We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calcutta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well my review about this hotel is a little mixed. Great Hotel overall, extremely helpful and friendly staff - nice rooms in a central location. I came in from Washington DC via an early morning flight and had requested an early check-in which I got without any additional charge.
But a few details missed out - my coffee cup in the room was chipped at a very dangerous place which could have led to serious injury - thankfully I noticed it. The staff changed it immediately however.

However overall a great place to stay that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no_boundaries94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have liked the hotel location; and found our staff extremely helpful and friendly. We are happy to hear that we are able to accommodate your request for an early check in. We want to thank you for letting us know about the missed out details during your stay. We want to assure you that your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for the immediate attentions and improvement. We value guest’s feedback, they allow us to better improve our service to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations. We are glad that the overall experience of your stay was great and you will definitely recommend the Orchard Hotel. Once again, thank you for writing us the review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    850
    154
    36
    19
See reviews for
293
1,256
169
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Great stop in San Francisco, the location is close to everything. North Beach, China town, Union Square. Good size rooms and lots of great plug ins. Nice, friendly staff, and extremely clean. Lots of restaurants close at hand. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property and staff! We love reading guest’s review when they end with a promise to return. It makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do, which is keep our guest coming back…! Glad to hear that you have great time in San Francisco. Hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2014. The bellman was super helpful from the moment we got out of the car and checkin went smoothly . Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable . The hotel is located just a short stroll to union square and Chinatown . The only two negatives are the rooms are very outdated and the wifi drops in and out . I would stay here again .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ammie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review regarding our hotel and staff. We receive so many compliments specifically pointing the service that our bellman gives our guest. They are indeed outstanding, attending to every guest’s request in details. We are happy that you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. We are so sorry to hear that the deficiencies of the WIFI connection had somehow disappointed your stay. Please rest assured, we have already addressed the issue to our internet vendor for their immediate rectification for improvement. We are happy to hear that despite of some negative experiences, you have decided to stay with us again. We value your patronage and comments, and look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royersford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Very conveniently located to everything. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean. Thank you for a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdw1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have a great time staying with us. You have found the location convenient to almost everything you need. We are also happy to hear that you have experienced our staff very friendly and helpful; and that our room is clean. Thanks again for taking the time write us the review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel fit the bill perfectly: great location (just off of Powell on Bush), helpful and friendly staff, and larger than anticipated rooms. I was very pleasantly surprised. My room was comfy and clean and quiet. I thought the location was ideal--close enough to Union Square and other shopping to get into the thick of things quickly, but enough removed to be more relaxed and quiet. The walk to the hotel is a bit uphill--it's about halfway up Nob Hill--but it's not horrible, even for a 50 year-old! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We have to agree, the location really doesn't get any better. The shopping, the restaurants, the sightseeing… The only decision you really have to make is which direction to go out our front doors? We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the comfy rooms, considering they are one of the most important elements of the hotel. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs; and excited to hear that you will not hesitate to stay with us again. Thanks again for the words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel has excellent customer service and is exceptionally clean for the Union Square part of San Francisco. Like most hotels in the area, the room prices are higher (1.5 - 2.0 times regular price) during busy times and conventions, so try to book for times of low demand. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the HVAC is very quiet. In addition to a mini-fridge (the exorbitantly priced mini-bar), our room had an in-room air purifier! The front desk and concierge staff were always polite and helpful. Because the hotel is "up" near Nob Hill, the rooms tend to be quieter than those in hotels directly around Union Square, but Powell Street near the hotel is very steep (emphasis on both very and steep). The hotel restaurant has limited service (usually just breakfast and cocktail hour); not to worry -- this area has plenty of restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bed turn-down service in the evening includes a square of yummy chocolate for each occupant! When in San Francisco, we always try to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms tend to be sunnier (if or when the fog lifts) than odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: The latest hotel renovations are LEED certified. The maid services actually follow the hotel's stated practices for reusing or laundering linens!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience. We are happy that you have tried and enjoyed our Pure Room. The Pure Rooms are treated with a cutting edge process that cleans the air and surfaces, providing the ultimate comfort level for those sensitive to airborne particles. At the Orchard Hotel, exceptional customer service is the foundation of our promise to our guests. We are pleased to hear that we have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. With our excellent location, finding a good restaurants nearby is never a problem. We are glad to know that you will book our hotel again when you are in San Francisco. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently enjoyed a pleasant stay at The Orchard Hotel in San Francisco. Had a lovely time in the city and walked all over the city. The hotel is located opposite the famous cable car line, just a few minutes walk downhill to one end of the Powell line which can take you to Fisherman's Wharf. Be warned, the queue can be very long and you may have a long wait. The area around the hotel is Union Square with its shopping malls. There are plenty of bar and dining opportunities in the area along with Chinatown. Getting to and from the hotel, I recommend the shared van. Was just US$16 per person one way, very reasonable.
Whilst the lobby to the hotel looks slightly dated, the room itself is very clean and has everything you need in a room. The customer service no the reception desk is very helpful. Highly recommend this hotel if staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Your review was great, thank you ever so much for the nice feedback. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned, simply can’t be beat; shops, restaurants, sightseeing, transportation… all within a stone’s ‘throw from our front doors. We are happy to hear that you have liked our well-appointed clean room; and found our service and staffs at the Front Desk very helpful. Thank you again for taking the time to do this and appreciate your high recommendation of the Orchard Hotel. We value your patronage and hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing