We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in the heart of San Francisco and convenient to everything. We arrived before noon and our room was ready . That was especially nice so we could get rid of our luggage and begin our sightseeing. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,896
    1,074
    193
    59
    22
See reviews for
1,321
2,110
206
974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had booked a signature room and I had enrolled in the Select guest program so we were looking forward to 6 great nights at The Omni based on Trip Advisor reviews. I had received an email 5 days previously confirming all of my details and rates and advising that we had been upgraded to a suite which was very exciting.

We arrived in a taxi at 5pm on a Saturday. No one was at the door to greet us so we pulled our cases to reception to check in. Check in was straightforward until the clerk noted that we had been upgraded and pointed out that the upgrade was at an additional cost of $600. I pointed out that I had received an email detailing the upgrade and quoting the original agreed price. The clerk merely pointed out that the upgrade was at a cost of $600 but that I could decline if I wished. We declined but both of us felt that the hotel had started our holiday in a very poor way with what appeared to be something close to a scam.

Our room was spotlessly clean and very roomy. All of the furnishings were high quality and we felt very comfortable. housekeeping looked after us fantastically well. Staff around the hotel were very friendly except for the reception staff who seemed a little aloof.

Joining the Select program entitles you to free coffee delivered to you room in a morning and free wifi. It costs nothing to join.

We had a great stay in San Fran. The Omni is right in the centre of things and made getting around very easy. We definitely weren't impressed with the upgrade trick which left us feeling downbeat right from the off at the hotel. Would we stay again? We're back in SF in 12 months and in between times I'll keep an eye on Trip Advisor and decide!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you're going to judge a hotel by the happiness of its staff, the Omni rocks. From the moment we pulled up to the curb, through the check in experience, to room service, housekeeping, engineering and more, the staff were friendly and smiling.

The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The beds provide some of the best sleep ever. Room service was quick and delicious.

The location can't be beat, right in the heart of the financial district. Union Square, Market Street, North Beach, the Embarcadero and more are all within a few blocks.

We look forward to our next visit to the Omni in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Superb hotel and service. This is our second stay here, would not go anywhere else. Highly recommend. The fruit water. Rooms are super clean and luxiourious. The employees are all kind and courteous. Service is quick. You are made to feel special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stay at the Omni 1-2 times a year and always feel so welcome. The staff is very friendly and they really focus on good service and making us feel welcome and appreciated. This time we were in town for our 20th anniversary and they upgraded us to a nice suit and gave us champagne and strawberries and chocolate. I also like the free wireless and the free coffee delivered every AM.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the oOmni at the beginning of May for a 5 night stay. Arrived after a long flight from the UK and from the moment we arrived with a lovely greeting from the doorman and the reception staff with were equally as friendly and very helpful giving as a map of the city and discount cards for certain stores.

Our room was facing California street on the 4th floor and was massive. The bathroom was also fantastic, super clean and overall the room was more than I expected. The bed was absolutely enormous and so comfortable.

Each morning we were greeted by the chambermaid staff who were very very friendly and did a fantastic job tidying the room. Sometimes we would come back in the afternoon and the room was immaculate

Anybody who was considering a trip to San Francisco i would urge you to try and make sure that you stay at the Omni, its location is fantastic, walking distance from all the key points within the city also on one of the main cable car line.
You could not ask for more. I am looking forward to my next visit to San Francisco and i most certainly will be looking at staying at the Omni again



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Djbp666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here with four young children and had two adjoining rooms. Both rooms were very clean, everything worked and each evening they brought cookies and milk to the rooms for the kids (ok, maybe I ate one too). The staff are very friendly, upbeat and will attend to your every need. Room service was very good, food was hot and came up very quickly. The other major advantage is that this hotel is walking distance to many of the major attractions, an easy drive to the ariport and to the Golden Gate Bridge if you're heading North.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,944 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing