We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is the star here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Sorry, but first a few negatives that need to be mentioned but have no effect on the ranking...

The lounge downstairs was really disappointing. We ordered 2 $16 drinks expecting something impressive, but received your basic small glasses comparative to a simple rye and coke....very average at best. The calamari was gross, which came with shrimp sauce which I'm guessing came out of a can. The room was extremely cold and loud! We didn't visit it again.
My wife wished there was a hot tub, but we understood these old hotels downtown were classical in build.
The location is average. There are a few sandwich places near by including a subway.

The reason the hotel was given 5 stars and ranked 4th overall in the city is its service. The door men were awesome! They never missed a step, always wishing you a good day. The check in was extremely fast, and the bill on the door checking out was accurate. Asking for a later check out was no issue as well.
Signing up for a membership is a must!! (Free). When you arrive, you get 2 complimentary waters, ice filled every night turn down service, a morning paper, and a personally delivered drink of your choice left outside your door every morning...very impressive. The rooms were well appointed and always clean.
Ps.... If you have a rental car or personal car over the weekend, do not pay for valet! Parking is free on the streets with lots to choose from.

Room Tip: Room 1218 was a nice room near the corner...average view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,293 - 3,299 of 5,426 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is excellent. The rooms are a little small compared to others at this price range, however the staff in total were excellent and very accommodating. There were several days I had to do early work before the conference and all worked flawlessly. The restroom area was great - the sink/counter a little small with all of the amenities located there. Great shower water pressure - a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Omni is rather unassuming from the outside, but inside it is quite grant and impressive. The staff was all extremely helpful, friendly, and personable. The room was clean, spacious, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on. The location is not the greatest for tourists, as you have a bit of a walk or a ride to get to the sites but it was worth it for us and we were already there for a conference. The meeting space and event service staff were great as well. Top Notch Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

San Francisco was the first stop for my daughter and myself on our month long stay in the USA, and our stay at the Omni was excellent, the hotel is beautiful and the staff without exception were helpful and very courteous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting San Francisco. However, remember when visiting you will have to climb "hills"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband & 12 yr. old son ventured to San Fran for our 1st time. I booked this hotel based on TA reviews and must say the hotel lived up the top notch rated service and ambiance. The front desk truly did everything to give us tips on where to go, how to get there and what to avoid. I booked the hotel via their website approx. 6 months prior to our stay and decided to take advantage of their 3 night special - got a great deal $206/night. The view really didn't bother us [a nearby building] as we were out all day. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrstn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel the front door staff was amazing, Michael at the front desk was so friendly, helpful and asked us if we were celebrating anything. We told him yes, anniversary and my birthday. After checking in, we walked into the most spacious room I have ever stayed in in SF (as the rooms in SF are small) on the top floor with a nice view of the city. The amazing person that made my reservation told me about the loyalty club which I signed up for. I travel quite a bit as a motivational speaker so having free wi-fi is nice! A few hours later we were met with a knock on the door with a delivery of complimentary champagne, strawberry fondue and a hand written note from Debra Tjandra (loyalty ambassador) wishing us a happy anniversary and me a happy birthday and that she hoped I would enjoy the upgraded accommodations. Needless to say, at this point I was touched and speechless. What an experience. My Omni experience was Four Seasons amazing without the Four Seasons price tag. I will now search out Omni properties in my future travel destinations. You guys rock!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors facing the SF Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Extraordinary resort, in the middle of San Francisco. Easy walk to everything; Union Square, Moscone Center, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf. Incredible staff and services; friendly, timely delivery of requested services. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank RSoto259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,423 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,345 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California st, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £154 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing