We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleek, calm, stylish.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #14 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sleek, calm, stylish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My second stay here, again excellent. I was in a slightly smaller room than last time, without the little area for the desk, but it was still gorgeous.

I got a city view room this time, on the top floor, so had a terrific perspective of Union square and the hotels that surround it.

As usual I spent a gret deal of time in Seasons bar, which i love visiting even if not staying, but its great to be able to hang out in the living room by the fire when everyone else has left.

It was great to see all the staff again, and I'm looking forward to hosting my mother's 65th birthday lunch there.

The interior design and art in the hotel is utterly gorgeous, they did a fabulous job.

Yes it is expensive, and that maybe why its only ranked 11, but its a near faultless hotel. I just wish it had its own pool and spa, rather than sharing the LA fitness next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you keep enjoying our facilities during your visits to San Francisco.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    315
    105
    45
    26
See reviews for
267
472
87
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Rest assured for a last minute change of plans and requiring a one nighter of a Hotelstay it is reassuring to know that there is a Four Saesons or Ritz Carlton in the Neighbourhood provided ones budget extends to that of course; but as Joel Goodson (aka Tom Cruise) in Risky Business said 'What the #@&$!" Like other Four Seasons the San Fran version is a sanctury of peace and civility. As usual the service standard is top notch and it is always nice to addressed my name by staff. How these guys remember ones name let alone pronounce them correctly is remarkable!Though some are excused for trying this is what you expect from one of the worlds prestige establishments. The SF FS does however seem more suited to the business traveller than a tourist. It is not a resort style hotel. There is access to very large LA Sports Club with pool. Our room was beautifully appointed with the obligutory marble bathroom and there was a cute bay window seat with great view of down town SF which our two year old son particularly enjoyed. The location is great right on Market Street with all the s Union Square top name shops and Westfield SF at your doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStandardBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoyed visiting San Francisco from this beautiful hotel in August. The entire facility has a hushed atmosphere of refinement from the moment you enter. The staff are extremely supportive and knowledgeable -- without being "stuffy" in any way. The concierge desk (i.e. multiple people) were very helpful and I had found a way to work with them in advance by email -- by preferred means of making accommodations

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and especially for highlighting the service you received from our employees.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We spent 4 nights here as part of short getaway with museum visits and seeing city sights. Lovely quiet nights, very helpful concierge, scrumptious breakfast to start an active day...all contributed to a delightful stay that helped us make the most of our time in the city. Starting the day with a great view wasn't bad, either.

Room Tip: With the extra $$ if you can splurge on a high floor, for a beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I struggled with where to stay on my recent trip to San Fran. So on a whim, I checked the Four Season's website and found a bed and breakfast package. The staff is flawless! Upon checking in, they upgraded my room. And I inquired with the concierge about returning my rental car. His response: just hand me the valet ticket and rental contract. That was it! I am a fan of this property. Oh! The breakfast was excellent even if a little pricey. Good thing I got the B&B package.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you fund our B&B package of great value.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Just spent 3 nights here and while it was a pleasant and comfortable stay, it was very underwhelming and bland as far as Four Seasons hotels go. If it weren't for the logo at the entry, one would never know it was a Four Seasons - this hotel felt like any number of big city four-star chain hotels rather than the five-star experience one would normally expect from a Four Seasons (such as the ones in NY or LA or from similarly rated properties like Peninsula). There's no wow-factor either in the public areas or in the blandly furnished and ordinary looking rooms. The staff is friendly but no one goes out of their way (however the valet guys were very prompt and friendly). We had to call housekeeping to have the room made up when we returned around 2:30 and it hadn't been done yet -- then they came by only 3 hours later to provide turndown, which we had to postpone. They also forgot to deliver the waters they offered - only remembering when we had to call a second time to get a replacement fan for the one that rattled (the second one rattled as well). They were super nice but sadly, like so many hotels these days, one
can't help but feel they are probably overworked and understaffed.
On the plus side, the rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was large with nice L'Occitane products. The location is good as well. Overall we had a completely nice stay and the price was very reasonable for a Four Seasons hotel, but perhaps that's because this hotel feels one star below other FS properties. Go here expecting a very pleasant experience but don't go expecting to be knocked out by 5 star service and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. I would love to discuss the details of your stay further, either via email or over the phone. Please let me know when it would be a good time for me to contact you and under which email or phone number I am able to reach you best.
Imke Gahrmann
Asst. Director of Rooms Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
415 633 3495
imke.gahrmann@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

What can I say, it is after all the Four Seasons. Service was superb, room was spacious. Service was attentive. Only drawback was the fact that the pool were not equipped for kids. My daughter even though she is 12 and is a capable swimmer, was not allowed to swim there. Instead she had to walk to Marriott Hotel, a couple of blocks away just to swim, which was ridicolous

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback and especially for highlighting our service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
Genreal Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing