We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, historic hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend in January. The lobby & exterior were beautiful and the staff was super helpful.

The hotel is very conveniently located on the edge of the financial district and about 2 blocks from Chinatown. We walked to the Ferry Building and many other tourist destinations. Also, the hotel gives a free guided walking tour on Saturday mornings.

When we checked in the desk staff offered us maps and some recommendations for what to do in the neighborhood. They were also very helpful and pleasant when I had questions and when I reported that the cordless phone in our room wasn't working. Also there are doormen!

The room (king bed) was nice, not as super-new as the Marriotts we often stay in (because of a corporate travel deal) but very nice, especially the large bathroom with marble sink. The one down side was there was no view from our 4th-floor room, which opened onto some sort of oubliette/internal ventilation shaft between the hotel and the office building on the rest of the block. Also the room was kind of stuffy but we opened the window (it only opens a few inches) and turned off the heating/cooling system (individual thermostat in the room) and that was perfect.

The hotel is part of Historic Hotels of America, and they offer discounts for members, but we got a special weekend rate from Omni that was less. Reasonable price for downtown SF.

There's a fee for wireless internet service, but it's waived if you join the Omni rewards program (which you can do at any time, even after checking in).

Valet parking is only $26 on weekends, which was a nice surprise since I'd heard it was $48 - which is true during the week. We stayed over Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erink_pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,349 - 4,355 of 5,361 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

Having arrived in San Francisco tired and ill after an international business trip for a few days stopover, I really appreciated the genuinely friendly service and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We chose to stay at the Omni because of the reviews we read in Trip Advisor. And I am so glad we did it! A perfect choice! The hotel is very nice and charming, the location is very good but most of all I have never stayed in a Hotel with such a friendly staff. From the doormen, the concierge, reception, every single employee is kind and always ready to help you with good tips and a friendly smile in their faces.
The rooms are not that big, but are nicely decorated and very clean. They are a bit noisy though, internal noise from the corridors and also external from the street.
The hotel is walking distance to Market Street and Union Square and the nice shops around. I definetly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed here over Christmas while on my honeymoon, I had mentioned the occasion on the booking form and there was a note delivered from the accommodation manger wishing us a lovely stay and some complementary strawberries following our arrival. The room was fairly large and comfortable.

The hotel is well located close to most attractions and the California street cable car runs along outside the door.

The only negative is the cost of Valet parking is quite high $48 plus taxes per night ut otherwise it's an excellent hotel.

Don't forget to sign up to the Select guest program. It's free and provides complementary Wifi and a Coffee/Juice each morning of your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed at the Omni in SF back in May when we visited the Bay Area. It was an excellent hotel and we were surprised by the great value.

It is also in a nice location. Not a whole lot happening at night, but walking distance to many nice restaurants and tourist spots.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnahzmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

great hotel, very friendly staff!! Outstanding location. We walked to Union Square, Little Italy, ChinaTown, short walk for F route (bus) to fisherman's wharf. Be sure to sign for "select guest" is free and it provide free wifi, hot choc and/r coffee or juice in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tito4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed in the Omni San Francisco for 9 nights over the Christmas-New Year’s holiday. This is a lovely hotel. As so many of the other reviewers have mentioned, all of the people who work at this hotel (from the doormen to the housekeepers to the front desk people) are as helpful and accommodating as can be. Even though this is a big hotel, it has a small, elegant hotel feeling about it. The rooms are very nice, impeccably clean, large (and we had a standard size room), and the showers are great. In the lobby on each day of our stay, there was delicious hot apple cider and yummy Christmas cookies. I agonized over the decision as to which area to stay in. A lot of the locals suggested that the hotels right around Union Square were better for a tourist. Well, I am so happy that I did not follow that advice. First of all, I didn’t find Union Square to be all that exciting. Sure, there are a lot of dept. stores and bright lights, but I was not really interested in shopping opportunities. I found the location of the Omni to be great – 2 blocks from Chinatown and close to the Ferry Building (with all sorts of great food gathering opportunities-Blue Bottle coffee and waffles, Frog Hollow pastries, Cowgirl Creamery’s cheese, Acme bread) and the Embarcadero (which we enjoyed strolling along). Also, out of curiosity, I walked into some of the recommended hotels in Union Square and didn’t find them nearly as inviting as the Omni. There are a number of restaurants close to the Omni, although we tended not to eat in the immediate area (and some of the breakfast/lunch places are closed on non-business days). Also, there are tons of other restaurants within easy walking/public transportation access. I have no doubt that we will be staying at the Omni for our next trip to San Francisco. (Free Internet and morning beverages with Omni Select Guest membership; membership is free)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RCFChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,317 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,986 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Address: 500 California st, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £169 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing