We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.75 out of 5!!”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterlig, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“4.75 out of 5!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just spent 5 nights in this hotel and thought it was almost perfect!!! The staff is wonderful, very friendly, always smiling, always saying hi, asking to help with just about everything. We had a problem when we arrived with our room key not working, no issues at all, they promptly gave us another room, even 3 floors higher which we liked! I agree with all the comments about the excellent doormen that work here, they are quick to help with travel suggestions, walking routes, etc. I've read a few comments about there being some noise in the morning, but my wife and I commented every day about how quiet the hotel was, so we have no complaints about the noise. I can't give it 5 stars because my wife thought the carpets could be a little cleaner and we could have used a little more water pressure, but those are minor complaints. This hotel was in a fabulous location, easy to get to, cable car right outside the hotel, and it was near a couple of markets so that we could get our morning sodas, water, snacks, etc. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious rating on our property and staff. At the Orchard Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and products. By reading your review, it sounds like that we have somehow achieved our goal during your stay with us. We appreciate very much your feedback on the carpet and the water pressure. Please rest assured, we will rectify all the issues with concerned department for their attentions and improvement. Thanks again for the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for a truly 5 stars stay with us.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    876
    154
    39
    20
See reviews for
304
1,287
172
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne AL, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Upon arrival the staff immediately worked very hard to make us feel welcome and important. Because we had a car w a top carrier Carrie moved us, upon request, to the street-side so that we could monitor it from our room. Eventually we took it off and Carrie graciously helped me find a safe location in the hotel so we did not have to store it in our room. She exemplifies their service.

Another standout is Cornell, the doorman. He greeted us each time we came and recognized us every time we came back. He assisted me with directions, parking tips and a great deal of helpful info about the city and how to best work within it to maximize our enjoyment of it. Huge asset!!

Room Tip: If you get to your room and it is not what you like, just ask and this helpful staff will try to get...
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely Green. Leed certified and they are proud to promote their conviction to being green in their actions and policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property, especially our staff. We must admit, we are extremely lucky to have team of employees’ that sincerely care about our guests and their experience. They really go above and beyond the call of duty. Our focus is making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect, and it sounds like we may have hit the mark with you. On this note, we are passing on your positive feedback to the entire team here, especially to Carrie and Cornell for their excellent services. We are delighted that we not only met, but possibly exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean and attractive rooms, friendly front desk staff, very helpful doormen (especially Cornell, who gave us great walking route suggestions), perfect location as walking distance to BART and buses/trolleys, soundproofed rooms (except for the odd loud traffic in front), comfy pillows with king sized bed and good housekeeping. Never tried the restaurant, so cannot say anything about that. No criticism at all really, although two sinks in the washroom would be nice, as my wife and I hate sharing, but, hey, there's no room for that. Washroom was beautiful anyway, with reliable hot water and an attractive see-through shower door. Well done Orchard Hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. Aside from the location, we would say our staff is what makes the Orchard Hotel so special. They are indeed one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that they could possibly manage. We promise you to share all of your great feedback with the staff here especially to Cornell. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were very pleased with the Orchard.
Accommodations: The rooms are spacious, beds are super comfy, bathrooms are also spacious, plenty of hot water. No real noise issues, other than a little traffic noise during morning rush hour (we were on the 9th floor). Good insulation. Only negative is that the carpet seemed to need a good cleaning.
Staff: Excellent staff. Front desk always greeted us. Housekeeping also greet you during the day. We had a small issue with the toilet and it was taken care of immediately. The doormen were great! Cornel is very professional, and friendly at the same time. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Restaurant: We only had breakfast in the restaurant. It is a bit spendy, but then so are the other options in the area. Restaurant staff are very attentive and service is quick. Nice atmosphere.
Location: Right on the cable car line, about six blocks from Market.
Green: Nice to see a hotel that makes a concerted effort to be "Green"- Applause!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! I know we have said this a dozen times, yet we consistently hear such great feedback regarding our staff. We can’t help but repeat ourselves, our staff is outstanding. Not only are they great at doing the necessary daily business, but it’s the extra attention hat they all seem to constantly put forth. We assure you to share your words with the entire team here, especially to Cornell, our Concierge/Doorman. We are glad you also felt the room has lived up to your expectation. We appreciate your comment about the carpet. We have already addressed the issue to the concerned department and personnel for their immediate attentions and improvement. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great Hotel! Very clean and well maintained. It is located right next to China town. The doormen and concierge were very helpful in recommending restaurants and setting us up with a day trip to Sonoma wine country. They are true to their word with being environmentally friendly. Low flow shower, lights and air conditioning are activated only when the room key is used, and they recycle in each room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Congratulations on your wedding and honeymoon! We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We are glad that we did not disappoint you. Your overall experience was met to your satisfaction. We appreciate very much your kind words and commending us on our efforts as an eco-conscious hotel. It’s always our goal to maintain a clean and healthy environment to our guest and to the community. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was way more than I expected. The staff were very nice and professional, and the hotel is beautiful and super clean. Our room 401 was super! It was quite spacious, and the bathroom was a treat. Lots of space to move around in. The hotel is conveniently located in the Union Square area. Many attractions and transportation stops are within walking distance. You cannot ask for a better location. My other half and I have stayed at other hotels throughout the world, and this one is up there in "our favorites" category. When we return to this SF, this will be the hotel of our choice! Loved it!

Room Tip: We only rated services we used at this hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: I try to be green in my approach, and I appreciated the fact that this hotel has environmentally-friendly practices set up.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariomexusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy to hear your first trip to San Francisco was a success; this is such a great city. We are also thrilled to hear our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We believe we really have a lot to offer our guests when they stay with us, from service to amenities and product. We think they are unique and well worth the value. We are excited to hear that we will be the hotel of your choice when you return to this beautiful city. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed four nights and found it was a nice clean personable hotel. Centrally located so that for someone who likes walking you can easily get to anywhere in any direction.15 minutes to Moscone, 30 minutes to Fishermans Wharf.

Helpful?
Thank NeilB27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review! You certainly said it best with the location. You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with convenient access to all kinds of activities. We are happy to hear that you have found the hotel very nice, clean and personable. Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing