We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Omni and enjoyed the experience immensely. The hotel's location with the tram line in front and all other city sites a mere walking distance away couldn't have been better. Service staff were very friendly and our room size was more than adequate. We used the hotel car service to get to the airport and felt it is much preferred over using a city taxi. Only downside was poor reception on the room tv and low water pressure in the shower. We would have no problem returning to stay at this hotel and in fact I don't think we would consider going to any other. BTW the room internet is free and fast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBroc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,548
    996
    185
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,185
1,936
197
888
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was wonderful to have the Omni to return to at the end of our sight-seeing adventures.
Several things made it especially nice, the doorman, Darryl was enthusiastic and helpful and always took the time to say a few words to our daughter. The room was comfortable and quiet, which after our first night @ another hotel was a welcome change from the LOUD construction & street noise and smaller/cramped quarters. Our daughter was treated to cookies & milk daily and a "welcome" backpak upon arrival. It was EASY for us to access all means of transportation to all the fabulous activities (especially "hoofing" it). In summary, this met all our needs: comfortable, quiet, roomy, good location and EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LColleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. I liked having clementines when I arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The shower was nice and the bathrobe was cozy. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Gym was fine. Good equipment and free apples.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank julieg467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

After spending hours researching San Francisco hotels, we decided on the Omni because of previous stays at this hotel chain in other cities and its number 2 ranking on Tripadvisor. Even after reading all of the positive reviews, this hotel still managed to exceed our expectations.

After landing at SFO, we took the BART to Montgomery station and then it was a very short walk to the hotel.

We did the express check in the night before so our room was ready when we got there. Our welcome to the Omni could not have been better, from the greeting from the doormen to the reception desk and even in our room. We were greeted to a tray of champagne, strawberries and toppings, a lovely letter from Debora and even a note from housekeeping. After a long day of travelling, robes and slippers were waiting for us on the bed.

We were travelling with our one year old so we wanted the extra space of a suite so he could have his own area to sleep in. The suite was huge and there was a hallway that connected the living room to the bedroom. The suites are in the corner of the hotel so there are a lot of windows on two sides of the room. The bathroom was luxurious with a huge shower and multiple shower heads. This room was a wonderful place to come and relax after a day out sightseeing.

Speaking of sightseeing, the location of the hotel is fantastic! We had a stroller with us and the cable cars were always busy so we walked everywhere. It was really nice to go to the waterfront or union square and then return to the financial district. So much more peaceful.

We had breakfast at Bob’s twice, but do wish we had wandered around a little more and gone somewhere else the second time. Breakfast the first day was great and then the second day when it was busier, not nearly as good.

If you are there on a weekend, I would definitely recommend going to the farmers’ market at the Ferry Building on Saturday morning. A great atmosphere and so much fun!

It is the small details that really make this hotel stand out. Aside from the super friendly staff who always made you feel like their only guest, we were treated to cookies and milk each night for our little one, and there was always fruit water and apples in the lobby. We departed on Easter Sunday and the elevator and the lobby were covered in eggs – what fun for the kids to wake up to a visit from the Easter bunny!

If you are looking for a hotel in San Francisco, look no further!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seetheworld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

a hotel with a great location, the staff were very friendly, but the bed was not made properly, and the room can be kept better, especially the bed making. I did not feel the house keeping was doing a particularly great job. The laundry bag was not even replaced… which was quite disappointing for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 489cathyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Omni San Francisco has the most polite and helpful hotel staff I've encountered in quite some time. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the doormen to the housekeeping staff...I was greeted daily with a genuine smile and a warm greeting. The rooms are clean and well appointed, and the hotel bar is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much. The housekeeping staff was great, especially the young lady who specifically took care of my room. The front door men were all exceptional, offering help, directions, even an umbrella, every time I left the hotel! The bed was very comfortable and I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing