We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good find in an interesting location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SW Hotel
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good find in an interesting location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were looking for a decently-priced, well-reviewed hotel on Tripadvisor and this is how we found SW Hotel. The hotel is nice, comfy, ticks the boxes for a mid-range budget. It's in an interesting spot – in Chinatown and, around the corner, is the City of Lights bookstore. There's also a cool lighting installation of "flying books" near the intersection, too. We didn't really realise it was close to all these adult clubs, but we just took that to be "colourful" - it didn't feel dangerous. It's also really close to Coi, a great, highly acclaimed restaurant. So, we were pretty happy with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    182
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
157
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location would have been great -- in Chinatown not far from North Beach, the wharf, and the financial district, but street noise is a problem unless you want to do karaoke with the bar across the street until 1am. Also, we didn't mind the x-rated places a block away but some people might. The room was basic & clean, the breakfast not so great. They have no pool but I ca't uncheck this.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbjrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here three nights during August 2013. The location of hotel is excellent, just a few minutes of walking to all important public transportation stations. Room was big and clean, bed was super comfortable and bathroom was nice and clean. Room had a little bit "old smell", but it was not too bad. Staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Small and cozy rooms but were a bit old.

Location was excellent, next to Chinatown and within walking distance to union square and fishermen's wharf

SF was a great city with amazing people

Overall great hotel for its value

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great location! Sandwiched between China Town and Little Italy. We ate at a great Italian Restaurant, Pinnochio at 401 Columbus Ave. just up the street. Staff was very friendly and on site parking was great. Skip the breakfast: it is just bad coffee and bread. Room was nice, bed was comfortable, but the walls are thin. I was there 5 nights and on two early mornings the guest next door was on a conference call at 5AM and woke me up. Ask to be in a room away from the street, away from the elevators, and hope your neighbor sleeps late. I attended Dream Force and it was only a 15 minute walk and at a great rate when Holiday Inn wanted $500 a night.

Room Tip: Away from the street and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at the SW over a weekend, and won't hesitate to stay here again. The location is great, at the intersection of Chinatown and North Beach, with tons of great restaurants and coffee shops around. Even the longer walks, to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ferry Building, are no long at all. The hotel itself is clean and recently renovated. The room was not large by contemporary American hotel standards, but we just wanted a nice, clean, quite room to sleep in, and that's what we got. There is a continental breakfast (no restaurant or bar), but with all of the great coffee shops and bakeries nearby, we never tried it.

Room Tip: We had an interior room, which was very quiet. No street noise (of course, no view, either).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeekProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here with my husband for four nights in November. We had booked this hotel because it was quite a bit cheaper than other hotels with similar reviews and locations and we weren't disappointed. The location was perfect, right on the edge of Chinatown, north beach and little italy and consequently very short walk to bars and restaurants, as well as being walking distance to fisherman's wharf and union square.
The room were basic but fully functional, I didn't find it or the bathroom overly small. The towels weren't huge but they were good and there was plenty of them. The breakfast was again basic but fine and what do you expect for nothing!? We ate every morning.
The staff were friendly without being overbearing. When we checked in the lady in reception apologized that the (free) WiFi might be slow because they were busy, but we didn't have any issues with it at all.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if you're traveling on a budget. My only gripes are that it would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room, the bed was a little hard, real plates, cups and cutlery would have been nicer with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maz_n_gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#115 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#141 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing