We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pick this hotel only if you are getting a great price for the rooms. The rooms are not too great. They are old and noise insulation pretty much doesn't exist. I have younger kids and at night, some teenagers were making noise from around 2:30 am to 4:30 am in the night. We could hear the noise and ruined my sleep.
But otherwise the location is great. It is walking distance to most of the downtown/union Sq. attractions. It is close to BART & MUNI. No complains on the location at all. The hotel is relatively clean but again, it is so old that age shows up while walking (cracking wood sound) etc.

Room Tip: Try to pick room on higher floor. The walls in the hotel are badly insulated so one can easily hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We needed to stay close to Union Square for one night after spending 6 nights at a much more luxurious hotel a block away. The self parking garage here is a little scary down a steep driveway and still $40. Check in was efficient but our 7th floor room (apparently upgraded to a King Executive Room) was small and there is a small step up to the bathroom. The room was ridiculously noisy with loud dumpster emptying before 4am , lots of glass breaking and general street noise through thin glass (maybe the window was ajar). The bed was very firm and not what I expect at this price. The bathroom windows were cracked but at least not transparent! The shower head is over the large bathtub but at 90 degrees. The bathroom has certainly been updated as has the room but the hallways have carpet that shows its age. I am undecided about whether this hotel is old and quaint or old and need of serious renovation. The lobby is fine. If you need location and can get it at a good price, it may be ok for you. Otherwise, keep shopping around. Parking only available until 1pm so be prepared to pay extra if you are hanging around after checkout.

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

French provinical asthetic, unlike the hotels website, is not how I would describe the rooms. Other adjectives, such as, decrepit, dirty and dire are far more apt . This hotel is only worth staying in if you are getting it at a cheap rate, which I, unfortunately was not. What made matters even worse, was when trying to complain about the state of the rooms the staff present at the time (including the manager) were disinterested and impolite. So this coupled with the rooms and the unsightly view of bird faeces made my stay at the Pickwick most unenjoyable. The only redeeming quality that this hotel has is its location, perfectly central for excellent shopping and a reasonable walking distance for Peer 33/cable cars etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bex6802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stood at the Pickwick for six nights in August of 2014 after finding a really good deal online for it. The location is amazing (especially for the price). It is one block from the metro and the Powell Street Cable Car station. The Convention Center is a few blocks away, there is a shopping mall right next door and it is maybe a 20 minute walk or less to the Caltrain station.

I was on the sixth floor and did not find any trouble with hot water or water pressure for my room. The noise from the street does get pretty loud but that is something that can be said for most hotels in the heart of a major city. The rooms are pretty dated and can probably use an update but they are comfortable. I found that I did not need any air conditioning or heat while I was there, which was good since the rooms do not allow for you to control the temperature. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel.

The front desk and concierge were not the greatest in the world. I wanted to find a book store before I flew back home so that I could read something on the flight. I came across a few with an online search but nothing I have ever heard of. I asked the front desk and they had no clue. One problem I did find was that the front desk was efficient in checking you in and out but really did not know much about the general area. When I booked online I also booked a special event "free breakfast" option. Unfortunately there was no record of me doing so, meaning I had to purchase breakfast every morning. Upon checkout the front desk also wanted to charge me for 3 bottles of water. I did not take any water bottles from the room and told them this. They managed to sort it out so all was well in the end.

If I had to do over again I would probably stay at the Pickwick again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

If you like to shower (as I'm sure you do) avoid this property. They're water pressure is extremely low to non-existent and the water will go of intermittently every 2 min or so.

Also, apparently all the homeless decide to camp right outside the hotel (behind it) for the night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beds: he beds are comfortable and the bathroom is small but good!

Internet: Impossible to use the internet! And its a very bad thing when you are a traveller in the big city and needs addresses, stores, infos, restaurant tips etc. So the really bad wifi and the problems with log in all the time effected in the bad way our trip.

Smells: The smell of mold is all over the hotel and stronger close to the rooms. It's that hotels that it was probable a good hotel 20 years ago.

Parking: The parking is $40 per day, which is very expensive for a hotel guest.

Bottom line: It's should cost half of the price for what they charge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

GREAT location on 5th & Mission. Close to everything: steps away from the Nordstrom Shopping Ctr, walk to Union Square, even AT&T Park (where we saw a concert). The hotel is old; we stayed on 3rd floor which is not renovated. But we had a great rate so we're not complaining. Room is small, bathroom tiny, closet tiny, too. But there was good drawer and desk space, plenty of outlets for charging electronics, small refrigerator and well functioning AC. The front desk staff and Bellman were very friendly and attentive. Parking in garage downstairs with elevator access to guest rooms was only $40/day. That's with in/out privileges, valet. Overall we were pleased and would return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,381 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,872 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,205 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £91 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing