We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice near Union Square” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good choice near Union Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night, before driving to Pebble Beach. Valet parking was quite reasonable for San Fran, and checking in early was not a problem. Nice clean room with all the amenities, and a good sized bathroom. The only thing I did not appreciate, was the restaurant being closed for breakfast for a private function. My wife and I decided to walk to the Marriott next door for breakfast, and we're glad we did. Would definitely consider staying here again, but plenty of other choices in the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Canuck64,

I am happy that you chose to stay at the Orchard Hotel. I would like to thank you for the compliments about our rooms and the service of the hotel. I am glad you shared your comments on TripAdvisor.

I apologize that you were affected by our restaurant being closed for breakfast for a private event while you were staying with us. We did offer breakfast through room service and offered a discounted rate for breakfast at our sister hotel Orchard Garden Hotel. I do however understand your disappointment.

Again I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope when you are back in San Francisco that you would chose us again.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    850
    154
    36
    19
See reviews for
293
1,256
169
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here in May for four nights. The room was good size, as was the bathroom, and the sleep cd/info was a nice touch. We thought it was a good location, and yes it's on a hill, next to another hill. We didn't have the noise problems that some complain about, but then again we live close to the el here in Chicago and are used to a bit of noise. What I was impressed with is I never once heard other guests or housekeeping in the hall.

The food is good, but a bit on the expensive side.

The bar closes early, which is a shame. I wish more hotels would have bars that stay open later, even if they only allowed hotel guests in after a certain time that would be wonderful. Sometimes you just want a glass/pint to relax with before heading up to your room (this goes against the sleep advice in the room but oh well).

The windows don't open, this wouldn't be a problem if our a/c worked properly or there wasn't a musty smell in the room upon arrival (boyfriend found out it was coming from the carpet when he was stretching). The A/C not working wouldn't be a big deal if the windows opened. We didn't want to cool the room down we wanted to get rid of the stuffiness. It would turn on, but you couldn't feel much coming out of the vents, and it would turn off suddenly because it would seem that the control panel would work loose from it's outlet? You'd touch it, it'd move and turn back on. It wasn't worth the time to complain, we were only in the room to sleep really. And you got used to the smell pretty quick.

The Orchard Hotel and The Orchard Garden Hotel can be confusing, especially when you have friends meeting you. They were waiting in the wrong hotel lobby.


The location, the space in the room, the green aspect, and the politeness of everyone who worked there outweighed the meh parts, especially when you are only really there to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stealingsouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Stealingsouls,

Thank you for writing about the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that overall you had a lovely experience at our hotel.

You wrote that you didn't want to share with our team that you’re a/c wasn't working properly, but in the future I asked that you would. Adjusting the a/c panel is an easy and quick fix. We would have loved to have taken care of that for you and your boyfriend. Especially, if repairing the a/c panel on the wall meant your stay would have been more enjoyable.

Thank you for staying at the Orchard hotel. The next time you are back in San Francisco we would love to have you stay at our hotel.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in The Orchard and would basically echo all the previous excellent comments. The rooms was lovely, clean and very comfortable and with good wifi. We wre on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel and were not troubled by noise.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful. It was my 50th birthday whilst we were there and the staff were really helpful in finding a good restaurant for us to go to and booked it for us.
We found the location really good, not far from Union Square and good transport links nearby. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill though so may not be suitable for those who are not so mobile.
We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on that.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozgozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Ozgozza,

Thank you for staying at the Orchard Hotel. We value your comments and observations about our hotel. I agree with you all of our team members at the Orchard Hotel are wonderful. Our location is great as you are just moments away from the heart of the city. I am happy to read that you celebrated your 50th birthday here at the Orchard. Happy belated birthday!

Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you are in San Francisco.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Well presented hotel in convenient location. Our room was a good size and very clean, no noise could be heard from the busy road from the 5th floor. The cable car stops only a matter of a few yards away and it is only a few minutes walk into downtown or China town. The cafe next door is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review! You certainly said it best with location. You can't beat where we are centrally positioned downtown. We are also thrilled to hear we did not disappoint you; and equally excited to hear that we have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. We appreciate you taking the time to do this, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Orchard Hotel was everything we expected, and more. As I told the front desk clerk as we were checking out, our bathroom had the best lighting this woman has ever experienced in more than 45 years of traveling the country! Complete with a large magnifying makeup mirror, there was plenty of space and you could SEE to groom. As others have mentioned, we did lots of research and read many reviews before choosing The Orchard. It was a great choice!

We loved having breakfast at the little cafe just one door away, around the corner. There is a hidden gem of a French restaurant just a few doors up the hill on Bush St. that was delightful. Jeanne D'arc, 715 Bush St., downstairs at a boutique hotel, served a 4-course meal for $44, had their famous souffle for dessert. The owner chatted with us for awhile and sent over two glasses of a red wine to accompany our entrees because he thought we would enjoy it more with our meal than the white wine we had ordered with our appetizers--no charge. Charming man who really cares about his guests. Excellent food, very competent service!

Back to The Orchard--as everyone says, the location is perfect for whatever you wish to do. Our room was on the 10th floor and it was the quietest hotel stay ever. Housekeeping was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The doorman was always attentive and helpful; we were there 4 days and he greeted us by name every day.

San Francisco was the highlight of our trip which began in San Diego, continued through Big Sur, and ended in SF. We saved the best for last and will definitely stay at The Orchard when we return to the City by the Bay. Thanks to all who made our visit so very comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: We chose the 10th floor room and were very happy. It was large and quiet. Excellent bathroom--spacio...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the bath gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abercrombie-Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to hear our review ratings are what got you in our door, considering there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar with easy access to all kinds of activities. We are happy that you have liked our well-appointed guest room. At the Orchard Hotel, Guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs. By reading your notes, it makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hills in San Francisco are an attraction on their own. Luckily, to get to this hotel from Union Square you only have to walk two blocks and the hill isn't too steep. If you're heading down to the Financial District or China Town it's also not too bad. There is a cable car stop just outside the hotel but each time we tried to get on it was full; however, a cab ride was only $10 to Fisherman's Wharf, which actually makes it cheaper if there's more than one of you. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and it was delicious--lots of fresh fruit. The concierge was very helpful and recommended a great restaurant strip just down the street. The room was quiet and had plenty of room for luggage and our new purchases. I looked at many hotels before booking this one and I definitely think it was the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Georginadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate your comment of your recent stay at our hotel. We must admit, this city is incredible and has so much to offer. We are happy to hear that you have a great time here in San Francisco. You have found the hotel very convenient located to most of your sightseeing. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our staffs; and that you have liked our restaurant food and services. We are so glad you have concluded the right choice choosing the Orchard Hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. Its location means this hotel is not budget or cheap but it is probably priced at the right point. The rooms are a little dated but they were immaculately kept and clean.
Right on the corner of Powell, you can catch the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf with ease, or just walk to Chinatown or Union Square in less than 5 minutes.
There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach and the doorman will be delighted to recommend something.
Top tip though is to book a parking package if possible as the cost and hassle of self-parking are a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, they really are a special team. From the doorman, Front Desk staff to Housekeepers… they really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We must agree. Our location is pretty hard to beat. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction you stop out of doors. The location of the Orchard Hotel suites all business and leisure travelers; Most importantly our prices are set at the right point to ensure our guests with excellent value. Appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing