We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel only a few minutes walk from Chinatown and with cable car stops outside. Staff are helpful and the rooms are comfortable. We had a great deal on the hotel for a late booking on hotels.com. Having stayed in other parts of the city I would say this area is quieter, but not too far from sights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisonew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,548
    996
    185
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,185
1,936
197
888
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is extremely pricey for the amount of amenities. They charge for everything, Wifi, parking, etc. You are afraid to touch anything in your room for fear you may be charged. You have to get a key for the refrigerator from the front desk, something they did not tell me upon check-in. Carpet is dated. We were on 13th floor and still heard street noise. Cannot imagine what lower floors are like for sound. Very pricey hotel but not worth it. They do not have any kind of view, only of other buildings. So you can pay the same price and get a view if you stay closer to the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank JediPrincess26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Certainly there are no shortage of business hotels in San Francisco. I had a budget and a location to incorporate into my decision. I chose this spot as I was arriving late and wanted to be near my meeting in the morning. It was also a few short blocks from the BART Montgomery St. station which I took back and forth to SFO. Comfy room, dignified surroundings, the Omni SF lived up to its brand promise. One last thing; the best attribute of all (among the many) was the shower. The height of the shower head, the water pressure, and the availability of real hot water were great. Definitely a recommended spot. Next time I will take advantage of the fitness center too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Omni for 3 nights in June with our 3 small kids. We weren't expecting it, I suppose because our rate was low, but we got Ritz Carlton service, attention and luxury. The bellman spoiled our kids with toys and candy. We recieved cookies and milk in our room every night. The room was very quiet (and we were right off the elevators), clean and nicely appointed. We asked the concierge for information on fishing and he made several phone calls to get the information to us. We asked for a portable fan in our room and it was there promptly. We will definitely stay here for every trip to San Fran.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Suz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have to tell you this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. My son and I traveled from New York to San Francisco I was a little nervous. Everyone at the hotel is pleasant and friendly they can not do enough for you.
The rooms are beautiful and clean. We had read other reviews saying the hotel was a little noisy we had no problem at all.
Mark the concierge that helped us was absolutely wonderful. We spoke on the phone before we arrived and he helped us arrange tours. He is so knowledgeable .
He recommended restaurants for us and each one was exactly what we expected plus some.
Omni should be proud to have him work for them . He is a asset to the hotel. He remembers your name and greets you when he sees you. He is just phenomenal
I can not forget Sarah and also Danny the bartender.
San Francisco is a great city. The only regret I have is we should of stayed longer!
If this is typical of a Omni hotel this is where i will try and stay.

Thank you again Mark. You are the best

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winifred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lower swanwick
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a lovely stay here nothing to much trouble for all the staff ,Very nice welcome and friendly from valet parkers and bell boy , The receiption is lovely and has a wow factor as you walk in .The rooms are lovely ,The hotel is in a great location for site seeing ,Mark the conciege was very helpfull and managed to get us algatraz tickets when all had sold out as a very busy weekend google were in town ,I visited the gym and i have never been passed a white towel while on a tread mill by a maid thankyou omni brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Following a trip from LA up the California coast, we ended our stay in San Francisco. How lovely to arrive at the Omni after a long road trip. Once the person on the desk managed to find our reservation (eventually), we were checked in. The room itself was really comfortable and spacious and contained everything we needed. Although our request for a room at the back of the hotel was not met, we actually found our room really quiet and very much enjoyed our stay here. A short walk takes you to China Town and we had easy access to trams, piers etc. The hotel's restaurant, which we used for breakfast was beautiful and everything was lovely though the service was a little haphazard although very pleasant. We travelled from San Francisco directly home and this hotel provides a car service which was great for our airport journey and only slightly more expensive than a taxi. With all that San Francisco has to offer, we didn't eat dinner in the hotel and didn't use any facilities outside the restaurant for breakfast. I'd recommend it as a well placed hotel with quiet rooms and a fairly decent standard of food (breakfast). Even if we didn't find the service to be efficient, it was pleasant and we were on holiday so speed etc didn't matter that much. If I had been staying here for business reasons, I may have found this quite frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthSideSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing