a taxicab knows the particular location - Bush at Powell. The sister hotel, Orchard Garden, is nearby and easily confused by cab drivers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BARRY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks every so much for the great review. We are pleased that you have liked our unique character being the boutique hotel. While we are happy to learn that you have found our room nicely appointed; and they lived up to your expectations. As you mentioned, we are positioned downtown. You will easily find fine restaurants located just minutes of walk from hotel. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. Will definitely share your feedback with the team here. We are thrilled to hear that you will come back again. Perhaps, you might consider trying to stay at our sister property, The Orchard Garden Hotel, on your next trip in town. We value your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel, both were excellent experiences. The people are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and accessible. The location is good for everything we wanted to do in San Fran. Great food nearby too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tifloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and products. We work as a team here with only one goal, your satisfaction. We are pleased that your review, in some points, makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do, which will keep you coming back. Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We used this as our first SF base for three days. Very close to Union Sq shops. The hotel is simple, friendly, clean. The hotel is on the corner of Powell, with its SF tram running along, so you may want to avoid that side if you want to sleep after they start up in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned in your review, simply cannot be beat. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our door. We are indeed very happy that our overall service and offerings have met and possibly exceed your expectations. On your next visit staying with us, please indicate your preference of the room location. We will do our best to accommodate your request. Once again, thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Orchard for 5 days and were very pleased. They gave us a nice room, actually a suite, for 3 people. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Room was clean. Hotel restaurant was pricey for breakfast but it was good. Nice location, close to Union Square.

Green Features: They won an award from Trip Advisor for being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are very happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. As you mentioned, our location is just super where we are positioned downtown with convenient access to all kinds of activities. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and your overall experience was satisfactory. Also, one of our goal is to provide our guest a cleaner, environmentally friendly and healthier atmosphere. We are very pleased that our efforts have been recognized by the social media. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed at the Orchard a number of times in recent years. For consistency, value, cleanliness and quality staff this property is hard to beat. If you are drawn to small hotels, this is the place to go. As I said in a review I posted several years ago, someone's keeping a close eye on this hotel. The GM and his staff are very responsive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtravelGuy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the loyalty of staying with us. We loved repeated guests. The more you visit, the better we get to know you and what you like. We have guests who frequently return to us time and time again. They soon become part of our family, which when you are traveling, you long for the feeling of “HOME”. It is our # 1 goal to provide every guest a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. We value and respond to guest’s feedback very seriously. We truly believed that all these reviews have given us value information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we appreciate and value your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel was as good as the reviews all say. Very central, clean, well fitted out, quiet, friendly staff. Definitely worth staying here. Little more needs saying and now I am writing stuff to make up tripadvisor's stupid 200 character requirement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mico470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your time and effort to write and meet TripAdvisor requirement to have your words posted. It is always nice to hear we are meeting and possibly exceeding our guests’ expectations. Can’t thank you enough for the high recommendation and glad to hear that you have concluded your stay indeed value worth. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,161 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,120 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing