We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #124 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Recently stayed at this lovely older hotel a few weeks ago, its in a great location in union square, clean and great service as well as pricing. i would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember0822201603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Location was good and easy to get to from the airport via the train.
Room was a good size and the bed was comfy, bathroom was a little dated but functioned well.
Tube stop and trams very near, a few cafes and bars near by.
Would stay here again if at the right price,.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although our room was a bit tired, it was clean and really comfortable and plenty big enough for a big city break. The staff were polite. Great location near Bart,cable car and union square. Walking distance to every must do location- union square,nob hill,Alamo square, ferry building and fisher mans wharf. The cafe venue a few doors up was good value and quality, and the attached SOMA did a good breakfast bagel. I had been to san Francisco some years before and was saddened to see increase in homeless, which is a little intimidating toward dusk or early morning. But this is not unique to 5th street and Powell street. The genuine homeless are no bother and leaves you feeling lucky, but they do attract some less savoury groups.

Room Tip: Room on 5th street made you feel close to city life, you heard it sleep wake up and heard its secret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A smaller hotel this place is in a great location very close to the BART. Easy to get to, easy to get around. The rooms were a decent size with a comfy king-size bed. Wi-Fi worked well. Staff were helpful, good breakfast place on one side and a good pub on the other. It also backs on to a large underground mall with many shops and a good food court. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scipiofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I attended a conference recently at the Marriott Marquis around the block but was unwilling to pay the high prices due to my late entry. The Pickwick was extremely close and actually ended up closer to our evening locations than the Marquis. The rooms were small but cozy. They had just been renovated and due to price break, I selected their most expensive rooms and still got by at 1/2 the price. The gym equipment was sufficient for my needs with a good view of the streets.and the personnel were just outstanding. They were so helpful and upbeat. I loved the Mediterranean restaurant attached as well then went to an excellent restaurant around the corner on the other side. The only negative was the shower water pressure was a bit low at high usage times of the day. For shoppers this is a prime location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddlelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As most reviewers note, the hotel is old. However, it adds to the character of the place. Our room was tastefully decorated and most importantly, clean. Close to the heart of Union square, shops, restaurants, and public transportation are all within walking distance. We did bring our car and availed of the basement parking. While the parking was pricey, I would not dock the rating one bit as the hotel is located in the CITY and there is premium to be paid for not availing public transportation. Our trip to the place was on short notice, so we were lucky that we were able to get a room on such as busy weekend. The hotel staff were excellent. Randy from the front desk was very helpful and accomodating. He is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and the same goes with the other hotel staff we met. We will definitely come back in the future and would recommend the place to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuneeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently had the fortune of visiting San Francisco and staying at the Pickwick Hotel. The location was excellent and within walking distance to everything. The restaurant/bar in the hotel was very nice and cozy. The staff was excellent and very helpful to visitors. The rooms were good, but a bit overprized for my taste. I felt like I paid for location rather than nice, up-to-date hotel rooms. Something to think about when considering this hotel. All in all, I had a great 4 day experience staying here.

If you stay here, you must make Mo'z Cafe across the street a must for your breakfast and coffee. Great, family owned location!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
1,846 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
1,900 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £89 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing