We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great walkabout....”
Review of Mission District

Mission District
Book In Advance
More Info
US$102.00*
and up
Mission District Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing
Ranked #78 of 542 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great walkabout....”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

visit the hipster shops & get a taste of the mission district before all of the yuppies move in for a full gentrification of the area... it's happening now! lots of taco trucks, knick knack shops, ice creams, coffee, graffiti, heath ceramics, an interesting part of San Fran to explore

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank greenskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    146
    59
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better things to do in San Fran”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We met up with some friends who live near the area who took us around The Mission. I think being with locals who could explain the history helped but overall it was a pretty boring way to spend the afternoon. The best part are the murals down one of the side streets-they are beautiful. I probably won't come to this area if I was a solo female traveller-it felt a bit dodgy at times.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Don;t miss Valencia street!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Some stunning shops and cafe's on this street - just note that a lot of them are closed during the early morning (up until 11 AM) so I'd actually recommend coming here around dinner time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SupernovaSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bohemia?”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Art, Bikes, Boutiques, and Burritos, what more can you ask for? The Murals in the alley( around 23rd street?), are some of the best I've ever seen. If I move to San Fran this would be the area for me!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iMurff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“New "in" area”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The area is rapidly changing (i.e. gentrifying). I was warned by the police at the 16th and Mission BART station to avoid Mission between 16th and 17th, even in the daytime. I was actually told by the policeman that he would "guarantee" that I'd be robbed in that particular block! He advised sticking to Valencia St. from 16th to 24th. I did pop over to Mission around 18th and 19th for a meal. There are plenty of trendy shops on Valencia. A mix of fun, funky, and cheap with at least one expensive store. Plenty of restaurants and coffee houses to choose from. Lots of vintage clothing, odds and ends, and nice bookstores. The street got very crowded on this weekend afternoon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank traveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission District also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mission District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing