We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Very good location near Union Square. Valet parking is possible at normal conditions in San Francisco. Very good restaurants in hotel surroundings. Also very good shopping options near the hotel available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeVo-1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention, our hotel is just super with convenient access to all kinds of activities. We appreciate your compliments about the staffs; will share the feedback with the team here. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,831)
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights. Walkable to union square and many great restaurants nearby. Would not come back as the room fittings were rather old and it's not value for money. Paid close to usd 400 a night for a 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you have liked the hotel location. We are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to the room décor and fittings do not met with your expectation. I invite you to try our sister property, The Orchard Garden Hotel, which is few blocks away on the same street. The hotel was designed with different décor and furnishings. Please contact me directly in making the room reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I really don't have a negative thing to say about this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The service from beginning to end was great. The doorman/concierge was always there to greet us and ask if we needed anything. He was very helpful providing advice on how to get around the city. Our last day he helped arrange a car to take us to some of the sights that are harder to get to without a car (Golden Gate Bridge, etc.). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Check -in/Check-out was quick and easy.

We had drinks one night in the hotel before going out. The drinks were strong and the bartender very friendly. We had breakfast there one morning. The food was very good. Fresh, nicely presented. It was more expensive than another place we had breakfast, but not by much. (Roxanne's next door is also a great place for breakfast.)

Location is perfect. Walking distance from Chinatown, Union Square and quite a few restaurants. The cable car stop is a half block away.

We had a king bed room. The room was very nice. Very clean, updated. Bed was comfortable. Free wifi is a nice touch and worked fine. There was some street noise (we were on the 6th floor) but not much.

I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor to cut down on street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_MORtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for the gracious review on our property, specially our staff. We have a wonderful team here really goes above and beyond the call of duty. Our focus is making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect, and it sounds like we may have hit the mark with you! We couldn't agree with you more, our location is pretty hard to beat. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of doors. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation, and is equally excited to hear that you will come back to stay with us. Thanks again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Orchard Hotel is within walking distance of many of the City's visitor destinations. It's an elegant property. Cable cars stop at the corner!

Off-site valet parking is available.

The Staff is wonderful.

Will definitely stay, again.

Room Tip: Suites next to the elevators hear them moving. But, City street noise can drown that out.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auburnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for the review! We are grateful that you have selected the Orchard Hotel as your hotel of choice. The high recommendation is greatly appreciated. And equally excited to hear that you will come back staying with us again. Safe travels until the next time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent location, within walking distance from Union Square and all the attractions; many restaurants and bars close by, plenty of choices for entertainment, shopping and dining.
Elegant hotel, good size rooms and bathrooms, all very clean and top level service.
Personnel is very friendly, professional and helpful.
Breakfast was great, fresh, crispy fruit, good coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and a variety of choices of food, from oatmeal and fruit to delicious omelet, pancakes or waffles.
Really appreciated the free parking and free breakfast package.
We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNewPlaces58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! Glad to hear that you have taken advantage of our promotion package to include parking and breakfast. It is really a good deal! As you mention, our location really doesn't get any better. The shopping, the restaurants, the sightseeing… The only decision you have to make is which direction to gout our front doors? Appreciate ever so much of your complements about the staffs. We are glad to know that you have tried and loved the food and services at our Daffodil Restaurant. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you to come back very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

An excellent hotel in a perfect location for seeing the usual sights. We had a suite which was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely mattress too! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. If I had to criticize something it would be the breakfast. The scrambled egg was rubbery and small oval plates were impractical for large pieces of toast. But that's it. we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from the cable of the passing trams, so I suppose higher up is better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_chintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our hotel where we are positioned downtown with easy access to most of the major attractions. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs, will share your words with the team here. We are so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experiences with the breakfast at our restaurant. We assure that your feedback has been addressed to the concerned departments and personnel for the immediate attentions and improvement. We value your comment and indeed so glad to hear that you will come back to stay with us again. Look forward to seeing you very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Orchard Hotel for 5 nights on our way to Vancouver where I had to go for business. We arrived from Dubai where we stayed in a suite at the Hilton for a couple of nights. I was therefore concerned that I may be disappointed with the Orchard Hotel. The Orchard Hotel is a great hotel if you do not want to stay in one of the big chain/business hotels. The hotel is very centrally located close to Union Square and China town and is walking distance from the Ferry Building and other tourist attractions. The cable car stops at the corner next to the hotel.

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful with giving directions and proposing sites to see and restaurants. Our room was quite large and was very tastefully decorated with all standard amenities, clean and with a very comfortable king size bed. Our room was quiet with no sounds from outside (we faced the back and not the street - not much of a view therefore).

I will recommend this hotel if you want to stay for a couple of days on holiday and want to explore San Francisco on foot, and do not want to stay in the hotel all day where you would require the amenities of a business hotel/resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wviviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience. As you mention, we are not the chained hotel with ton of amenities to offer their guest. We anticipate our unique character of the boutique hotel to provide our guest with consistent and personal experiences. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Our location is just stellar. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing and transportation are within a stone’s throw from our front doors. We are also glad that you have liked our tastefully appointed room. Appreciate very much your kind words regarding the staff, will share them with the team here. Once again, thank you for your recommendation and look forward to having the opportunity to see you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,297 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £167 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing