We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and an amazing bed”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel was located in a good part of town and was very near one of the main tram routes. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The only down side was the shower had very low pressure - this was made up for in part by the lovely toiletries (none of that mini bottle stuff). Good to have a fridge in the room too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. You certainly said it best with location! You can’t beat where we are conveniently located in the downtown of San Francisco. We are so happy to hear that you have liked our room and particularly the bed. Lot of our guest like you has commented that they are the most comfortable bed to sleep in! We apologize you felt the water pressure was inadequate. Being a Green Seal certified hotel, we use shower heads that emit 2.5 gallons per minute to comply with the standard. Plus with the drought situation presently in California this year, conserving water sounds like a good idea to us. We are pleased to know that the down side of your experiences was made up by our lovely toiletries. We want to thank you for your patronage, and look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great hotel, clean, good location. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Air circulation was lacking, but everything else met the mark. Felt safe walking in the area. Food, shopping, coffee, and drinks were all within a short walking distance.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for the great review! While we are happy to hear that you have liked the hotel location; and you found it safe and easy access to most of your sightseeing points. Appreciate very much your feedback about the in room air circulation. We assure you that your concern have been addressed to the right hand of personnel for the improvement. Thank you for the kind words about the staffs, will share your word with the team here for their great works. Thanks again for the time; we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A clean, friendly hotel with very large rooms and a comfortable bed. The hotel is located right next to the Bush and Powell cable car stop which is very convenient and a short stroll to Union Square shopping. Be warned it’s a very steep walk back from the shops but you can get the cable car quite conveniently. It was also an easy walk to China town and we were able to catch either a bus or tram to most of the places we wanted to go in San Francisco.

I’d read previous reviews and requested a higher floor / quieter room and so didn’t have any issues with noise (although there was no view … but who needs that when you’re exploring a city).

The staff were friendly and very helpful, which is always a massive bonus.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant but ate next door at Roxanne Cafe for breakfast each day and it was quite good and well priced.

Room Tip: We followed the tips as to higher floor, away from elevators and street and had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JASMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We really appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. While we are happy to hear that you liked the hotel location; and found it very convenient to most of your travel needs. We are also pleased to learn that your request for a room on the quiet side of the building was accommodated. You have had a wonderful stay with us. Thanks for the kind words about our staffs here considering they are the most important assess of the hotel. Will share your feedback with them. Thanks for the patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Aside from the location, this was a let down - the restaurant is not open on Sunday or Monday; a bar that closes at 9pm; and, room service consists of just 3 items (only available when the restaurant is open)! Poor...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aumit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy that you have liked the hotel location. However, we are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies of our restaurant services and offerings. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments very seriously. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Orchard Hotel for 4 nights (April 1-5). It was fantastic. Our room on the 7th floor was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The cable car stopped on the corner of Powell and Bush so we were able to ride to several places, including our Friday night dinner at 7 hills. We recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so thrilled to hear that we have made your stay enjoyable. We must agree, our location is just super with convenient access to most of the major attractions. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs. They are indeed one of a kind. Always sincere and caring for our guests, will share your feedback with the team here. Thanks again for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Orchard Hotel on a recent girls' trip. The hotel staff was very friendly, and the rooms were a nice size and very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk to Union Square and very close to restaurants and several cable car stops. It is also easy to hop on a street car from the hotel. The only negative comment I would have is that the garbage trucks come by most mornings very early. Asking for an interior room or staying on a higher floor would solve the problem, however.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie_MV3625AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you and your mother have a wonderful time here in San Francisco; and our hotel was part of that successful experience. We have to say it over and over again that our location is just super with easy access to most of the major attractions. Appreciate your kind words about the staff and glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. We are so sorry to learn that the uncontrollable noise factor outside of the hotel has disturbed your stay with us. On your next reservation with us, please make sure you mention your room preference on the quiet side of the hotel and on high floor. We will do our best to accommodate your request. Thanks again for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A clean and friendly hotel in a good central location. Staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is well placed on the corner of Bush and Powell Streets, with easy access to many of the main attractions, and to public transport. I had a very good-sized and quiet room, with a comfortable bed. Restaurant was closed in the evenings I was there, but there were many other places to eat within a few minutes walk. Minor improvements would be a kettle rather than just a coffee maker, and some milk rather than powdered coffee creamer. I would stay there again if I wanted a hotel in central San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I did and was pleased with the room I was given. I don't know if all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHM7748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Wow! Thanks for your review on both our hotel and staff. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. We are so happy to hear you liked the room and loved the beds. We have to admit they are pretty comfy! Thank you for the kind words of our team, will share them with the staffs here. We really appreciate your comments about our guest amenities. Your feedback has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Thanks again for our patronage. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,712 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
No photo provided
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £157 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing