We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We spent eight nights in the Orchard Hotel. The furnishings are starting to show a litlle wear and tear. And the lobby is modest. However, the value is unbeatable. Very clean, quiet rooms. Friendly staff. Terrific location - two blocks from Chinatown, two blocks from Union Square, safe environment, close to shopping, on the Powell cable car line, a few blocks from Market Street. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,829)
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 2,829 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

Very convenient location (close to unionsquare and chinatown). Hotel is very clean and room are fairly large. Front desk is very friendly and flexible : I booked 2 rooms through internet but travelling with a family of 5 I asked few days before for a rollway bed in one of the rooms and finally they offered me to accomodate us with 1 king bed room + 1 two queen beds room, both joining. That was exactly what I needed. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremyj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

To end our delightful “Garlic & Grapes” (Gilroy Garlic Festival & Wine Country) vacation, we stayed a few days where it all began: San Francisco. As always, I consulted TripAdvisor before booking and was SO satisfied with this choice! The Orchard Hotel is the only place we will stay while in SF and here’s why:

The moment we walked through the door, the staff made us feel welcome and instantly offered their help with our luggage. While my sweetheart supervised that, I checked us in. Every question we had was answered with a smile and a great deal of knowledge (well-trained staff!). Car whisked away via the valet for a few days, we headed upstairs to our room.

Our bellman opened the door. Breath in, “Wow! THIS is nice!” Breath out, “Ahh... it feels good to be home, at least for a few days.” Our room was perfect. Nicely decorated (see photos) in my favorite style, Art Deco, it was a real refuge from the hustle and bustle of the city. Couldn’t hear a thing from the streets down below.

The bed beckoned so we plopped down for only a moment. (Heaven!!!) We had lots of sightseeing to do. Super soft and comfy, I looked forward to lingering later. The bathroom was big, clean, and modern with complimentary toiletries that followed the “Eco-Friendly” theme that pervades this hotel. Nice to know your stay isn’t over-taxing our environment.

Literally a few steps to the trolley, it is centrally located in the city, a few blocks from Chinatown, a trolley ride away from Fisherman’s Wharf, and a brief stroll to Union Square. If you don’t eat at their organic restaurant, “Daffodil,” there are lots of great places to eat within walking distance.

Having taken your (the reviewers) advice, we are happy to say “Thank You!!! Our stay in San Francisco was perfect and The Orchard Hotel exceeded our expectations!”

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CtheWorld4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Love the position. Close to town, on the tram line, close to ChinaTown.

Have stayed here 3 times in 5 years and its a consistent performer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlMaxxJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is one of the best values I have found in the city. Our room was great, nice linens, good size bathroom. The location is convenient and the staff was super friendly. I will stay there again next time I visit SF.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The hotel's location is convenient for exploring San Francisco. Close to the Powell BART/Muni/Tram, right by Union Square and Chinatown. The room booked is at 3rd floor and does not have a view, but is well maintained, clean and quiet. Arrived around 1:00pm and was able to check in early. The hotel also provides luggage storage on the checkout date for people whose flight out of San Francisco is later in the day. The staff is courteous and helpful. Valet parking is expensive, the rate at the nearby Sutter Stockton Garage is more reasonable. A PC and printer at the lobby for hotel guests. Over all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I was in SF with my family and we all loved this hotel. The service was great, everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room was very quiet, and we had good sleep at nights on comfortable beds here. When I go to San Francisco next time I will stay there again. Cable Car close to the hotel was a good addition, and it was fun to go to the Fishermans Wharf on Cable Car.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple77733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,319 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,296 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £167 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing