We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 4 unforgettable nights . The hotel is great, clean . Staff are friendly and helpful , and location was great . The parking is a bit pricy though , just remember to add about 50 dollars per night to the room price if you're driving ..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aboshagab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We know, driving and parking a vehicle here in San Francisco could be costly. Look for our promotional parking package on your next trip. It is a great deal and may work well with your itinerary. We are happy that you liked the hotel location and found our staff friendly and helpful. Glad to hear that we have made your 4 nights stay an unforgettable one. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experiences.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    877
    154
    39
    20
See reviews for
304
1,288
172
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here whilst on a short break to San Francisco, this hotel may not have all the amenities that others have but the rooms were large, the beds really comfortable and the location was fantastic. We found the staff very warm and helpful, the valet parking and concierge were all very good. I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that offered a turn down service, really nice touch. My wife and I will be staying here again when we ever get chance to come back to San Fran. People have complained about the noise, but this is a city what do you expect, to be honest we barely heard it and the location is so close to union square that you have to overlook any rumbling from the trolley cars.

Room Tip: It seems that the higher floors suffer less from noise if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
Green Features: First rate!!! I like the fact they will plant a tree for every review regardless of if it is good or bad.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
It’s very true that we are not one of those big brand hotels set up with lot of guest amenities. However, we anticipate our unique character of the boutique hotel that offers our guest a personal and warm experience. A very good example is our nightly turn down service. Not too many hotels are offering this service to their guest nowadays! I can’t help but agree with you about the staff, they are indeed so special. Your satisfaction is our #1 goal. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs! Glad to hear that you have a quiet and enjoyable stay with us. Can’t wait to see you come back soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have stayed at the Orchard Hotel on numerous business trips and I keep coming back. The rooms are spacious with good space for working. They have large bathrooms and are clean. There are not a lot of amenities (fitness center, etc.), but you can get a pass to a nearby fitness center and the Embarcadero is close for a good run. Easy walking distance to the financial district and right around the corner from Union Square. What I love most is that every time I return, they know me and welcome me. They even supplied me with my very own Orchard Hotel bathrobe with my name embroidered on it. Very cool! It is a home away from home. And, the price is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cramsay1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Your review was great, thank you ever so much for the nice feedback. We have so many guests, like yourself that return time and time again. Our teams really get the chance to know you well, and treat you like one of the family. We are delighted to hear that every visit has been an excellent experience, that we are consistently keeping a high standard. Thanks again for the great words. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent four nights there on my honeymoon and had a lovely stay. Very close to both Union Square and Chinatown and so close to the cable car stops as well. Hotel staff generally very helpful and we took advantage of the excellent appetizers and cocktails in Daffodils one night. We had a lovely big quiet room on the 10th floor, good bathroom and amenities.

Green Features: Extremely environmentally friendly. Very happy to have stayed somewhere so conscious of the environment.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Greeting from the Orchard Hotel….. Congratulations on your honeymoon! We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We can’t help but agree with you on our location. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing and transportation… are just round the corner from our hotel. We are so pleased we were able to make your special occasion even more memorable. We are happy you also felt the room lived up to your expectation. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you come back on your anniversaries.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Pros
Nice clean room.
Big bathroom.
Comfortable bed.
Good location.
Free wifi.

Cons
No gym or fitness facilities.
Parking 45$
No ketle in room.
Breakfast just under 20$.

In generally, can't complain aboit the hotel but just expected more for that price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivannnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel during your recent trip to San Francisco. While we are happy to hear that you liked our well-appointed guest room. You enjoyed the complimentary WIFI and found the hotel very conveniently location. We appreciate very much your feedback on some missing facilities you experience during your stay. We value guest comments, it allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceeded our guests’ expectations and to that, we are grateful. Once again, thank you for taking the time to do this. We hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Orchard is not bad, but neither it is fantastic. The check-in was lengthy, the room rather boring, and the famed service really not that outstanding.
Half of the time the concierge would give very vague answers, so google was of real help. The same concierge managed to book statesman car instead of a regular cab to take me to the airport, unnecessary rather.
Location was good, since the hotel was close to the cable car stop, the Union Square, but in a rather quiet street. The internet was fine and the tv channels aplenty. The bed was very comfortable. Yet, really nothing to write home about, so might shop around better next time.

Green Features: Actually, they have very good environmental practices. I particularly like their participation in the tree planting initiative, and bigger bottles for shampoo and bodywash instead of overusing small packaging.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no_nonsense_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. As you have read about our participation in the Plant A Billion project, we will plant a tree for you! Aside from the great hotel location, we are pleased to know you liked the bed and found it very comfortable. We are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments very seriously to heart and to rectify the issue with concerned personnel for their attentions. We value guests’ feedback which gives us valuable information how to better improve our services and offerings to guests and to that, we are grateful. Once again, thank you for the patronage. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel was our base for our visit to San a francisco and, indeed, the US. The staff were friendly, the hotel perfectly located and the room comfortable. We could not have been happier and more satisfied with the quality of service received.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
What a wonderful review! Perfection is definitely what we strive for. At the Orchard Hotel, our #1 goal is provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. We are beyond pleased to hear we have met or even exceeded your expectation. Thanks again for the great words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing