We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, great rooms, lovely design, helpful staff. Right next door to Chinatown & easy to get everywhere from here. Clean, modern, very comfortable beds & service is everything you want. Nice boutique hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property and our staff. We are thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint you. We are beyond pleased to hear that we have met or even exceeded your expectations. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in particularly the experiences of our unique character of the Boutique Hotel. We value your patronage and comments, and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    861
    154
    37
    19
See reviews for
295
1,272
169
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the orchard hotel over the 4th July holiday for honeymoon. Check in and check out were really easy, our room was great and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. Nothing was too much hassle for them! From the front desk to the doorman or concierge they all went out of their way to help. What the hotel might lack compared to the more pricey alternatives it makes up for in guest service! Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank H.J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the review. We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We are so happy we were able to make your special occasion even more memorable. Aside form the location, our staff is what makes this hotel so special. They really go above and beyond the call of duty in making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect. Our goal is to provide you with excellent value. Appreciate ever so much of the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
457 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 3 comfortable nights in a deluxe king on the 9th floor - great bed, clean, spacious, quiet room and bathroom with lovely bathrobes. Turn down service and small chocolates every evening. Very friendly reception and doorman. Be prepared to walk up a hill to Bush Street from Union Square. The only issue was when we checked in was there a difference in the total price ($935) from our reservation made through the hotel website ($885.82). The reception person said this difference because of the all the taxes because our room rate was the same. We were not happy as the reservation confirmation listed $762 room + $123.82 taxes = $885.82. However, upon check out- the amount on our bill was $885.82 charged to the credit card- so the issue was resolved.

Green Features: Very much appreciate the hotel's green practices
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the review. While we are happy to hear that you have liked the hotel location, also our well-appointed guest room; and that you found the room spacious, clean and quiet. We are so sorry for the confusion about the total room price. However, we are indeed very happy to hear that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction upon your check out. Appreciate your positive feedback about the staff, will share them with the team here. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights, and the staff and location were outstanding. Everyone we spoke to was super helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, which also made public transportation very easy with our Muni pass which was recommended by the staff! Great stay in a great city. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Congratulations on your honeymoon! We want to express you our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. San Francisco is such a great city. We are thrilled to hear our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We are glad that you have liked the hotel location and are pleased with our overall services. Once again, thanks for the review and for choosing us for your celebration. Hope to see you come back on your anniversaries…..
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterlig, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just spent 5 nights in this hotel and thought it was almost perfect!!! The staff is wonderful, very friendly, always smiling, always saying hi, asking to help with just about everything. We had a problem when we arrived with our room key not working, no issues at all, they promptly gave us another room, even 3 floors higher which we liked! I agree with all the comments about the excellent doormen that work here, they are quick to help with travel suggestions, walking routes, etc. I've read a few comments about there being some noise in the morning, but my wife and I commented every day about how quiet the hotel was, so we have no complaints about the noise. I can't give it 5 stars because my wife thought the carpets could be a little cleaner and we could have used a little more water pressure, but those are minor complaints. This hotel was in a fabulous location, easy to get to, cable car right outside the hotel, and it was near a couple of markets so that we could get our morning sodas, water, snacks, etc. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your gracious rating on our property and staff. At the Orchard Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and products. By reading your review, it sounds like that we have somehow achieved our goal during your stay with us. We appreciate very much your feedback on the carpet and the water pressure. Please rest assured, we will rectify all the issues with concerned department for their attentions and improvement. Thanks again for the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for a truly 5 stars stay with us.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne AL, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Upon arrival the staff immediately worked very hard to make us feel welcome and important. Because we had a car w a top carrier Carrie moved us, upon request, to the street-side so that we could monitor it from our room. Eventually we took it off and Carrie graciously helped me find a safe location in the hotel so we did not have to store it in our room. She exemplifies their service.

Another standout is Cornell, the doorman. He greeted us each time we came and recognized us every time we came back. He assisted me with directions, parking tips and a great deal of helpful info about the city and how to best work within it to maximize our enjoyment of it. Huge asset!!

Room Tip: If you get to your room and it is not what you like, just ask and this helpful staff will try to get...
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely Green. Leed certified and they are proud to promote their conviction to being green in their actions and policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property, especially our staff. We must admit, we are extremely lucky to have team of employees’ that sincerely care about our guests and their experience. They really go above and beyond the call of duty. Our focus is making sure your stay from beginning to end is perfect, and it sounds like we may have hit the mark with you. On this note, we are passing on your positive feedback to the entire team here, especially to Carrie and Cornell for their excellent services. We are delighted that we not only met, but possibly exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean and attractive rooms, friendly front desk staff, very helpful doormen (especially Cornell, who gave us great walking route suggestions), perfect location as walking distance to BART and buses/trolleys, soundproofed rooms (except for the odd loud traffic in front), comfy pillows with king sized bed and good housekeeping. Never tried the restaurant, so cannot say anything about that. No criticism at all really, although two sinks in the washroom would be nice, as my wife and I hate sharing, but, hey, there's no room for that. Washroom was beautiful anyway, with reliable hot water and an attractive see-through shower door. Well done Orchard Hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. Aside from the location, we would say our staff is what makes the Orchard Hotel so special. They are indeed one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that they could possibly manage. We promise you to share all of your great feedback with the staff here especially to Cornell. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing