We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of Chinatown and North Beach (Little Italy)”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #126 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Based on a recommendation from a wine server at Charles Krug Winery in Napa we decided to take a chance on this hotel. We are so glad we did. Hotel is in the heart of China Town, Little Italy and the red light district. The location attributed to a vacation full of last memories. Guests are greeted by friendly staff ( thanks Jen and Ben for your hospitality) from the moment they step foot onto the property. The hotel is very clean. Despite the location, we never felt unsafe walking around at night. The surrounding streets are full of life both day and night.

The rooms at the hotel are small, but comfortable. Beds are fairly comfortable. We stayed on the 4th floor facing the inside of the building; therefore very quiet except for our last night. We were staying in a room that adjoins to another room beside it. The room next to ours had a very loud family staying in it; therefore we got very little sleep our last night. Tip, don't stay in a room that adjoins.

Secured parking available on site. Limited, so arrive early if you are travelling by car. Cost is $30 per night.

Breakfast comes with the room. Basic breakfast served by friendly staff. Great hard boiled eggs.

We will definitely return to this hotel again and recommend to others.

Thanks San Fran for a wonderful vacation and having a great place to stay made it even better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and does not adjoin to another room unless you require one. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alberta222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Okay first of all if you have done your price shopping then you know that prices are steep. If you want to stay where you are in the middle of a lot then this is the place. Parking is $30 a night, BUT we never had to search for a spot. Parking is gated and under the hotel and very safe. The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms aren't huge, but if you are in San Francisco then you are likely only going to sleep in your room. Our room was well furnished with a desk, a couple of chairs and an ottoman. The bed was king size and the armoire had a flat screen tv (which we never turned on). The bathroom was clean and roomy with granite type counter tops. The lobby was nicely done. The lounge area was only opened in the morning, but we were out most of the day anyway. Breakfast is basic, but it smelled good and had coffee, hot tea and juices. When we first checked in we noticed there was a leak (from the A/C). We stopped by the front desk to let them know and he immediately moved us. They were courteous and helpful. Little Italy and Chinatown are both at your back door. Yes, there are strip clubs within walking, but it wasn't seedy and we never felt unsafe. Will we come back here? Definitely! We have no reason to go anywhere else when we come back. SW Hotel has secured our business.

Room Tip: The clerk did ask us, when he moved us if we were light sleepers. He put us in a room that was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very basic but clean.
Breakfast it's also very basic but included in price.
The best is it's location, it's in a big Avenue of Chinatown plenty of Oriental and Italy restaurants at less than 5 Min walking.
The service was quite servicial, they changed at the moment our fridge that wasn't working but don't allow us to print a simple baseball ticket because printer was only for flight boarding passes.

In resume I think that it's a basic and It will be a very overpriced hotel if it not was in San Francisco, but I think that it's more or less the value you can get for that money in the city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lujop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I took too long to decide in which district to stay. When I finally decided, my choice was limited and the prices have skyrocketed. Lesson learned - This is San Francisco, the most expensive city in USA, where you have to book early.

The location was perfect. Fisherman Wharf was just too touristy. Downtown was too dull.The many cafes and little restaurants made this place a hive of activities especially at night, a seedy part of town but I felt safe.

The Hotel was extremely well maintained and clean. The bedding and towels were comfortable.In terms of facility, it was pretty basic though. The dining hall and lounge were only opened for breakfast.

Price wise it was not good value for money especially when your only option was the bigger rooms.

The breakfast was very basic, Would I stay here again? perhaps in a smaller less costlier room.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LordOfKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is in the middle of Chinatown. If you are not used to eat chinese food, you will get in panic because you don' t have enough options near it.
I went with my two daughters, we had 6 big bags, and nobody helped us.
The room was very very small, you don't have space for anything.
And the price...... You pay for a room more than what you pay at Sheraton hotel or Radisson, or big and modern hotels in Fisherman's Wharf.
For turism, i think the best place to sleep is Fisherman's Wharf, you have everything near you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank vfaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

From the underground secure parking to the clean rooms, all is well. Very quiet inside room location, clean bathroom, comfortable bed. The only negative would be the somewhat skimpy breakfast of juice, coffee, and bread/rolls with boiled eggs and some fresh fruit the second day.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room, no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 13,050,336,757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In the middle of Chinatown and cross the street you start seeing Italian restaurants. Very central. Very reasonable accommodations. Very clean but small rooms. Great and attentive staff. Surprise breakfast included. I had to run for some business meeting, one time had a breakfast. OJ, Coffee, Tea, Boiled eggs, toasted bread, cereals, muffins, croissants. What else one could expect for a very decent breakfast. If you prefer breakfast in Chinese style, just turn left as soon as leave the hotel many authentic Chinese eateries offering hot Chinese (and healthy) choices. IT is about 35 minutes from San Francisco Airport (make sure to anticipate the traffic on weekends). Rooms are comfortable but small. Not much space to hang your clothes. But very clean, decent bathroom and shower, comfortable bed. Windows let you know you are in the middle of China Town. Always easy to catch a taxi if you are on a business.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms looking outside (street) and inner (some kind of) courtyard. If you prefer quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueOceanSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
313 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#92 of 230 in San Francisco
1,201 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Opal San Francisco
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
1,171 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
408 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing