We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #108 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a pleasant stay in room 322. In summary:
great location.safe, very close to fisherman wharf, heaps of public tranport for only 2usd.

big and comfy bedroom. one thing to improve: have a fridge. it is true they dont have a/c but we didnt need it not even in summer. fan was enough

great to have brekky. basic but yummy. loved the danish!!

nice common area with heated swimming pool

friendly and helpful staff. check in at 4pm is not ideal. should be at 1 or 2 pm as any other hotel

overall we really liked it for the price -approx 120usd per night. We would totally recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laucarloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

this place charges 25.00 to park on their property. Complimentary ""european" breakfast containing toast muffins and some biscuits...sometimes u even had to wait 15min just to be seated as they had very few tables..... Never stated in a worse hotel, pay a bit more (use the extra parking fee)and find a better hotel. about all I can say thats good about this place is its clean and the beds were comfy. 

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As a boutique hotel I was at first curious about the amenities but they have everything a traveler could ask for including free wi-fi! I always stay in the financial district area if in San Francisco but I'll be staying here from now on. Financial district hotels have no pools (some kind of city regulation) and for all of the free amenities, Da Vinci can't be beat when you add in their location!! Also, I had the best sleep in their incredibly comfortable beds after the initial surprise at the set up of their unique rooms.

I enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast since most places seem to use cheap ingredients to feed the masses. I ended up going back for dinner :). Their restaurant is as unique for a hotel as the hotel and combined, it's a world-class experience. I never write reviews but have written 2, Da Vinci and SFO airport's Crowne Plaza. When in San Francisco, I will stay here.

Last but not least, the service!!! Thank you to every friendly and smiling face :)! One person in particular made me feel especially welcome and important as a guest. Her name was Marie and I think she's a manager there because of her level of professionalism... But thank you to all of the staff at the Da Vinci Villa!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lea R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I, along with our 15 yr old teen, stayed 4 nights in the La Familia suite. It was perfect for us! Plenty of room: my teen had her own tv and space to be "alone". My husband and I never felt cramped. Towels were bath sheets - and the tp was soft. lol The room was clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of closet space. The breakfast was complimentary. Would have liked some protein for a morning meal, but there were plenty of pastries to get us going. The front desk was always very helpful in answering questions and giving advice.
Great location! MUNI had 3 or 4 bus stops within 1 block, so no need to walk the hills. We will recommend to our friends and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janwilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for giving us a wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the da Vinci Villa. We are happy to hear that your stay was very pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you again at the da Vinci Villa.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

after being double charged, still have not seen my credit after a week. this place charges 25.00 to park on their own property, and taxes it as well..... not sure if thats even legal !!! about all I can say thats good about this place is its clean and the beds were comfy. Do not let em get away with anything !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Guest:

Please accept my sincere apologies for the credit card charge error. I have brought this matter to the staff’s attention so that other guests will not experience the same issue. Providing exceptional guest’s experience is one of our main goal, this is why we provide the staff continuous training so that guests will have a wonderful experience at our hotel. I’m sorry that it did not happen during your stay. Thank you for your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to show you that we can do better.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

After we purchased an on-line coupon for this hotel, da Vinci Villa, San Francisco, we read a lot of reviews. Some weren't great but we decided to experience it for ourselves. To put it mildly we were pleasantly surprised. The first surprise was that when we phoned to ask if we could stay 3 more nights than was on the coupon they agreed quickly AND said they would use the same discounted rate for each night - what a bonus ! We've been to San Fran before but never stayed in this area of the city. When we arrived San Fran was unusually hot and the lack of air-conditioning could have been a problem. We opened the window, shut the blinds to keep the sun out of our room and put the ceiling fan on high. One day, when we arrived back to find the room somewhat stuffy we opened the door to the hall and it was cool within a half hour. The only other issue was that we had an outside room so traffic noise was constant - if we return we'll ask for an interior room overlooking the pool - we expect it will be somewhat cooler as well as quieter. The continenetal breakfast was good - bagels, English muffins, two kinds of bread and two 4-slot toasters were provided. There was butter, cream cheese, marmalade and grape jelly. Add to that a bowl of mixed melon and some other fruit - strawberries one day, grapes one day etc. and a plate of mixed pastries and muffins along with good Seattle's Best coffee and we were happy. There is always a cooked breakfast that can be ordered also. The staff were generous with their time, smiles and with information. We found a local pub, Perry's, on Union Street - about 2 blocks down - which had friendly bartenders and a nice clientele. There are funky shops and lots of restaurants on Union Street and a few of the same on Polk Street - about 2 blocks in the other direction. The staff of the hotel provided maps, bus information, suggestions for places to eat and see. Our room cleaner was friendly, funny and always smiling. The bed was marvelous - just marvelous - what else can I say ? We were provided with light-weight pique robes and amenities in the bathroom and with thick, cotton towels..The only suggestion I might have is that there is nowhere in the bathroom to set eyeglasses or a curling iron as the sink is free-standing so there is no counter - a shelf on the wall on the left side of the sink would have been a very handy addition. We did not use the pool but saw others who were enjoying it. When we plan a return trip to San Fran we will definitely consider staying here again. For us it was walking distance to Lombard Street, the Embarcadero, Polk Street, parks and other places we wanted to revisit. We used the local buses (75 cents per ride for seniors) to get to Haight Ashbury and other more remote areas. We enjoyed ouir stay thoroughly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior courtyard so you can leave your window open overnight and not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cocodrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,175 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,279 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £108 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing