We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in downtown San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in downtown San Francisco!”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

When staying in downtown San Francisco, there is no place more elegant than the Four Seasons. It is wonderfully quiet, and understated. I cannot recomend this hotel more! We have stayed at many of the other fine hotels in the area, none compare with the Four Seasons. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchurwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future for many more stays."
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    322
    109
    46
    26
See reviews for
279
489
90
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great location, Great service,Good food,The room was beautiful-spotless The sports club the best I have seen in any hotel. it is real close to Union Square and many restuarants. The same touches at all Four seasons -luscious bathrobes and slippers-turndown service-simply a great hotel!

Room Tip: Corner room offer wrap around windows-the higher the better for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank algol4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. I was happy to hear you were able to enjoy the thoughtful amenities and service that makes Four Seasons the best.”
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Staying here proved once again that you can't go wrong staying at a Four Seasons Hotel. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The service (from in-room dining to the front desk to the concierge to the guys who help get you cabs) was impeccable. And the public spaces of the hotel are beautifully decorated and include amazing local art. The most comfortable mattress ever. And walking distance to Union Square and the SFMOMA. We give it an A+++++

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJW200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. I am especially happy that you were able to enjoy the artwork in the hotel featuring California artists." -Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Simply a great hotel. From public spaces to rooms to service to facilities, it's all great. You pay for it, but at least you get what you pay for. And the access to Sports Club LA let's you into the best hotel gym in the city and maybe the country. Quality stay all the way around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
"Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.”-Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

You will love the location--right out the back door of Union Square and there was not one place that I thought about going that I could walk to from this location. You will immediately love the service provided by this hotel. There is no doubt that this is the model and one that will make you feel special.

The overall concept is still old school elegance. You're not going to see anything amazingly interesting, but all the things you would expect from a high profile, nice hotel gets high ranks here.

I love the marble entry and I like the vantage that I get from the architecture in the main hall. I like the linens on the bed. However, I think the bath towels need to be changed out--I've had fluffier ones at the business-level hotels.

And, get ready to love the great bath robes and house shoes. They even put a little towel down with turn down service next to your bed.

Now, if only we could get a chocolate at night and ice upon check-in!

Room Tip: I LOVE the rooms at the end of the hall than end with 27 (i.e. 1427, 1627). Great bathrooms, nice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. You are absolutely correct about us putting emphasis on service; it is what we pride ourselves on." -Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A true Four Seasons hotel, living up to the name, with all the quality you'd expect, at a very good location. The room was spacious and very clean, the bathroom had all necessary options. Great breakfast, perhaps a bit crowded, but that's normal of course if you serve great food in a great environment. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would have given five stars if they didn't charge for the wifi, unbelievable they are penny pinching on wifi at this price level.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. I will be happy to share you kind comments with my staff."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

arrived on 2/9 , stayed for 2 nights as we separated our stay to another beautiful reccomended japanese name hotel..
The rooms were superb as usual fs well named hotel/ resort... with superb view of the beautiful San francisco !!
The service was by far what you expect from fs chain, lovely people , friendly & welcoming staff!!!
amazing breakfast , huge rooms, huge variety of breakfast a dream really...!!!!
Had plenty of our late pm checks in in this hotel, spend our times having awsome drinks at the fs bar , enjoying the beauty of hotel as well as the beauty of people in this state....
really reccomend the hotel for its location, the service & last but not least the beautiful design of rooms....
Another FS stay experience in this new for us beautiful state of usa spending our 12 th anniversary...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
"Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in San Francisco. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for spending such a special occassion at the hotel; we look forward to welcoming you back for your 13th wedding anniversary!"
Doug Housley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing