We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The accommodating staff saved my trip.”
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #113 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location to the Wharf and the square was key for our experience. All of the staff proved that they were there to help us with any need we had. I would not only recommend this place, I WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Randi M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor!

We would also like to thank you for this great five star rating and we do hope that next time you visit San Francisco, it will be once again the da Vinci Villa Hotel. Don´t let us wait too long.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for four nights. Plus points: walking distance to all main attractions and good bus links, basic breakfast included and the staff are very helpful and friendly Negative points: the hotel requires major renovations especially in the lifts and corridors connecting the rooms. For the price we paid we were dissapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashuwholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Prashuwholunches,

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind words about our staff.

Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectation and know that I will be reviewing your experience with the appropriate manager to ensure they are aware of these shortcomings. And also I want to let you know we are doing some updates/renovations in the hotel to be up to date. We ask for your understanding that the updates/renovations can only be performed successively.

Kindly contact me directly to book your next stay and I will personally supervise your booking arrangements and ensure extra special attention is given to you.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

great place, great location. family or business. easy walk to water and attractions. close to food and drink. friendly and accommodating staff. would definitely go again. planning on bringing family next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Chuck B,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.We are also happy that you appreciate the food offers around hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again with your family during your next stay in San Francisco and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for a weekend get-a-away and found the location to be great for us to walk to everything we wanted to see, there are restaurants within a few blocks that we really enjoyed.
It was an easy train and bus ride to get to the hotel.
The room was clean, comfortable, they supplied a fridge upon our request and we had a nice big private patio area. The breakfast was great for fueling up for an active day of sight seeing. The pool and workout room were very nice.
The elevator is slow, so we found it much easier to just take the stairs.
The staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions.

Room Tip: Room 404 has the large outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Daniel W,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at the da Vinci Villa Hotel and for your kind feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the da Vinci Villa Hotel and will gladly share your positive feedback about our breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our staff.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon and are looking forward to your next visit in San Francisco.

Best regards
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was clean, nice and in SF.
But it stops there.
The rooms are laid out in a maze, its hard to find the various rooms, stairs and elevators are not placed at any sensible level.
And then its the naighbourhood. Its a bit off. Not to may restaurants or bars sourounding the hotel. You have to travel some blocks to get to any sensible food/drink action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing off the main street and off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Einar Alfred Ve... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Einaravh,

Thank you for taking the time to review da Vinci Villa Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. However, there are many restaurants and bars in walking distance around our hotel. Some of our guests also mentioned that "We have a great location which is close to Tourist Attractions, restaurants and bars."

If you ever come back to San Francisco, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please call me at 415 529 2612 or email me mkobak@davincivilla.com.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is evident that the da Vinci Villa Hotel in San Francisco has invested in renovations and while it is a comfortable hotel some of its age is revealed through frayed seams in the hallway carpet and elevators that are slower and creakier than one would find in a Soviet era apartment elevator in Russia. The rooms are clean and comfortable however the blinds of the sliding windows allow the morning sunlight to invade the room.

They offer a heated pool that for my taste was a little bit too heated, not particularly refreshing, as I like after spending the day walking around the city. The pool area is very nice with comfortable new deck furniture.

During our five days, the advertised vending machine was out of service and a second ice machine was not made known to us until we called to inform them that the first ice machine was not working. One of the antiquated elevators was out of service for about 24 hours.

They offer a complimentary continental breakfast, which is nice in a room that will soon become a full service restaurant.

The da Vinci Villa is one of a few hotels that are mixed in among a residential area. From the hotel it is an easy ten or 12 minute walk to Fisherman’s Warf but other than that it is not within walking distance of any restaurants or shopping areas save a corner convenience mart. Public transportation is available and adequate to get anywhere in the city.

The staff was very kind and somewhat helpful although it seemed at times as if the right hand wasn’t sure what the left hand was doing. We were told of the aforementioned ice machine on the third floor but not about the one of the fifth floor and the signage is vague. We were informed that one city tour bus was a better value than another only to find that the first tour company had raised their rates unbeknownst to the counter employee.

I may not sound like I am very high on the da Vinci Villa but I really did enjoy our stay. I believe that they are still reestablishing themselves and I expect improvement to be forthcoming. The difficulty for me was that it seemed as though they presented themselves as having a higher level of product and service than they did and they were priced accordingly. San Francisco is an expensive city, I get that but I am confident that better accommodation values can easily be found.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at da Vinci Villa Hotel. I am most grateful to you for taking the time to outline the shortcomings in your experience, as it is by means of such constructive feedback that we are able to improve the standards of service we offer our guests here at da Vinci Villa Hotel. I did want to let you know we are still investing on our hotel to make da Vinci Villa Home-Away-From-Home for our guests.

Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectation and know that I will be reviewing your experience with the appropriate staff members to ensure they are aware of these shortcomings.

I hope your recent experience will not deter you from considering da Vinci Villa Hotel on a return visit to San Francisco and I would be most grateful for any opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Please contact me directly to book your next stay and I will personally supervise your booking arrangements and ensure extra special attention is given to you.

Warm regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is an older hotel, showing a bit of wear but clean and well looked after. Beds are comfortable, free breakfast is a bonus...BUT get a room away from the road. the hotel is on an intersection and even though our room is on the side road the noise funnels up and it is loud!!! Trucks seem to go all night but traffics starts about 5am, lots of revving, horns and braking, I wouldn't come back myself but aI do live in a very quiet area. If you are coming ask for a room at the back of the hotel off the road.
good location. Bus stops right outside, Polk St restaurants only a 5minute walk way, as is the cable car, you can comfortably walk to the harbour as well.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, off the road would be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neetis-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasar C, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Neetis-nz,

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Your observations will be shared with our management team to ensure we improve the experience of all our guests. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to show you true da Vinci Villa Hotel.

Warm regards,
Murat Kobak
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £73 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing