We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #88 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Coming from Australia & trying to find a nice hotel in San Francisco in a good location keeping a budget in mind, was a challenge. This was my choice and I was worried, being our first destination in USA. Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly reception & were impressed with the cleanliness of our room. The beds were comfortable, we had a view of the bridge, the bathroom was modern and we were walking distance to Fishermans wharf. Very impressed, the only complaint was that there was no fridge in the room. It was a bit too cold for us Aussies to go near the pool but the area looked very nice.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa as your host during your recent visit to San Francisco, and taking the time to share your comments. It is such a delight to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations. It will be my pleasure to share with our staff members that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you.

As for your comment regarding not having refrigerators in the rooms, I apologize, not all our rooms are equipped with refrigerators but are available upon request.
Again, we thank extend our appreciation and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    332
    175
    92
    52
See reviews for
306
282
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very helpful staff, rooms lovely and clean though quite small though there was four of us. Comfie beds, great view to the bridge when there was no cloud or mist. Loved the pool and the very comfie loungers, would have loved there to have a restaurant for lunch, it was only available for dinner or breakfast. Hotel close enough to walk down to wharf ( downhill all the way). Lovely restaurants close to hotel
Previously stayed in argonaut on last trip, da Vinci was almost as nice though no public seating area but that is not a fault

Room Tip: Front of house staff very honest re noise of street we went for view as the noise did not bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco and taking the time to share your experience.

We are extremely pleased to learn you enjoyed your accommodations. We understand that there are many travel options when visiting San Francisco and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

A friend and I stayed at the da Vinci for four nights. The room was quite spacious and clean. The hotel is fairly well located. The staff was very helpful. It wasn't particularly cheap for what it is, but that's what you get in San Francisco, I guess. On the negative side, the breakfast room was utter chaos.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quieroperderdevistaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa as your host during your recent visit.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your accommodations. We understand that there are many travel options when visiting San Francisco and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Maybe it's just our bad luck. My wife and I stayed at the da Vinci Villa for three nights and had a tough time sleeping due to the noise from our neighbors. After the first night, the hotel obliged us by moving us to another, smaller room. But our new neighbors again prohibited a good night's sleep. Same with the third night. The walls are quite thin and don't provide much sound insulation. Also, the fixtures are poor: the towel rack the bathroom wouldn't stay up, the light fixture was loose on the wall, the light switches came off in your hand. And good luck trying to figure out where the creaky elevator is: the floor indicator bulbs had burned out. The hotel might have been nice once but management seems to have let things slide. On the positive side: the location is quite good. But I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit.

It is with great disappointment to learn about the challenges you experienced with your room accommodations. Please know that this is not standard and your comments will be immediately forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

Again, we extend our apologies and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We've stayed for four days in this hotel. In the entrance, seems to be a very beaultiful place. The location is awesome, a 15 min walk from the fisherman's warf.
The room is not big, the bed was a little too soft for my taste, the television was nice. But the sink in the bathroom is very tiny. Difficult to understand why so tiny, since whoever travels have at least 10 bathroom itens it need to store.
The breakfast is the lowest point. Although included in the amount payed daily, the waiter tells you you can choose one drink, OR coffe, OR water, OR juice. pretty cheap for a U$ 200 a day hotel. The pool is nice, but in the middle of the rooms that faces inside the hotel.The entrances are directly from the street, so it's a little weird to walk in without passing through the lobby.
EXPENSIVE parking, like the rest of SanFran. U$ 28 for a day.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the golden gate bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelCBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa during your recent visit to San Francisco.

It is with great disappointment to learn that your visit was not a success, and we sincerely apologize for the dissatisfactions you experienced. Your comments are valuable to us and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

Again, we extend our apologies and we sincerely hope that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel was in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of Union Square. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jeffrey who was extremely friendly and informative, answering any questions we had.

The hotel is a 10-15min walk from Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard St (the crookedest st) is a short walk away (depending on how long it takes you to walk up those steep hills!!).

We were given a great room on the main street (Van Ness Ave) which had an amazing view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was big enough for two people. The only issue we had was that there was no air conditioning.

Breakfast was included and was provided in the restaurant beside the hotel. It was pretty basic with bagels, pastries and fruit on offer.

We enjoyed our stay at Da Vinci and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing da Vinci Villa and taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations, and it will be my pleasure to share with Jeffrey that he contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again during a future visit.


With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were first our off by the look of this hotel, as it was more of a motel. However, the location in Russian hill was great. Nice restaurants on Polk Street. It is a bit of a hike to Fisherman's wharf, but an easy 10 min with little kids to Ghiradelli Square and Lombard Street. We are from NYC and used to walking, but the hills are challenging! We enjoyed the ease of public transport next to the hotel. Hotel room was clean and staff was courteous and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Property: da Vinci Villa
Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing