We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, old”
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #122 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Maybe it's just our bad luck. My wife and I stayed at the da Vinci Villa for three nights and had a tough time sleeping due to the noise from our neighbors. After the first night, the hotel obliged us by moving us to another, smaller room. But our new neighbors again prohibited a good night's sleep. Same with the third night. The walls are quite thin and don't provide much sound insulation. Also, the fixtures are poor: the towel rack the bathroom wouldn't stay up, the light fixture was loose on the wall, the light switches came off in your hand. And good luck trying to figure out where the creaky elevator is: the floor indicator bulbs had burned out. The hotel might have been nice once but management seems to have let things slide. On the positive side: the location is quite good. But I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit.

It is with great disappointment to learn about the challenges you experienced with your room accommodations. Please know that this is not standard and your comments will be immediately forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

Again, we extend our apologies and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We've stayed for four days in this hotel. In the entrance, seems to be a very beaultiful place. The location is awesome, a 15 min walk from the fisherman's warf.
The room is not big, the bed was a little too soft for my taste, the television was nice. But the sink in the bathroom is very tiny. Difficult to understand why so tiny, since whoever travels have at least 10 bathroom itens it need to store.
The breakfast is the lowest point. Although included in the amount payed daily, the waiter tells you you can choose one drink, OR coffe, OR water, OR juice. pretty cheap for a U$ 200 a day hotel. The pool is nice, but in the middle of the rooms that faces inside the hotel.The entrances are directly from the street, so it's a little weird to walk in without passing through the lobby.
EXPENSIVE parking, like the rest of SanFran. U$ 28 for a day.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the golden gate bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelCBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco.

It is with great disappointment to learn that your visit was not a success, and we sincerely apologize for the dissatisfactions you experienced. Your comments are valuable to us and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

Again, we extend our apologies and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel was in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of Union Square. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jeffrey who was extremely friendly and informative, answering any questions we had.

The hotel is a 10-15min walk from Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard St (the crookedest st) is a short walk away (depending on how long it takes you to walk up those steep hills!!).

We were given a great room on the main street (Van Ness Ave) which had an amazing view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was big enough for two people. The only issue we had was that there was no air conditioning.

Breakfast was included and was provided in the restaurant beside the hotel. It was pretty basic with bagels, pastries and fruit on offer.

We enjoyed our stay at Da Vinci and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa and taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations, and it will be my pleasure to share with Jeffrey that he contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again during a future visit.


With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were first our off by the look of this hotel, as it was more of a motel. However, the location in Russian hill was great. Nice restaurants on Polk Street. It is a bit of a hike to Fisherman's wharf, but an easy 10 min with little kids to Ghiradelli Square and Lombard Street. We are from NYC and used to walking, but the hills are challenging! We enjoyed the ease of public transport next to the hotel. Hotel room was clean and staff was courteous and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Find a shared van (Lorrie's recommended by the hotel)..."Where are you going?" Replying, "Da Vinci Villa!" the driver immediately nodded, "Yes, yes, the one on Van Ness, right?" Yes, that is the one and we were one our way . . . a multiple-visitor to SFO but never been at Da Vinci Villa before, out of what could be called, "mainstream" my thoughts kept searching all the familiar places along the way. We kept moving on and then the driver hit "Van Ness" and we traveled about five blocks from what in the distance looked like the bay, the wharf and all that the area offered. Hmmmm, only a ten minute walk? I wondered if my daughter would complain about how far from the crowd we were, or if my friend would complain about the distance . . . . we arrived at Da Vinci Villa and we were pleasantly surprised . . . it was not a large, imposing namebrand hotel with a driveway . . . it was however, a sleek, efficient check in area . . . modern in style but still inviting (especially the tall, glass dispencer full of , iced, fruit and cucumber-flavored water. The waiting area off to the side of check-in pergola was comfortable (but not if there was check in for more than eight people). However, when you walk the short distance to the elevator, one finds a very large room with couches and with a large enough flat-screen TV, a place that folks could set as meeting place before they set out for the day. The name escapes me now but located in the hotel is an Italian restaurant which offers a continental breakfast for the amount of days you are checked-in. A perusal of the menu offered what looks to be an offering of beautiful, flavorful meals, a little above-moderately priced (never got a chance to try the food). We arrved at breakfast time, and our party of four took advantage of the continental breakfast. We waited for what could be described as a "long wait" but it really wasn't ---- it is what's to be expected especially when everyone checked-into the hotel all woke up at the same time to grab a bite! The continetal breakfast was enough to get the day started. (There was one waiter who never smiled and seemed to be bothered that we wanted to order off the menu in addition to our Continental breakfast . . . it didn't bother me at first, because it was busy and I could forgive him; but our party happened to get him the next two mornings and his demeanor did not change --- boo hoo!)

Our room was fabulous, but my friend and brother exclaimed that more lights were needed, especially by the closet. We were given a room with a large bathroom and we did not know if all the bathrooms were all set-up for the handicapped . . . the bathroom was "huge" with my daughter exclaiming, "it's so big; bigger than my bedroom!" The beds where inviting with the down covers, the flat-screen TV providing a good respite to catch up on the 2012 Olympics and a desk area made for two was sufficient and had it's own individual lighting. The room had a heating system and we could not find an air conditioning unit but the natural, cool SFO air and slight wind, combined with the screened windows more than provided enough comfort.

Billed as a boutique hotel, it had a family atmosphere. It was comfortable with the pool right in the courtyard of this (was it four or five?)-story hotel. They even provided a work-out room. You could hear laughter of the children and teenage boys at play in the heated-pool that they enjoyed sometimes past 11:00 p.m. But we didn't mind because after a long day, out and about, with the beds inviting, we just sacked out!

Our party tried the walk to Fisherman's Wharf . . . it was not bad at all and we found many of the families that stayed at the Da Vinci Villa made the same walk. On our way back, during our five days in SFO, used the City's transportation system which stopped a half block away from the Da Vinci Villa . . . and some of those same families were on the bus, too!

All in all, the staff (i.e. Freitas and Griffin) was helpful, cheery, professional in manner and look, and friendly. The staff was equally as stylish as the hotel and the entire package: staff, facility, location, cost and amenities --- is a winning combination. However, a word about the elevator, it is "a little slow" but the stairs was only right around the corner and not a bad walk up or a run down (just ask the kids and teens)!

Room Tip: Our party arrived at 9:30 a.m. and check-in was at 3:00 p.m. Without even asking, we were offered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrnaLynDAbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay.

We are extremely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations at da Vinci Villa. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind comments from a valued guest. It will be my pleasure to share with Griffin Freitas that he contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

I am disappointed to read about the shortfalls you experienced while dining in our restaurant. We constantly strive to provide our guests with exceptional service and I sincerely apologize that we failed to impart that service to you. I am glad you have notified us so we may acknowledge your experience and use your comments to improve our service.

Again, we thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I recently stayed here during a business trip and was dismayed to find out that there was no air conditioning! Each of the rooms has heating, so they would be comfortable during the winter, but my room was 85 degrees when i checked in. Even with the door propped open and the window open for hours, it was still in the high 70s when i fell asleep. I liked the cleanliness and the style of the place, it was a nicely remodeled older property. The soaps and shampoos and such were an intoxicating blood orange smell which I absolutely loved.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit. We understand that there are many travel options when visiting San Francisco and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa. Your comments are valuable to us and will be forwarded to the appropriate department for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to da Vinci Villa in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent two night at the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful, every time we came in they greeted us and answered all questions which we had. The rooms were very clean and the linens were very nice. I am very picky about the pillow which I use. Theirs were great. The free breakfast was nice, not very special but it was nice to have it right there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjs_email
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback during your recent stay at da Vinci Villa.

We understand that there are many travel options when visiting San Francisco and we certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you during your future visits to our beautiful city.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#93 of 231 in San Francisco
1,207 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Cova Hotel
#97 of 231 in San Francisco
1,209 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £96 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing