We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what you get, but overall a good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #64 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Would've liked a microwave in room and a free breakfast for $600 a night, but the two queen room was good size, beds comfortable, and a manager gave my son a beach ball to play with in the pool which was thoughtful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELOVEOAHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely regret that you didn’t find the rate to be a good value. We do work diligently to offer rates that are competitive with other hotels in our area of San Francisco. We do offer the Stay for Breakfast package that does include breakfast for two adults and two children under age 12 and is based on availability.

I was pleased to learn that you liked the room size and found the beds to be comfortable. After all, a good night's sleep is the primary goal for our guests. Also, so very glad your son enjoyed the beach ball! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Entire hotel staff was helpful and very courteous. Rooms are basic Marriott and are very well kept. Our room was near the elevator and ice machine which at first was a concern but turned out not to be a problem at all. Short 3 block walk to Market Street where all major transportation is.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I go to San Francisco frequently. Generally we stay at the Marriott Marquis. However, we decided to try something different this time. Although, my expectations were not high, I was pleasantly surprised. This is still a very convenient location. Plus, the staff was friendly. The best part was the size of the room. Compared to the Marquis, or every other hotel in a large city, this room was gigantic! Plus everything was updated and fresh feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in a one bed suite with my family.
Location : good location in downtown 15 min from union station
Property condition :very good
Furniture and room condition : very good
Sofabed: available in the suite but not comfortable
Laundry: public laundry room is available
Parking: available for over $50 a night
Size of the suit if very good withe separated bedroom and living room.
Starbucks is in the loby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dubaitourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Loved the location, the bar, the outside fire pit, the friendliness of the staff. On checking in we encountered two significant problems that could have spoilt the end of our holiday. However the check in people (Susan in particular) and Marriott customer service worked hard to find solutions. Thirty minutes later we were in a very nice room with a positive experience of how this hotel deals with inevitable service issues. Only the small gym and pool stop me giving a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Not much to say here that hasn't already been said. This is a top-notch property, located minutes from the Montgomery Street BART/Muni station, but far away where noise isn't an issue.

Service was very friendly, and the room was impeccable. Free wifi was excellent, but in true Courtyard style, there was a $9.95 charge for "enhanced" internet (basically, anything beyond email or light surfing).

There is indeed a Starbucks in the libby, and there are a number of restaurants nearby within two or three blocks.

This property is a winner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank texasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the Courtyard for crying out loud, why do I have to pay a five star price for a three star hotel? The rooms are dated, the furniture is crappy, the sink drains slowly.

I have discovered that depending on which room you get, you of course get different amenities. Some rooms have an outlet on the bedside table with USB ports to charge your electronic devices such as a tablet or phone, other rooms do not.

On the other hand the staff is quite friendly and they are very accommodating. The bar is decent and their is an outdoor area with a fire pit. It is close to the ball park and an easy walk to BART, Union square or the embarcadero. I would give this more than a three rating if the prices were more reasonable but I am not impressed with what you get for the price. It is inconceivable to me that I should pay $500.00 for a hotel that I do not think is worth more than $250 per night, and that is being generous, at the same time this is San Francisco, the land of the overpriced hotel.

I

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, and a high floor. There is a large apartment building that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. I am sorry to hear you found the value for the price you paid to be lacking and that the room amenities did not meet your expectations. Marriott has the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. Please be assured I have shared your comments regarding the dated condition of our guest rooms with Marriott leadership. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. Debbie Bonafede, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,627 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
2,189 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#63 of 230 in San Francisco
3,657 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 230 in San Francisco
736 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Address: 299 2nd St, San Francisco, CA 94105-3123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £120 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Francisco Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Courtyard
San Francisco Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing