We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Solid Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with a family of four. We stayed on the top floor in a room with two double beds. I have to tell that the arrangement was pretty tight - the room did not have a lot of spare square feet for four persons, and the beds were a bit too narrow for comfort. Also, at least the top floor had only small windows lining the top of the wall. if you wanted to take a peek outside you had to climb on a chair! The bathroom was small but functional, except for the broken door handle that we kept forgetting to ask maintenance to fix.

The service was really friendly. Our kids got cookies and milk delivered to our room unprompted every night, and the doormen were super friendly. The valet parking takes a long time, and once the front desk forgot to get our car so we stood there waiting for like 30 minutes.

We ordered breakfast to our room the first morning, but the bill came up to like $85 so we decided to eat breakfast outside the hotel after that. Also, there was no table or enough chairs for four in the room so the arrangement was not optimal for dining in.

We tried the downstairs restaurant, Bob's, one night when we were too desperately hungry to try to find a kid-friendly eatery in the financial district (which is really really hard by the way). The food was OK and for a steak house they are good with kids.

You get free wifi if you sign up for Omni hotels loyalty program, which you can do as you sign in.

The hotel is overall well-kept and I would recommend it, but not necessarily for family travel given the size of the rooms and the location.

Room Tip: Don't take top floor (17) it has small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,770
    1,039
    188
    56
    21
See reviews for
1,251
2,048
201
956
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I took a nice weekend trip to the city and had a wonderful, comfortable stay at the Omni. It was our first time staying at an Omni and we will definitely be back!The staff was excellent and very prompt in meeting our needs. The room was beautiful and the beds are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are staying here with 2 kids during a 4 day stay. The staff and facilities were great for the beginning. The location is very central close to Union Square, China town and in the financial district. Although it is not in either. Over all, it is an excellent hotel and location

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We liked the look of this hotel on the web site and were very impressed when we arrived. I wasn't sure about the location when I booked it but it turned out to be a great location. San Francisco is easy to find your way around.
The hotel is pricey but we thought worth it. We wouldn't have wanted to stop on the Fisherman's Wharf area as it is too touristy.
It is very near a great restaurant called Tadich Grill and some other good restaurants on Belden Lane, the old fashioned tram passes the door and you can walk to the Wharf area.
I thought they were tight charging for in room wifi - the only hotel during our trip which charged - although they gave this for free after problems with the TV in the kids room. Wifi is free in the lobby area only.
Parking was also a bit expensive, but when you take into account that you are in a new city and the convenience of them taking care of the car, I would recommend letting them deal with the parking. You also have unlimited ins and outs with the parking and they were very helpful when our daughter left her iPhone in the car, arranging for it to be retrieved for us (its the small things!).
We would definitely go back here and try other hotels in this group.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNewton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel & it's right on the California cable line too! We upgraded to a California suite & it was much roomier than a standard room. Overall Service was excellent. Front desk was very helpful. They gave great restaurant recommendations too. Valet & Doorman were very friendly & helpful too. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Br0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hillu, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were very surprised and very happy to be able to check in very early. We had an 8:00 am meeting and asked to leave our bags at the hotel and they let us check in. That really impressed us and made things much easier. After our class, we were able to come straight back and get ready for dinner without having to go through the whole check-in experience. We were thrilled and told everyone at the conference/meeting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a 5 day road trip full of motels and little hole in the wall lodges. We decided to treat ourselves for one night in San Francisco. From bring greeted with a glass of champagne to the lovely furnishings in our room. All first class. After strolling the city we ended up back at the hotel for dinner. Absolutely delicious!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing